We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont eat here” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Inn

Red Lion Inn
Ranked #50 of 87 Restaurants in Whanganui
Cuisines: Bar, Contemporary, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Wanganui
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dont eat here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I recently dined at this establishment. To say I was disappointed with the level of service is an understatement. We were informed by our waitress that we needed to order quickly as they were very busy. Orders were given and our starters came out in a timely manner. Unfortunately that was not the case with our mains. Our concern was not with the waiting time, it was with the food that we were presented with. It was served lukewarm bordering on cold.. Out of a party of nine 7 meals arrived luke warm. My daughter proceeded to inform the waitress of our concerns and also to let her know that we expected to be compensated. We were not prepared to send the meals back and have to wait so we ate them. When my daughter went to speak with the manager she was quiet rude and my daughter felt that her attitude was very unprofessional for someone in the service industry.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiTraveller40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    26
    11
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wanganui
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Terrible Experience, not to be repeated”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

How long is too long to wait for an evening meal when you have made a booking? An hour and 3/4 is that acceptable; then be dished up with food that is dried out, and cold. This was our experience at the Red Lion. A long awaited dinner with friends turned into a ' one of the worst we have experienced'. We booked early in the day for a table in the restaurant upstairs, arrived just before time stated and our order was taken immediately and then we waited and waited and waited. After 1.15 I went over to the kitchen to ask if they had forgotten us, only to be rudely advised by the chef that there were 60 people before us, there were still a number of meals before ours and we had been told that... Well no! we were not told that and if we had we would have gone elsewhere. The manager came and spoke of having a new chef, all bookings were for the same time and would be dealing with the matter.
We were offered some drinks on the house, but drinking on empty stomachs was not a choice. We asked for some chips, but the look of dread on the waitress's face said it all. 'You have waited this long for your meal.. how long would you like for your chips!!'
When the meal arrived it was 2/10 MKR standard.. The food was dried out, cold and one pork loin was all fat, if you blinked you missed the vegetables, but you certainly saw a plate of cold lentils. To say we were disappointed and upset is an understatement... but it is obvious the Red Lion caters for the drinkers and their hamburgers, than their booking quests who go to the trouble of booking a table at the restaurant.
And yes: we had to pay full price for this service and food.!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mytgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganui
Level Contributor
171 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Tuesday night burger night the best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

You have to book but it is worth it. Tuesday nights burger night. 2 choices chicken or beef both come with fries. Decent size burgers, plain, delisious and filling. Some good beers and wines. Great venue. There are 2 parts a pub bar which looks like where all the regualar locals have a drink after work and then the cafe area which is well laid out and a great place to have a meal or a glass of wine

Helpful?
Thank Shane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganui
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great but ....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Had a meal with family there tonight but ....
steak cooking was dismal. Apart from that a great and enjoyable meal. Will return, just not for steak.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank North N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

We were pleased to find a restaurant over looking the river and sat in the sun on the covered balcony. It was Wednesday $10 pasta night. I had a a pasta dish. My wife had steak $20 and the boys had chicken and avocado burgers $13.50 . All meals were great and excellent value. Meals and drinks are ordered from the bar. Service is great and very friendly. All in all a great location, friendly service, very good food and great value.

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Lion Inn also viewed

Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing