We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent motel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Siena Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Siena Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Whanganui
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

This motel looks quite ordinary externally, however was recommended on tripadvisor so we had booked ahead. that was lucky as it was full and rightfully so. Very clean, neat quite and with a most helpful host in Noel. Enjoyed the stay which was just a one night business trip so much that I think I'll take the family back for a weekend. Thanks again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    35
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
120
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Having left Wanganui 10 years ago this was my 3rd trip back and the first time I had stayed at Siena Motor Lodge.

What a great choice it was! How did I not know about this earlier?

Noel met me when we arrived and cheerfully welcomed us like we were returning regulars.
The room was lovely (midway along the complex) and well fitted out. Having a separate bedroom allowed us to put our 3yo toddler to bed then entertain friends in the main area without disturbing him, which was great.
After being back in NZ for almost a week we had created a good pile of washing, but this was not a problem due to the motel having a free guests laundry. This was clean and fitted with a top loading washer and front loading drier. A nice touch was they even supplied washing powder so we didn't need to purchase any.

We liked the little touch of a small chocolate bar in the room after it had been serviced.......

Centrally located close to 3 supermarkets (all within 5 mins walk).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_Blokarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We were coming into Wanganui very late and hadn't booked anywhere. Managed to get into Sienna and what a nice surprise. Much nicer than a typical motel with a friendly host and nice little touches in the room. Very clean, very modern. Didn't want for anything.

Room Tip: Room at the end is quietest and biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSoundsRetreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Having traveled throughout much of New Zealand, staying at highly TA-rated motels, we have come to expect clean, comfortable rooms and friendly hosts. But Siena surpassed our high expectations. Noel warmly welcomed us and showed us the room we had booked. And throughout our 2-night stay he was there to ensure that every detail was just right. He treated us as though we were his personal house-guests.
Our one-bedroom suite was spacious, spotlessly clean, and contained every amenity we could have wanted. (One example: a solid surface that gave firm support to an opened suitcase, unlike the too-small, flimsy racks that are usually found.)
Breakfast choices went beyond the usual, with several interesting choices offered at low prices.
Overall, this was an ideal place to stay. We only wished we could have stayed longer.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SienaWanganui, Owner at Siena Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing endorsement of our property. We are aware that a lot of folk like yourselves are using Trip Advisor when planning both national and international trips, and finding the information (reviews) to be accurate. We are delighted that you enjoyed the two nights that you stayed with us - we certainly enjoyed meeting you both and having you stay, albeit briefly.. Again thankyou - your review is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Clean clean clean and very spacious. Great price and good location.
You enter your room and sitting on your table is a goody container of fruit and chocolate surprise free of charge. The hosts know the area well and give good advice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
205 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is the last motel we stayed in during our five week tour around New Zealand. It like almost all of the other motels was a good experience. The manager was friendly and helpful and our room was clean and comfortable. One of the nice touches was a bowl of fruit, candy and cookies. This was the only motel where we were given fruit. We also thought Wanganui was one of the nicest towns we visited.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rrobbinsCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Booked last minute, arrived at a very clean comfortable Motel. A basket of fruit was waiting for us in the motel. Management were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ordered when we arrived and came right on time. My wife is Gluten Free and they ensured that she was catered for. Would highly recommend this place. Very central to main street and close to all activities in Wanganui. Walking distance to supermarkets and shops it you are staying for a while. Also had a tea pot and coffee plunger. Great if you like us are sick of making drinks when you are away by the individual cup.

Room Tip: Had no noise from our room which was down at far end. Spoke to others who stayed who said their uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smcgaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
1.1 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.6 mi away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#8 of 27 in Whanganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#10 of 27 in Whanganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Collegiate
Quality Inn Collegiate
#14 of 27 in Whanganui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#9 of 27 in Whanganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#2 of 27 in Whanganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siena Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siena Motor Lodge

Property: Siena Motor Lodge
Address: 335 Victoria Ave, Whanganui 4540, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Siena Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark rated 4 star plus property consisting of studios and one-bedroom suites. All rooms are ground level with parking (free) outside. Our rooms are spacious, elegantly furnished and spotlessly clean. We have brand new luxury beds and the feed back from our guests confirm that. Well located on Wanganui's main street, just a short walk to the shops and City centre,with restaurants and supermarkets nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Siena Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing