We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best around”
Review of Siena Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Siena Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Certificate of Excellence
Oamaru
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best around”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We travel extensively and this has to be one of the best motels around. I always use Tripadvisor for all my bookings and this motel was excellent.
Very clean with many extra features that make it so special. A bowl of fruit and snacks complimentary await your arrival, that does not happen often at motels. The continental breakfast was extremely good value for money. Bed was very comfortable, tv was properly tuned and shower excellent.
We had a studio unit generally small but this had a settee and table and chairs.
Close to town, quiet yet on the Main Street.
Our hosts were lovely. It was very windy when we arrived Noel offered to hold the car door whilst I got out. What a gentleman.
Definitely one of the best. A credit to the proprietors.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vibez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    35
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
123
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

One that stands out is the cleaner ness of the place. You can feel the personal touches from the toiletries, welcome basket and the local informations prepared in each rooms. It's a walking distance to shopping area at Victoria street. NewWorld supermarket is right across the street. There is also Spa tub in our room. Great place in a beautiful town!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShaifulKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This motel looks quite ordinary externally, however was recommended on tripadvisor so we had booked ahead. that was lucky as it was full and rightfully so. Very clean, neat quite and with a most helpful host in Noel. Enjoyed the stay which was just a one night business trip so much that I think I'll take the family back for a weekend. Thanks again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Having left Wanganui 10 years ago this was my 3rd trip back and the first time I had stayed at Siena Motor Lodge.

What a great choice it was! How did I not know about this earlier?

Noel met me when we arrived and cheerfully welcomed us like we were returning regulars.
The room was lovely (midway along the complex) and well fitted out. Having a separate bedroom allowed us to put our 3yo toddler to bed then entertain friends in the main area without disturbing him, which was great.
After being back in NZ for almost a week we had created a good pile of washing, but this was not a problem due to the motel having a free guests laundry. This was clean and fitted with a top loading washer and front loading drier. A nice touch was they even supplied washing powder so we didn't need to purchase any.

We liked the little touch of a small chocolate bar in the room after it had been serviced.......

Centrally located close to 3 supermarkets (all within 5 mins walk).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_Blokarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We were coming into Wanganui very late and hadn't booked anywhere. Managed to get into Sienna and what a nice surprise. Much nicer than a typical motel with a friendly host and nice little touches in the room. Very clean, very modern. Didn't want for anything.

Room Tip: Room at the end is quietest and biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSoundsRetreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Having traveled throughout much of New Zealand, staying at highly TA-rated motels, we have come to expect clean, comfortable rooms and friendly hosts. But Siena surpassed our high expectations. Noel warmly welcomed us and showed us the room we had booked. And throughout our 2-night stay he was there to ensure that every detail was just right. He treated us as though we were his personal house-guests.
Our one-bedroom suite was spacious, spotlessly clean, and contained every amenity we could have wanted. (One example: a solid surface that gave firm support to an opened suitcase, unlike the too-small, flimsy racks that are usually found.)
Breakfast choices went beyond the usual, with several interesting choices offered at low prices.
Overall, this was an ideal place to stay. We only wished we could have stayed longer.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SienaWanganui, Owner at Siena Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing endorsement of our property. We are aware that a lot of folk like yourselves are using Trip Advisor when planning both national and international trips, and finding the information (reviews) to be accurate. We are delighted that you enjoyed the two nights that you stayed with us - we certainly enjoyed meeting you both and having you stay, albeit briefly.. Again thankyou - your review is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Clean clean clean and very spacious. Great price and good location.
You enter your room and sitting on your table is a goody container of fruit and chocolate surprise free of charge. The hosts know the area well and give good advice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
1.1 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#10 of 26 in Whanganui
127 reviews
0.6 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#18 of 26 in Whanganui
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
0.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#9 of 26 in Whanganui
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#2 of 26 in Whanganui
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siena Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siena Motor Lodge

Property: Siena Motor Lodge
Address: 335 Victoria Ave, Whanganui 4540, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Siena Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are rated as a 4 star plus by our guests and most booking engines. We are very proud to offer you corporate studios and one-bedroom spa bath suites. All our rooms have heat pumps/air conditioning, are ground level with parking (free) outside. Our rooms are spacious, elegantly furnished and spotlessly clean. We installed brand new luxury beds so getting a comfortable nights sleep is assured. we are well situated on Wanganui's main street, just a short walk to the shops and City center,with restaurants and supermarkets nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Siena Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing