We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A shot by any other name...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carolines Celtic - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Carolines Celtic
Cuisines: British, Soups
Dining options: Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating
New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A shot by any other name...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Be careful when ordering drinks here such as Bicardi & Coke, or Vodka and Sprite etc, as the bartenders are using 15ml (1/2 oz) NIP POURERS (which is half a shot). Paying for a double, will get you a single shot. We actually asked our bartender shouldn't a double shot be 4 of these? and they said "No, we just use one of these for a shot" and did not correct the drink.... The standard everywhere is a full shot, 30ml. When I buy a drink I expect a full shot. It's not advertised you are only getting half a shot. I am sure many do not or have not questioned this as the 30ml shot pourers look exactly like the 15ml shot pourers. But one sip of a 'double drink' here and you know that there is no way there it is a true double. Next time, I will ask for my drink to be made with a shot glass. I am curious if anyone else has noticed this problem. It's not just here, it seems to happen at the Race Course too. A SHOT IS 30ML!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Noacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Caroline's might rock a lot, and be rather loud at times, however, we pop in for a late afternoon lunch when there aren't too many customers and get an awesome hamburger (many to choose from). Huge meals - I can never finish mine! Nice glass of wine and really good coffee.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Di J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“For the young ones, but not for me!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

As my husband and I meandered down the streets of Whanganui in Jan 2013, we heard the roarity and boisterous going's-on's at Caroline's Celtic. Overflowing with young teens, pounding rock music, the odd "cougar", and so crowded it took 20 mins to get a drink, only for it to be knocked out of your hand, by a bounding and drunk teenage boy. Ours adult daughters would love it, but not for me!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
166 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“a good average and well worth sampling”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Had dinner here with my son and we were both tired and hungry. It is not the most attractive restaurant in town as you walk through the open air smokers section to get to the back of the bar / restaurant. However, the staff are pleased to see you, their friendly and make the difference. Happy to chat about the menu and make personal recommendations. Seafood basket ordered by my son would have fed 2 people.....however being a 16 year old rower he was more than pleased and considered the portion size just right. Quality of the food was good also. even though it was mostly fried, it was crispy, not greasy and tasty. It really has the atmosphere of a good local bar full of various characters and a relaxed place to eat, read the papers and magazines provided.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EddieC566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Steak over cooked - run down overall and staff comments were interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

We had been here a few years ago so thought we would give it a go. Drink prices good. Menus in dire need of a physical revamp - dirty, stuck together due to stickiness and were ripped and torn. I asked a waiteress what the soup of the day was - she said tomato, but its not that great as it is out of a packet!. I ordered steak and asked for medium rare - got well done instead. Husband ordered a burger which was alright. Restaurant is run down and needs a bit of work. I would go to other places before this one.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carolines Celtic also viewed

Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing