We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Works very well” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Siena Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Siena Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Whanganui
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
488 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
“Works very well”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

We had a nice queen bed and a fairly spacious room with a good bathroom. There was a small fridge, microwave and kettle with coffee/tea etc. good advice on local restaurants and sights. Couldn't really ask for much more.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coylum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    35
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
120
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
128 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

The staff we met were exceptionally friendly and helpful - even for New Zealand where you soon come to take friendly service for granted. We had an "executive" room which came with the unexpected bonus of a small patio. The room was large and well equipped. The laundry facilities are free which was a pleasant surprise. The location is convenient and easy to find.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_490416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

We had only night in Wanganui and Siena was a very nice and friendly place to stay. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. The hotel was quiet for being on the road. Parking was a bit odd and the restaraunt recommendations were difficult but the hotel was very cleans and spacious. Cheers, GH

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gham98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom spa unit - it was extremely clean and tidy and plenty of room for the 3 of us. The sofa bed was made up ready for our son to use and Noel gave us a demo on how to use. Separate bedroom had it's own tv which was great. Well located close to restaurants/takeaways and supermarkets. The welcome basket was lovely. We opted for breakfast the next morning which was very tasty and extremely well priced. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SienaWanganui, Owner at Siena Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Like you, so many people comment on our favourable location, being so close to supermarkets, restaurants and fast food outlets, and a service station and ATM just across the street. We do appreciate you taking the time to post a review, and we look forward to you staying with us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

Very friendly hosts, Noel & Marie & our room was spotlessly clean & beautifully presented. The bathroom had every amenity possible and was like a luxury spa. Our room was spacious and the kitchen had lots of extras including paper towels and glad wrap. The location was close to resturants, take away outlets and supermarkets. We would highly recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: We selected a spa bath room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helentoner57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

I concur with the other reviews. Attention to detail is what makes this motel outstanding - from the welcome basket of goodies to the pristine presentation of crockery, cutlery and other kitchen implements. Add to that genuinely friendly owners, a quieter than quiet heat pump and dedicated parking spaces, and I understand the Siena's number one rating on Trip Advisor. I recommend spending that bit more and getting an executive studio - the luxury of a spa bath and my own private patio, together with a small flatscreen TV, iPod dock, CD player and DVD player, made my two night stay perfect. Location was perfect too - supermarkets, fabulous cafe all within a stone's throw. Will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: If you're not used to street noise, take some earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SienaWanganui, Owner at Siena Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Pleased to read that you enjoyed our executive studio suite - it is our most popular room with the private courtyard and spa bath. We appreciate you taking the time to review and endorse our No 1 ranking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Two nights here on a recent trip to Wanganui. From the road the place looks a little unpromising but the reception staff were very friendly and helpful, and the room was excellent. Very warm, and surprisingly quiet despite being 20-30 metres away from Victoria Ave. Impeccable presentation.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wellyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
1.1 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.6 mi away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#8 of 27 in Whanganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#10 of 27 in Whanganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Collegiate
Quality Inn Collegiate
#14 of 27 in Whanganui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#9 of 27 in Whanganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#2 of 27 in Whanganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siena Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siena Motor Lodge

Property: Siena Motor Lodge
Address: 335 Victoria Ave, Whanganui 4540, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Siena Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark rated 4 star plus property consisting of studios and one-bedroom suites. All rooms are ground level with parking (free) outside. Our rooms are spacious, elegantly furnished and spotlessly clean. We have brand new luxury beds and the feed back from our guests confirm that. Well located on Wanganui's main street, just a short walk to the shops and City centre,with restaurants and supermarkets nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Siena Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing