We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This may have been "new" in 1972, but we ain't time travelling Dr Who”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bignell Street Motel
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Reviewed 6 December 2012

I was tempted to rename the review a single word "Dive". Do not be fooled by any pictures on websites. Threadbare carpets, holes in sheets, "spacious bathroom" is in fact a shower recess with a toilet tacked on. Constructed out of tilt up concrete panels with a slap of paint, there are no smoke detectors, outside security lighting, power sockets to shave with. While manager Pet One is a nice enough chap, his suggestion of dining at the public hospital cafeteria for $5 a plate sums up the joint. Awful. Trust me, spend an extra ten bucks and stay anywhere else. We have lodged a complaint with the booking agency Jason's it was that bad.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Nickbruining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M, General Manager at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

Nick, thank you for your review. As with all of our guests, we offer you a choice of rooms so you can choose the one that you like the best. If there was a problem with your room in any way and you had told us about the issue, we could have resolved it on the day. Your feedback on regarding the hidden damage to the carpet has been noted and the carpet has been repaired.The Electric Iron burn hole in the carpet was by the wall beside the draws and could not be seen. The Carpet repairer was unable to cal untill the following monday Our bathrooms are designed to allow easy access for people in wheelchairs or who need an assistance frame. As a result of this we had to install slightly smaller basins, however, their size is more than adequate for the job they do and are found in many Motels around the world. The walls are made sound proof and very thick at extra cost. Most Motels have thin walls and you can be heard from next door, or the noise from the neighbours keeps you awake. There are no holes in our new expensive cotton sheets. In the modern kitchen is a Refrigerator, Microwave, Electric Jug, Electric Frypan, Stove, Toaster and plenty of Hotpoint's.The Light under the veranda is there for security. We also have Security Cameras covering the area for your security. This would be the safest place in the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

Peter One is an absolute crook. This place should be shut down - the health dept. should be getting in there and closing it for good. Absolutely disgusting place, no one should be subject to these conditions.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Biddyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M, General Manager at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Biddyness, Thank you for your review. I have checked your Tripadvisor profile and you have not stayed with us.
The Health Dept conduct regular reviews of our business and we pass 100% each time. We are happy to show these certificates to our real visitors if them wish to view them. We have the best new Motel Units in town with great Service, Security and it is Quiet ! What more can we give you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Unfortunateley I booked this place prior to reading the reviews on trip advisor...yes I am kicking myself! I looked into cancelling the booking but the cancellation must be 30 days prior to your stay which seems really unreasonable.
This motel was dark, dingy and just generally awful, the sate of the grounds was poor, the playgound consisted of a rusted jungle gym , a dangerous looking see saw ( checkerplate for seats?? ) and a couple of broken swings. The interior of the unit was so dated, the 'kitchen" consisted of two rusty hotplates, a microwave and a couple of mis matched plates and glasses. The bathroon did not fare much better with a basin so tiny one could not even brush their teeth in, not to mention no where to put tolietries etc... We only spent one night here but that was way too much, we went out all day and the best part of night so as the whole place was so depressing. Would never stay here again and would never recommend it. I can't believe it has made it into the 2012 AA travel book !!!! theer was absolutley nothing about this place that was remotely good

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank STARMAN678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M, General Manager at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Starman678, thank you for your review.

In response to the points you have raised:

1. Our cancellation terms are as per NZ law. It is important for any business that if goods or service are reserved, that they paid for.
2. As shown on the video and pictures on our website, our rooms are clean, bright and fresh, not dark & dingy.
3. Our Playground Equipment is checked regularly to ensure it is safe for children to play on. You may have confused the rust for the brown paint which covers play equipment.
4. Our kitchens are fully functional and well maintained.
5. Our bathrooms are designed to allow easy access for people in wheelchairs or who need an assistance frame. As a result of this we had to install slightly smaller basins, however, their size is more than adequate for the job they do and can be found in many Motels around the world.
6. On your arrival you were given the choice of a number of rooms. If you were not happy with the room you had chosen, why did you not come and advise our friendly Staff.

We are sad that you did not enjoy your stay with us, unlike the thousands of other happy guests we have to stay.

Peter One. Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

was told cash only but my mum only had credit card, was told that Peter didnt like paying the bank fees but he did accept my mums credit card, Room looked like it hadnt been cleaned at all in a long time!! the sign on the wall red "Kitchen comes free, leave kitchen how it was or leave $5 for cleaner to clean dishes!!" how ridiculous!!! of course the kitchen is free!!! freakn heck. smelt like sewage had been spilt out everywhere. the whole room needed a good upgrade even though we were told we were in a "new" unit!! my %#$* we were..... no complientary sugar, a fridge that sounded like a spaceship was going to take off, freezing unit. Peter had asked my mum for "Honest feed\back" but now reading this he couldn really give a care in the world by the sounds of things.

i will never stay there ever again.... and would not reccommed this to anyone... disgusting place should be bulldozed!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dayna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Actually stayed here September 2009. Was visiting family here and stayed here with my fiancee. She is in a wheelchair and was told the unit she booked was wheelchair accessible.
Ok, she could get into the unit but not the toilet/shower. The shower was dripping, it was not possible to even wash, the sheets and pillow cases were mixed colours, my fiancees carer's sheets had mould on them. Also, remnants of previous tennants breakfast on table in form of toast crusts. The room was freezing, thank goodness we had our own heater. The communal toilet/shower block was filthy, I'm not sure it has been cleaned very often.
The tv in our room was just for decoration.
As payment was in cash we could not go elsewhere, I know why he accepts cash only.
Once you pay that way you are stuck there.
The manager was dodgy in appearance, and throughout Wanganui his reputation is not good. He'll tidy up the property before a hotel inspection, but once that is done he lets it all go downhill.
Others have told me they did not feel safe there, I have to agree. Here's why:
The place is known for drug users and prostitution, the police are here in force nearly every Friday night.
I do not reccommend this place to anyone, bulldoze it down, get rid of the manager and then the hospitality industry in Wanganui will pick up.

Room Tip: To get the best room, go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Uzbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We enjoyed our stay, the unit was cosy and clean. For a reasonably priced place to stay, I would recommend to others.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank Viola49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Friendly manager and nice to be given a choice of units, plus a really good shower. Downsides were some less than clean aspects in the kitchen, paint falling off the shower lining, no bedside reading lights (but one supplied on request), shabby furnishings (incl hole in carpet) and beds very overdue for retirement. Some (unintentionally) amusing notices around the unit were a nice distraction, but unless we just had a bad unit it wasn't good value for the money. Telling people we met in Wanganui where we were staying produced some very interesting responses - and some illuminating info on some of the other activities apparently conducted at this motel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank miloandmates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
2.5 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#15 of 26 in Whanganui
59 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wiritoa Lakes Motel
Wiritoa Lakes Motel
#24 of 26 in Whanganui
2 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#2 of 26 in Whanganui
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Whanganui Seaside Holiday Park
5.2 mi away
Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park
1.8 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bignell Street Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bignell Street Motel

Address: 86 Bignell Street, Whanganui 4501, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range: £38 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bignell Street Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$50 MOTEL. Save $$ On Your Accommodation. Come stay with us! Large new units available with one or two bedrooms. 36 caravan sites set in park-like grounds. Close to city centre. Quiet location. 24-hour camera security. Friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bignell Street Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bignell Street Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing