We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in. Warm hospitality”
Review of 42b College House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
42b College House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed there for one night only. As soon as I arrived in, the owner, Matte, gave me a brief on the area and all attractions around. The place has a well equipped kitchen (industrial level!), so very recommended if you are looking for a place that you can cook whatever you want. They also having a BBQ nights sometimes which is very nice.
Matte even helped me to send a package (a piece of wood I've found on the beach) to my home, so I bet that will help you with whatever you may be needed.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yan054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

We visited Wanganui over the Easter weekend and stayed in the family room of 42b College House. The hosts are very friendly and go the extra mile to provide superior service. The amenities are clean and rooms are spacious. The kitchen is well equipped. It has a nice garden with chicken, dogs (locked away in case someone like our kid is scared about dogs) and even a deer fawn. Matt and Verena are very kind, honest and super helpful hosts.
The hostel is in walking distance to everything you need, from fast food to super market, or even the Wanganui river and it's playground areas (15 min walk).

I highly recommend this hostel/backpacker and will visit definetly again.

Thomas and family from Wellington / NZ

Room Tip: We'd recommend the rooms for families (I believe at least two big rooms are for families). If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToRie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Unfortunately we were just stopping for one night on our travel from the south to Hamilton. I deeply regret that I didn't spend a few more nights in this hostel - it is simply great! The German owner is extremely friendly, he upgraded our room and stayed up for us (due to delay of ferry we came after opening hours of the reception). The hostel is clean, has a well equipped kitchen, a great lounge and probably heaps of things we couldn't even discover on our short stay. What we did discover was Bella, a pet-deer in the backyard. If you go to Wanganui, this is the place where you should stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knute88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

have not words to describe this wonderful place, congratiulations the best kitchen between all of hostel I have been in New Zealand
A value-for-money accommodation with excellent hospitality from both hosts. They are always ready to lend a helping hand. Rooms are very nice and clean. Although we were only staying for one night, owner showed us around the place in great detail Note:10

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudiobadboy465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I only stayed for one night (stopover) in the dorm. The room and the beds were clean (I've a house dust mite allergy). The kitchen is with its facilities really unique. The community room has a good tv and a table tennis. The location of the hostel is in comparison to other hostels in the town definitely the best!
Furthermore the owner is really friendly and helpful.
He even drove me to a good spot to hitchhike.
Just recommendable

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanselhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

A value-for-money accommodation with excellent hospitality from both hosts. They are always ready to lend a helping hand. Rooms are simple but clean. Although we were only staying for one night, Matt showed us around the place in great detail and even introduced us to the chickens and deer in the backyard. He even went out of the way and gave us two girls a ride to the bus station with our heavy suitcases when we left. A very nice gesture from the host!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank euphorictravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I highly recommend this hostel. The hostel was well-equipped and spacious, but the host, Matt, really went above and beyond expectations. Not only was he friendly and welcoming, and provided me with a first aid kit to bandage an injured knee, but when I forgot my kindle at the hostel, he promptly mailed it, free of charge. Really worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iminycricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
3.7 mi away
Whanganui Seaside Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Riverview Motel
Riverview Motel
#5 of 26 in Whanganui
143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#15 of 26 in Whanganui
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aotea Motor Lodge
Aotea Motor Lodge
#4 of 26 in Whanganui
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#2 of 26 in Whanganui
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 42b College House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 42b College House

Address: 42b Campbell Street, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Whanganui
Price Range: £27 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 42b College House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
42b College House is situated in the heart of Wanganui, which is an ideal spot to enjoy easy access to major local attractions, city centre, supermarkets, i-site and bus stops. Views of Mt Ruapehu, garden with BBQ facilities, amazing lounge with pool table, table tennis, pianos, boardgames and movie room! FREE Wifi, FREE bus stop pick ups and FREE off street parking are available too. 42B College House is definitely the ideal choice of stay for travelers/backpackers seeking comfort and convenience in Wanganui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your 42b College House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing