We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT EVEN THINK OF STAYING HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bignell Street Motel
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Yes it is cheap - but there is a reason for it. Our bedding had stains on it, not only on the sheets but also the under-blanket. We ended up going to The Warehouse and purchasing our own sheets and pillows to sleep on. Would have moved but already paid! We were also asked for cash when checking in. Ants stacked up in the corner of the toilet, one door between bathroom and kitchen. Bathroom consisted of a shower with a toilet and the basin in the toilet was too small to brush your teeth in, head had to be put on a slant! Do not mind old, but do not like dirty. Pieces of lino covering up holes on back of bench, plastic flowers on table, an iron that my grand-mother used!! Pay extra dollars to get something better, and closer to town.

Room Tip: No good rooms or caravans
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank JustusHutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M, General Manager at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

In response to your comments above:
You are the first person in the world that I know that has purchased their own bedding when staying at a motel or hotel. If you were not happy with the bedding provided, you could have let us know and we would have rectified it immediately. We are constantly purchasing new bedding for the motels as we are aware that our linen is more heavily used and washed more often that the normal household.

We provide low cost, quality accommodation to our customers. Our motel units are not as big as your house but they are comparable in size to all other motel units in NZ. They all comply with the strict government building regulations and are designed to maximize the usable space provided.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for Bignell Street Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2013

How did this motel get into the AA accommodation guide? On arrival at the Bignaell St Motel the manager Peter One asked for payment in cash, I am sure that the IRD would be interested in this practice! As I did not have that amount of cash on me he did accept Visa. The frontal exterior appearance of the units is dated but not bad, but take a look out of the window at the rear, not a pretty sight. On arrival in our unit we found it to be very dated and scruffy to start with but it got worse. On inspection of the bed the sheets looked as if they had been slept in, there were "stains" mostly old looking but one which looked to be reasonably fresh and unwashed. The sheets were wrinkled where bodies would have laid so rather than risk them being replaced with more of the same we went out and bought our own new sheets. The TV belonged in a museum but did work - albeit with rather sub satandard reception. The shower closet was a small space which could have done with a good clean, one endeavoured not to touch the walls when showering. The shower rose needed replacing as it was like standing under a tap and the mixer required the finest touch between too hot and cold. Beyond the shower closet was the toilet which actually looked reasonably clean. The hand basin was tiny and proved to be mission impossible for cleaning ones teeth. I n the kitchen the fridge was old and very loud, but to be fair this is not uncommon in older motels, it did keep things cold and it was easy enough to switch it off when sleep was required.There was tea and coffee provided but no milk supplied and also a sign which stated that the kitchen was "free" but to leave it as you found it or leave $5 for te cleaner - really? Surely this sign would encourage patrons to simply rince dishes and replace them in the cupboard. If anyone is stupid enough to stay here after reading the reviews on this website I would advise you to thoroughly wash any dishes and cutlery before you use them! Staying in this motel left one feeling itchy and unclean and a sense of relief was felt upon leaving, I will NOT stay here again and would recommend others needing accommodation in Wanganui to stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nzkeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M, General Manager at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

In order to provide low cost accommodation we take every step possible to keep our costs down. Bank and credit card fees are now a major expense to all businesses. If we are able to eliminate this cost then we can pass on these savings to our customers.

Our cleaners take great pride in the work that they do and ensure that each motel unit is cleaned to the highest standard after each customer has left. They always wash the dishes and replace the bedding among many other tasks.

We are happy to supply milk to our guests but have found that more often than not, it is not used and then wasted. We are working hard to lower our impact on the environment and tipping unused milk down the sink on a regular basis is wasteful. If there was anything that you had needed that was not already in the unit, you could have just asked one of our friendly, helpful staff who are on site 24hrs a day to ensure you have a pleasant stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

On our arrival we were asked to pay cash (highly unusual) we didn't as we only had card eftpos no milk given on arrival had to get our own. No phone available told to use our own by Peter One. Rooms sub standard. Main rubbish at back of motel over flowing and covered with flies. Friends room - bedding had to be changed as there were ants and sheets were not clean.

Room Tip: Do not recommend this motel
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laurayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M, General Manager at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

In order to provide low cost accommodation we take every step possible to keep our costs down. Bank and credit card fees are now a major expense to all businesses. If we are able to eliminate this cost then we can pass on these savings to our customers.

We have removed the telephones from the motel units as they were very rarely used. In 2008 108.6% of the NZ population had mobile phones. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_number_of_mobile_phones_in_use) In order to be able to pass on further savings to our customers we decided to remove the landline units.

Our staff are on call 24hrs a day to deal with any queries you may have. If you were not happy with the accommodation and you had told us, we could have put it right for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Dont stay here if you like cleanliness. Yes it is cheap but very dirty and dodgy.We booked without checking first and will never do this again. we were a booking of 12 couples. We had the pleasure of having the honeymoon suite. Rather quaint with heart pillows on the bed. Until we pulled back the top bed cover and the bed was covered in ants running all over it and down the wall. On telling Peter he suggested he would change the sheets for us and then it would be ok. NO IT WOULD NOT BE OK. the ants would still be there. We were then shown another room. Slightly better with no ants.All the same complaints as other people have said re the bathroom and kitchen. The sheets were old and needed to be replaced. The bed was hard and also past its use by date.There was no lighting around the place at night so it did not feel safe at all. On talking to local people thay all felt sorry for us staying in such a dive.We were also told cash only when we arrived. The rubbish bins had not been emptied for ages and the flies around them was truly disgracful. They also smelt really bad. Another couple with us had stained sheets and Peter said they could not be cleaned and he could not do anything about it. The rooms need to be stripped down and completly renovated. This is not somewhere for you to stay unless you like cheap dirty accomodation. We will not be back.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another part of Wanganui in another motel.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sandy22NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M, General Manager at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Like other motels, we service our units daily to ensure they are clean & fresh. We always change the sheets as we know how important it is to stay in a clean room. Occasionally, like all other buildings in New Zealand, we get the odd ant, but these are always eradicated quickly to ensure we do not get an infestation.

We have an on-going refurbishment program to ensure that are rooms remain at a high acceptable standard. We are sorry to hear that you felt that the standard of the room that you chose was not good enough. We want our customers to enjoy their stay which is why we offer our customers a choice of rooms and you can chose the best one for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

we booked for a couple of nights but then rang up and cancelled, when booked were not told of any cancellation fee and then few weeks later i get a letter in the mail saying we owe full price of what it would have been if we had stayed, then it went to baycorp i am currently fighting it as no way i owe the money and i should have been told there was a cancellation fee when i rang up to book or cancel

Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
5  Thank alana2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M, Owner at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Alana
Thank you for booking one of our Quiet, Large, Luxury Motel Units with Kitchens
When you book a motel unit we must keep it reserved for you. NZ Law states: if you make a booking then we must keep the room for you. But you in return must pay for it, unless we are able to re-let the unit to someone else.
We turned other guests away as you had booked the unit.
If we had been able to re-let your unit after receiving your cancellation,
thenyou would have only incurred a small booking fee.
Having booked with us, you have had the pleasure in knowing that your accommodation for that period was reserved, guaranteed, and secure.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Peter is a lovely friendly face to great you at reception. the location is wonderfully quiet and means a great sleep. The accomodation is clean and tidy and for a excellent price. I have recommended Bignall Street Motel to others. I will certainly be back next time I have a course in Wanaganui.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aileen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

I was tempted to rename the review a single word "Dive". Do not be fooled by any pictures on websites. Threadbare carpets, holes in sheets, "spacious bathroom" is in fact a shower recess with a toilet tacked on. Constructed out of tilt up concrete panels with a slap of paint, there are no smoke detectors, outside security lighting, power sockets to shave with. While manager Pet One is a nice enough chap, his suggestion of dining at the public hospital cafeteria for $5 a plate sums up the joint. Awful. Trust me, spend an extra ten bucks and stay anywhere else. We have lodged a complaint with the booking agency Jason's it was that bad.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Nickbruining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M, General Manager at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

Nick, thank you for your review. As with all of our guests, we offer you a choice of rooms so you can choose the one that you like the best. If there was a problem with your room in any way and you had told us about the issue, we could have resolved it on the day. Your feedback on regarding the hidden damage to the carpet has been noted and the carpet has been repaired.The Electric Iron burn hole in the carpet was by the wall beside the draws and could not be seen. The Carpet repairer was unable to cal untill the following monday Our bathrooms are designed to allow easy access for people in wheelchairs or who need an assistance frame. As a result of this we had to install slightly smaller basins, however, their size is more than adequate for the job they do and are found in many Motels around the world. The walls are made sound proof and very thick at extra cost. Most Motels have thin walls and you can be heard from next door, or the noise from the neighbours keeps you awake. There are no holes in our new expensive cotton sheets. In the modern kitchen is a Refrigerator, Microwave, Electric Jug, Electric Frypan, Stove, Toaster and plenty of Hotpoint's.The Light under the veranda is there for security. We also have Security Cameras covering the area for your security. This would be the safest place in the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
2.5 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#16 of 26 in Whanganui
57 reviews
1.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Wanganui
Econo Lodge Wanganui
#19 of 26 in Whanganui
6 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Collegiate
Quality Inn Collegiate
#14 of 26 in Whanganui
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
2.2 mi away
Whanganui Seaside Holiday Park
5.2 mi away
Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bignell Street Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bignell Street Motel

Address: 86 Bignell Street, Whanganui 4501, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range: £26 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bignell Street Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$50 MOTEL. Save $$ On Your Accommodation. Come stay with us! Large new units available with one or two bedrooms. 36 caravan sites set in park-like grounds. Close to city centre. Quiet location. 24-hour camera security. Friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bignell Street Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bignell Street Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing