We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tamara Riverside Lodge
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We decided to stay at Tamara at last minute, and we really glad that we did. They were very accommodating, offering a room upgrade (for no extra charge) given that they didn't have any of the rooms we wanted available. The location by the river is beautiful too!

The hosts were friendly and helpful, the house was great and the room was in mint condition. The shower in our room was a bit all over the place though and the pressure was quite low, but I'm not sure that's the case for other rooms.

The garden and the amenities were also very nice, and we really wish we had the chance to stay more time there and enjoy a bit of the trampoline. :)

Room Tip: We stayed in room no 6, where the shower wasn't that great.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diogo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamaraLodge, Owner at Tamara Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks a lot for the tip on the shower and we will get that remedied as soon as possible. Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Tamara Riverside Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

When we left Wellington to go to Wanganui, the hotel manager in Wellington was surprised to hear that we were going here because appereantlt, Wanganui doesn't have the best reputation amongst Kiwi's. We were a bit taken aback by this but when we got to Wanganui and Tamara Lodge, the little worry that was present faded away.

We had a nice welcome by the owner who also showed us what there is to do around town. If you can, be in Wanganui on a Saturday. They have a very nice market Go there to have lots of goodies and great food (you can easliy eat your breakfast or lunch here)
We had an ensuite room which was clean with a nice firm bed. It wasn't large, but for the amount of money, it's worth it, especially seeing as it looks like it's hard to find something in Wanganui for a fair price. The hostel had a large kitchen with everything you will need, 3 cooking area's, fridge, freezer, oven....whatever you need. Tea and coffee are available and there are some spices for you to use.
There's a very nice garden where you can hang your laundry (washing machine available at a small price), get on a trampoline or relax in one of the chairs.
The motel is a short nice walk along the river to the city centre.

Now the centre is lovely and if you can, go have a look inside the glass studio and see the people at work. It's reallt fun and nice to see them working the glass. There are bars, cafe's and restaurants to provide what you need.

Tamara's backpackers Lodge will give you good value for money here. Don't expect too much because with high expectations, you will be a bit let down. If you fancy something that's more motel/ hotel like, then know you will probably have to spend much more and I doubt it will be much better. If you still need convincing, then I can tell you that the owners have a dog named Spud who loves attention ^__^.

Parking at the Lodge is just in front of the Lodge, free of charge

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ucchan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

A simple affordable place to stay in Wanganui :
- good price
- not too far from City Centre, but also not too close for walking
- clean bathroom and toilet
- friendly Manager
- good view to Wanganui River from the balcon
- private room for group of 2 to 4 people

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Of all the places I have stayed with over the years this is easily one of the best! I was part of a group including close to 40 people with a mix of individuals an families with children. Tamara Lodge had the perfect combination of rooms, facilities and amenities to cater for us all. The rooms were all well matched to each combination of occupants (single or families). The shared facilities were large and well appointed with everything you need including a great lounge/dining area that kept in the noise well from those of us that stayed up to chat and catch up, we knew we were not bothering the rest of the rooms. The outdoor areas were great and well fenced to provide a safe environment for our groups kids and the trampoline was a hit too!

Great place and Rory our host simply could not have done more to make us comfortable and ensure that our needs were met and exceeded. Rory also is a great wealth of knowledge of local points of interest and can help people ensure they see everything that is worth seeing and make the most of their time in the region.

Room Tip: Let Rory decide what will work best for you or your family/group in advance.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Tamara Lodge was one of the best backpackers my group has stayed in in nearly 20 years. We had a large group consisting of a mens hockey team and their partners / families stay over Labour Weekend and every room catered perfectly to each persons requirements. There is heaps of space for the kids to run around in and players to spread out and relax either inside or outside of the hostel. The players like to relax in the evening with a few beers but the dining area held in noise really well so we had little impact on other guests in the hostel.

Rory and his team who run this place are superb. Friendly and helpful and really open people, any request we had was never a problem and we felt at home the whole time we were there.

The place was always kept clean. In fact, it felt that was a big priority for Rory and his team. I constantly saw them cleaning or doing something around the place to make sure their guests were comfortable.

The dining area, kitchen and lounge areas are spacious and great areas for gatherings or just relaxing. The back outdoor area had a trampoline which the kids loved and heaps of sports gear to muck around with. It was also enough space for nearly 40 people to practice our kapahaka and enjoy a BBQ in comfort.

If our tournament ever goes back to Whanganui, I would take my team back here in a heartbeat. Love this place.

Scott W
Waikato Maniapoto Maori Hockey

Room Tip: If you give your requirements early, Rory does a fantastic job in planning out what rooms would best...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is a beautiful laid back hostel overlooking the Wanganui river. The hosts are really welcoming and the hostel is clean and comfortable. I booked into the female only room which was lovely, just 3 beds no bunks. The only downside to my room was the noise from the lounge. If you've after a quiet night ask for a room upstairs away from the lounge.
Overall though a really relaxing stay in a beautiful location

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamaraLodge, Owner at Tamara Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us here at Tamara Lodge. The feedback from our customers is our most valuable tool for improvement and it is always appreciated. The noise around the dorm is not normally a problem but every now and then there is potential for an issue because of the proximity to the living areas. We will definitely be looking at this though. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We found the staff really friendly and the house was clean and tidy. The weather was awful but thankfully not all the rooms were taken so we borrowed another waterfront another room and had 2 in our room which warmed it up nicely.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamaraLodge, Owner at Tamara Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.6 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#8 of 26 in Whanganui
77 reviews
0.4 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#16 of 26 in Whanganui
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.3 mi away
42b College House
42b College House
#3 of 12 in Whanganui
93 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fiesta Court Motel
Fiesta Court Motel
#3 of 26 in Whanganui
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamara Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamara Riverside Lodge

Address: 24 Somme Parade, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand (Formerly Tamara Backpackers Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Whanganui
Price Range: £27 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tamara Riverside Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome for the weary world traveller is only the start as you enjoy our spacious Edwardian Lodge overlooking the majestic Whanganui River. Views of Mt Ruapehu and just 5 mins walk to the city. Relaxation is easy here; the large garden is enticing and the hammocks welcoming. Piano and guitar available. Lots of information on activities. HEATED rooms! (Some en-suites) INTERNET, BBQ, TV, FREE WIFI, FREE BIKES. Hosts: Rory and Barbara ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tamara Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing