We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met expectations and more”
Review of Siena Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Siena Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Had to stay in Wanganui for 3 nights for a conference and the recommended chain motels weren't exciting me one bit. A check o Trip advisor tossed up this little gem so I booked. A family run motel, these people went the extra mile. I was late in arriving, so I phoned ahead. They had my curtains drawn and the heater going so I had a lovely warm room when I finally showed up. I was welcomed by name on arrival, and offered breakfast and wifi on the spot. Wifi is free and the conection is nice and fast, plus it is possible to have 3 wifi devices hooked up, which is a vast improvement on the usual one!
The rooms were spotless and every kitchen item was provided. Lovely assortment of coffee, tea, and hot choc along with a complimentary goody bowl with chocolate and cookies etc.
Bathroom had warming lights, beds had great electric blankets, large tv, comfy decor and quality bathroom toiletries...plus sky, newspapers etc, and did I mention the wonderful spa bath?...all for a modest $145 per night.
Will return in a blink. well done Siena Staff, his is what goes for 5 star accomodation in my books.

Room Tip: I had room 8 up the back of the hotel Very quiet and well placed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kiki_kiwi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SienaWanganui, Owner at Siena Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your three night stay with us. A sincere thank you for submitting such a comprehensive review of our motel. We do preheat our rooms on cold nights - a warm room seems more welcoming for our guests, and our new air conditioning units that we have throughout the property, do work a treat on cold winter evenings.
Again thank you - we really do appreciate you taking the time to share your "Siena" experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

What can I say about this superb Motel???? Everything from check in to check out was brilliant. These rooms are spotlessly clean. There is a basket of complimentry goodies to enjoy during your stay. I highly recommend this motor lodge for your business or holiday trip to Wanganui.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Having done some research on trip adviser and read the reviews I can honestly say I cannot find any faults whatsoever with the Siena Motor Lodge. The room was incredibly clean, there was heaps of room, great shower pressure and the small bowl of nibbles and fruit a lovely touch. The manager gave us two great recommendations for dinner which were within walking distance and again, did not disappoint. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have stayed at this Motor Lodge on many occasions and have always found it excellent.
Rooms great and hosts friendly and helpful. Loved the breakfasts, would go again just to have this wonderful breakfast. Always recommend this motel to friends.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doreenp915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Second time I have stayed here, and the reception fella is as cool as a cucumber, real helpful, real friendly, even asking how my Indian meal was the night before so he could pass on feedback to other future motel guests.

Rooms are modern, clean, and quiet. Don't even think of staying anywhere else when in Wanganui,

Some places deliver meals to your room and close to other takeaway joints and restaurants.

Will be back

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This was a really nice motel. The room was spacious, the location was central, and the woman who was running it that day (the owner was out of town) was friendly and caring. One other reviewer called it "a real gem," and that perfectly sums it up. I loved the motel, and the woman was far more helpful than the people who worked at the Information Centre. I felt very lucky to have found this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timothyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This small motel was amazing and We could not fault this lovely place and the staff were fantastic and extremely friendly. It had everything we needed and they even cook breakfast for us at an incredible price. Will definitely stay there again the next time we visit Wanganui. THANKS!!!!

Room Tip: Don't bother looking anywhere else - unless they are booked out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
1.1 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#7 of 26 in Whanganui
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
308 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverview Motel
Riverview Motel
#4 of 26 in Whanganui
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aotea Motor Lodge
Aotea Motor Lodge
#5 of 26 in Whanganui
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siena Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siena Motor Lodge

Address: 335 Victoria Ave, Whanganui 4540, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range: £65 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Siena Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are rated as a 4 star plus by our guests and most booking engines. We are very proud to offer you corporate studios and one-bedroom spa bath suites. All our rooms have heat pumps/air conditioning, are ground level with parking (free) outside. Our rooms are spacious, elegantly furnished and spotlessly clean. We installed brand new luxury beds so getting a comfortable nights sleep is assured. we are well situated on Wanganui's main street, just a short walk to the shops and City center,with restaurants and supermarkets nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Siena Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing