We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and clean”
Review of Siena Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Siena Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom spa unit - it was extremely clean and tidy and plenty of room for the 3 of us. The sofa bed was made up ready for our son to use and Noel gave us a demo on how to use. Separate bedroom had it's own tv which was great. Well located close to restaurants/takeaways and supermarkets. The welcome basket was lovely. We opted for breakfast the next morning which was very tasty and extremely well priced. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SienaWanganui, Owner at Siena Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Like you, so many people comment on our favourable location, being so close to supermarkets, restaurants and fast food outlets, and a service station and ATM just across the street. We do appreciate you taking the time to post a review, and we look forward to you staying with us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

Very friendly hosts, Noel & Marie & our room was spotlessly clean & beautifully presented. The bathroom had every amenity possible and was like a luxury spa. Our room was spacious and the kitchen had lots of extras including paper towels and glad wrap. The location was close to resturants, take away outlets and supermarkets. We would highly recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: We selected a spa bath room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helentoner57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I concur with the other reviews. Attention to detail is what makes this motel outstanding - from the welcome basket of goodies to the pristine presentation of crockery, cutlery and other kitchen implements. Add to that genuinely friendly owners, a quieter than quiet heat pump and dedicated parking spaces, and I understand the Siena's number one rating on Trip Advisor. I recommend spending that bit more and getting an executive studio - the luxury of a spa bath and my own private patio, together with a small flatscreen TV, iPod dock, CD player and DVD player, made my two night stay perfect. Location was perfect too - supermarkets, fabulous cafe all within a stone's throw. Will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: If you're not used to street noise, take some earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SienaWanganui, Owner at Siena Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Pleased to read that you enjoyed our executive studio suite - it is our most popular room with the private courtyard and spa bath. We appreciate you taking the time to review and endorse our No 1 ranking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Two nights here on a recent trip to Wanganui. From the road the place looks a little unpromising but the reception staff were very friendly and helpful, and the room was excellent. Very warm, and surprisingly quiet despite being 20-30 metres away from Victoria Ave. Impeccable presentation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wellyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Every detail taken care of at this motel from the basket of nibbles on the table to the coffee percolators in two sizes, with real coffee. Add to that the immaculate cleanliness of the unit, warmth, including heat pump and electric blanket, newspaper at door and low cost. All too good to be true, this motel deserves its rating as best in Whanganui and I'd say its probably better than lots in the country.

Room Tip: Motel on main road but all rooms are set back far enough so noise doesnt seem to be an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bianca5699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We needed a good place to stay for our family history research trip and the Siena was exactly right. Noel was an interested, friendly host and the accommodation was excellent, in spite of the earthquake!
We would strongly recommend Siena to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Wanganui.

Margaret & David Harrop, New Plymouth

Room Tip: All similar, turning point at end of complex was useful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidHNewPlymouthNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

So impressed with this Motel far beyond our expectations it is managed with so much love and efficiency. From decor, unbelievable service, cleanliness, reasonable rates, parking and the quietness yet so close to town and to top it off FREE laundry facilities. We cannot recommend this Motel highly enough it really is worth the 5 point excellent rating.. We have been travelling NZ for a month now on 4 plus ratings and this is one of two we feel really deserve that 5 star rating.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#11 of 26 in Whanganui
137 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#8 of 26 in Whanganui
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverview Motel
Riverview Motel
#4 of 26 in Whanganui
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aotea Motor Lodge
Aotea Motor Lodge
#6 of 26 in Whanganui
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siena Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siena Motor Lodge

Address: 335 Victoria Ave, Whanganui 4540, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range: £68 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Siena Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are rated as a 4 star plus by our guests and most booking engines. We are very proud to offer you corporate studios and one-bedroom spa bath suites. All our rooms have heat pumps/air conditioning, are ground level with parking (free) outside. Our rooms are spacious, elegantly furnished and spotlessly clean. We installed brand new luxury beds so getting a comfortable nights sleep is assured. we are well situated on Wanganui's main street, just a short walk to the shops and City center,with restaurants and supermarkets nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Siena Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing