We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay”
Review of Siena Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Siena Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights over Christmas 2013.

Booking by phone was really easy.

We booked two rooms. Both rooms were fine, very clean and comfortable. Good facilities and very friendly helpful hosts.

The only downside is that the bed was a queen bed, and we are used to a king. This meant we didn't sleep as well as normal, but that is no reflection on the comfort level of the bed.

If they have units with king sized beds I would definitely stay next Christmas (we stay in Wanganui every year for two nights)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiLynda15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

This place is absolutely spotless and full of little touches that make it the perfect place to stay. I have stayed in 5 star hotels that could learn a thing or two from this place, great value, rooms with everything you need, and friendly owners. Don't bother looking anywhere else!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AnthonyPit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SienaWanganui, Owner at Siena Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

A sincere thankyou for endorsing our No 1 status. Wanganui in general has a good standard of motels and motel operators, so to have maintained our number 1 status for the last three years is most satisfying for us. We certainly enjoy having a growing number of overseas guests (such as this reviewer) stay with us - guests that are widely travelled do seem to find Wanganui a great place to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We travel extensively and this has to be one of the best motels around. I always use Tripadvisor for all my bookings and this motel was excellent.
Very clean with many extra features that make it so special. A bowl of fruit and snacks complimentary await your arrival, that does not happen often at motels. The continental breakfast was extremely good value for money. Bed was very comfortable, tv was properly tuned and shower excellent.
We had a studio unit generally small but this had a settee and table and chairs.
Close to town, quiet yet on the Main Street.
Our hosts were lovely. It was very windy when we arrived Noel offered to hold the car door whilst I got out. What a gentleman.
Definitely one of the best. A credit to the proprietors.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vibez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

One that stands out is the cleaner ness of the place. You can feel the personal touches from the toiletries, welcome basket and the local informations prepared in each rooms. It's a walking distance to shopping area at Victoria street. NewWorld supermarket is right across the street. There is also Spa tub in our room. Great place in a beautiful town!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank ShaifulKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This motel looks quite ordinary externally, however was recommended on tripadvisor so we had booked ahead. that was lucky as it was full and rightfully so. Very clean, neat quite and with a most helpful host in Noel. Enjoyed the stay which was just a one night business trip so much that I think I'll take the family back for a weekend. Thanks again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Having left Wanganui 10 years ago this was my 3rd trip back and the first time I had stayed at Siena Motor Lodge.

What a great choice it was! How did I not know about this earlier?

Noel met me when we arrived and cheerfully welcomed us like we were returning regulars.
The room was lovely (midway along the complex) and well fitted out. Having a separate bedroom allowed us to put our 3yo toddler to bed then entertain friends in the main area without disturbing him, which was great.
After being back in NZ for almost a week we had created a good pile of washing, but this was not a problem due to the motel having a free guests laundry. This was clean and fitted with a top loading washer and front loading drier. A nice touch was they even supplied washing powder so we didn't need to purchase any.

We liked the little touch of a small chocolate bar in the room after it had been serviced.......

Centrally located close to 3 supermarkets (all within 5 mins walk).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi_Blokarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We were coming into Wanganui very late and hadn't booked anywhere. Managed to get into Sienna and what a nice surprise. Much nicer than a typical motel with a friendly host and nice little touches in the room. Very clean, very modern. Didn't want for anything.

Room Tip: Room at the end is quietest and biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSoundsRetreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
1.1 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#7 of 26 in Whanganui
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#2 of 26 in Whanganui
308 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverview Motel
Riverview Motel
#4 of 26 in Whanganui
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aotea Motor Lodge
Aotea Motor Lodge
#5 of 26 in Whanganui
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siena Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siena Motor Lodge

Address: 335 Victoria Ave, Whanganui 4540, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range: £65 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Siena Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are rated as a 4 star plus by our guests and most booking engines. We are very proud to offer you corporate studios and one-bedroom spa bath suites. All our rooms have heat pumps/air conditioning, are ground level with parking (free) outside. Our rooms are spacious, elegantly furnished and spotlessly clean. We installed brand new luxury beds so getting a comfortable nights sleep is assured. we are well situated on Wanganui's main street, just a short walk to the shops and City center,with restaurants and supermarkets nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Siena Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing