We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“..Very Friendly & Accomodating Service..”
Review of Siena Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Siena Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Certificate of Excellence
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“..Very Friendly & Accomodating Service..”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We have stayed here a couple of times & have been pleased with our accomodation, clean rooms, comfy beds, nice warms robes & very central to alot of restaurants, pubs, supermarkets etc.. Very friendly & helpful service on both our stays there, thank you.. Frank & Tina-Marie Brophy..

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank and Tina ... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    35
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
122
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney NSW Australia
Level Contributor
281 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Our unit was immaculately clean, and very well equipped, including little extras like glad wrap and paper towels.

The location was within walking distance to shops, restaurants and cafes, and our room was very quiet, located well back from the road.

The complimentary little basket of goodies was a nice touch, as was the filtered bottle of water in the fridge, it was also really nice to be given the choice of low fat milk on check in.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hokeypokeysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

As we had come to expect, we received a very friendly welcome and were actually upgraded for free as one family wanted to stay an extra night. The room was immaculate, the bathroom had a powerful shower and a great spa bath. The kitchen area was very well equipped and the cleaners did an incredible job every day. We would stay here again like a shot.

The town itself is pleasant and it is well worth the trip up the river or to drive up the road that follows the valley which has some spectacular views.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I stay in a great number of motels, and its the little extra touches that make a stay more pleasant.
Arrival at 8pm, and the heater is on, the room is warm. A little compliments basket with goodies for the health conscious and then some sweet treats as well.

Unlike some places that give you two of everything in the kitchen - these were really well equipped,

Thank you, good service. I will be back

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

The Siena is basically the perfect motel. It's clean, well cared for, there was milk for tea when we arrived, the water pressure in the shower was excellent, the room was dark with the curtains closed, and the bed was comfortable. The only motel I'd stay at in Whanganui, it can't be beaten.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilypetals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed at the Siena Motor Lodge on the 4th August 2013 after our ski trip in Mt Ruapehu. Noel was kind enough to offer us some discount for the room which we had booked. The kitchen, as mentioned in other reviews, was really well equipped and we can even cook there if we wanted to.

Location is good as it is close to two hypermarkets and also restaurants. The room was clean and comfy. The service offered was really good. Siena also provides very good breakfast with reasonable price. Noel and his wife make an effort to deliver the breakfast to our room in the early morning!

We would highly recommend to whoever visiting Wanganui to stay at Siena Motor Lodge!

Room Tip: Ask for the breakfast coz Noel's wife make really tasty breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tandroidity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed at the Siena Motor Lodge earlier in July, and what a treat it was. From the moment we walked into the office to check in, only to be greeted by name and walked personally to our unit by Noel, to the delicious breakfast (I highly recommend the French toast with bacon, bananas and maple syrup!), it was a wonderful experience. Our unit (I think it was number 8) was scrupulously clean with nice kitchen unit. Heater was powerful (which was good since it was cold outside), plus the bathroom had a ceiling heater and towel heaters. And for even more comfort, the bed had his/her side mattress heaters. The goodie basket was a great touch, plus the honey shampoo was much appreciated. We highly recommend staying at the Siena Motor Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SienaWanganui, Owner at Siena Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for your most complimentary review of our motor lodge. Especially pleased to see that you enjoyed our French Toast breakfast option - a lot of our guests comment on the variety and value of our breakfast menu. Even though it is mid-winter and well away from the peak tourist season, we are still having international guests like yourselves stay. Your kind comments will hopefully see that trend continue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
1.1 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#10 of 26 in Whanganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#7 of 26 in Whanganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#18 of 26 in Whanganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#9 of 26 in Whanganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#2 of 26 in Whanganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siena Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siena Motor Lodge

Property: Siena Motor Lodge
Address: 335 Victoria Ave, Whanganui 4540, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Siena Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark rated 4 star plus property consisting of studios and one-bedroom suites. All rooms are ground level with parking (free) outside. Our rooms are spacious, elegantly furnished and spotlessly clean. We have brand new luxury beds and the feed back from our guests confirm that. Well located on Wanganui's main street, just a short walk to the shops and City centre,with restaurants and supermarkets nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Siena Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing