We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really pleasant”
Review of Siena Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Siena Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Really pleasant”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Second time I have stayed here, and the reception fella is as cool as a cucumber, real helpful, real friendly, even asking how my Indian meal was the night before so he could pass on feedback to other future motel guests.

Rooms are modern, clean, and quiet. Don't even think of staying anywhere else when in Wanganui,

Some places deliver meals to your room and close to other takeaway joints and restaurants.

Will be back

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    35
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
126
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This was a really nice motel. The room was spacious, the location was central, and the woman who was running it that day (the owner was out of town) was friendly and caring. One other reviewer called it "a real gem," and that perfectly sums it up. I loved the motel, and the woman was far more helpful than the people who worked at the Information Centre. I felt very lucky to have found this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timothyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Hutt
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This small motel was amazing and We could not fault this lovely place and the staff were fantastic and extremely friendly. It had everything we needed and they even cook breakfast for us at an incredible price. Will definitely stay there again the next time we visit Wanganui. THANKS!!!!

Room Tip: Don't bother looking anywhere else - unless they are booked out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I have stayed here 3 or 4 times now and each time, years apart, it has been very good. The rooms are a bedroom and sitting area plus a little kitchen area, really comfortable with a few little touches left by the owner / staff to help you feel at home. Owner is really friendly and helpful breakfast is brought to your room each morning, there is a good restaurant around the corner - quality Inn - a few shops nearby and the town centre is a reasonable walk. internet free and works, parking out side of the room. I would recommend the Siena Lodge and will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed at the Siena for a week , the owner went the extra mile to make us welcome . Right on main street ,easy walking to shops. Unit 8 was very well appointed ,large lounge , big bedroom , serviced every day to a high standard . Free Wifi which not normal in the U.K . We were well pleased with out stay . Thank you Noel & Marie for making our stay in Wanganui so relaxing

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

A great NZ motel in an older style that really could teach some newer places how to do things. Unit 9 had a very well equipped kitchen, spa bath, decent sized fridge, complimentary snacks & even a small private courtyard. The room was very comfortable, and the owners friendly. Complimentary laundry & Wifi round the package off. The location is very convenient... Coffee shop 1 min away, New World across the road & various fast food restaurants within 5 mins. Great cooked breakfast on offer too! An excellent choice in the area.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank GufoPeloso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Siena & again we were looked after very well indeeed, by Noel & Marie. Very good hospitality & located ten minutes walk from the main City area. Quiet & relaxing as well, if you just wish to `chill` somewhat, the Siena should suit most travellers.

Room Tip: We used the one bed units, gives that little extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaikohe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
1.1 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.6 mi away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#9 of 26 in Whanganui
56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#14 of 26 in Whanganui
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#8 of 26 in Whanganui
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#2 of 26 in Whanganui
294 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverview Motel
Riverview Motel
#4 of 26 in Whanganui
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siena Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siena Motor Lodge

Property: Siena Motor Lodge
Address: 335 Victoria Ave, Whanganui 4540, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Siena Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are rated as a 4 star plus by our guests and most booking engines. We are very proud to offer you corporate studios and one-bedroom spa bath suites. All our rooms have heat pumps/air conditioning, are ground level with parking (free) outside. Our rooms are spacious, elegantly furnished and spotlessly clean. We installed brand new luxury beds so getting a comfortable nights sleep is assured. we are well situated on Wanganui's main street, just a short walk to the shops and City center,with restaurants and supermarkets nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Siena Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing