We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Siena Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Siena Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Whanganui
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Stayed here over the Easter weekend and previously in October 2012. Excellent: Clean (spotless)and very comfortable. Very friendly and helpful staff, nothing is too much trouble for Marie and Noel. Located just off a busy road, but no problems with noise or traffic and just a short stroll into town or the parks. Would certainly stay again and recommend. Rooms well appointed. We were in room 6, no shaver socket located so if required, remember to bring your own convertor plug.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gjc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    35
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
117
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wanganui, NZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

My wife and I had the ocasion to stay at the Siena Motor Lodge for a week late last year, while waiting for house to be completed.. A very pleasant and friendly place to stay. Cleanliness and service supurb. Would recommend this motel to any person wishing to stay here. Handy to restaurants and supermarkets.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillandE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Very clean, very comfortable and inexpensive motel with all the facilities that you need for a short stay. Staff are very helpful in giving directions. Supermarkets and petrol stations are very close and a couple of decent restaurants are nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thompsonUK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

We booked a studio at theis motel due to its good recommendation and were not disappointed. We were upgraded to a one bedroom appartment on arrival which was a nice surprise. The rooms were clean comfortable and spacious with good parking outside each unit and a table and chair The equipment was thoughtfully provided to make the stay as easy as possible. There was a good supermarket nearby and it was a short walk into town with it's pleasant main street containing many shops and restaurants. Noel and his wife were very helpful and welcoming and we would certainly encourage others to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosita061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SienaWanganui, Owner at Siena Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Pleased that you had a pleasant stay in Wanganui city and at our motel. We were delighted to be able to upgrade you to a larger room on this occassion. Thank you for reviewing our property - hope your holiday in NZ was most memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

The unit we were in, number 9 has a fabulous spa bath which was a hit with a very sore boy after rowing all day. The DVD library at reception was also another great perk, just nice having that option as well as SKY movies. The treats on the table in the bowl - chocolate bar, fruit and crackers were a really nice touch. Noel was great, we have re-booked our next stay. The cafe called Parnell's next door was very good for breakfast or lunch with a lovely selection of gelato. The supermarket is opposite which is handy. We will be staying there a lot over the years, perfect place to stay if you need to visit Wanganui Collegiate as it is just around the corner! It was super clean, could not have had a cleaner bathroom or kitchen area. Plenty of towels etc. Fabulous!

Room Tip: A spa bath is a nice extra. Close the windows at night (double glazed and reduces any noise). In s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillippa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SienaWanganui, Owner at Siena Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Yes - we are well located close to supermarkets, Parnells cafe and Wanganui Collegiate School, and our cleaning staff are very diligent in ensuring that our rooms are spotlessly clean. We look forward to having you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

I booked a one bedroom unit and a studio for one night. Noel could not have been more helpful, to the extent of even removing a dead bird from my car's grille. Rooms are spotless and quiet with toiletries and nice touches like biscuits and fruit provided. This is the place to stay in Wanganui.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SienaWanganui, Owner at Siena Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We look forward to hosting you again when you return to Wanganui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
487 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

We had a nice queen bed and a fairly spacious room with a good bathroom. There was a small fridge, microwave and kettle with coffee/tea etc. good advice on local restaurants and sights. Couldn't really ask for much more.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coylum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
1.1 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.6 mi away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#8 of 27 in Whanganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#11 of 27 in Whanganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Collegiate
Quality Inn Collegiate
#14 of 27 in Whanganui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#9 of 27 in Whanganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#2 of 27 in Whanganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siena Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siena Motor Lodge

Property: Siena Motor Lodge
Address: 335 Victoria Ave, Whanganui 4540, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Siena Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark rated 4 star plus property consisting of studios and one-bedroom suites. All rooms are ground level with parking (free) outside. Our rooms are spacious, elegantly furnished and spotlessly clean. We have brand new luxury beds and the feed back from our guests confirm that. Well located on Wanganui's main street, just a short walk to the shops and City centre,with restaurants and supermarkets nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Siena Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing