We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but not cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bignell Street Motel
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cheap but not cheerful”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I booked through Jasons and so paid upfront. If it wasn't for that I'd have left. No lightbulb in loo, bathroom light not working. VERY shabby and nasty looking. I expected cheap and cheerful as it was a budget place but this was beyond the pail. The day I left I noticed a bloodstain on the sheet!!! And as for the shower I couldn't bring myself to use it! It looks like it had been painted inside several times and the walls were flaking and moldy. I was a woman alone and had no intention of complaining.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank justme255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M, General Manager at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Victoria, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in Wanganui, the city that prides itself on friendship, happiness & great sightseeing. The manager serviced your unit and conversed with you on more than one occasion during your stay. If you had let the manager know that the toilet light was not working, he would have replaced the bulb straight away. If you had let the manager know that you were not happy with the condition of your unit, he could have moved you into one of our recently refurbished units with the big flat screen TVs. We cannot resolve any issues if you do not let us know what they are.
I hope you stay again soon and enjoy the hospitality that Wanganui is renown for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    13
    4
    4
    20
See reviews for
8
15
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

We travelled around NZ on a budget and ended up here. Wish we hadn't. We wanted to cancel as soon as we arrived, once we were toldy by locals what it really was. However we were also advised that if we cancelled the owner is known to take your money anyway. So we were stuck there for the night.
Stains on the bed etc. kitchen and bathroom seemed surprisingly clean!!! Luckily we had our own bedding so used that and left as soon as the sun rose!
Creepyw owner! What are the peep holes in the walls behind reception all about? Cars coming in and out all night!
Offered the 7ft long fun bed!!! Could probably pay for it by the hour!! Need I say anymore!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MGE_touring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whanganui hotels

Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

I was tempted to rename the review a single word "Dive". Do not be fooled by any pictures on websites. Threadbare carpets, holes in sheets, "spacious bathroom" is in fact a shower recess with a toilet tacked on. Constructed out of tilt up concrete panels with a slap of paint, there are no smoke detectors, outside security lighting, power sockets to shave with. While manager Peter One is a nice enough chap, his suggestion of dining at the public hospital cafeteria for $5 a plate sums up the joint. Awful. Trust me, spend an extra ten bucks and stay anywhere else.

This has been updated after reading the garbage response from the owner. This guy is clearly a pathalogical liar. we have heard through private emails that other NZ reviewers have received threats. Thank god we are in Australia. Look, this is simple, this place is as dodgy as all hell, it is a disgrace and drags down the reputation of NZ motels generally. That the authorities have not dealt with the joint by shutting it down is as much a reflection on the authorities as it is on this Dive. We have lodged a complaint with the booking agency Jason's it was that bad. Happy to take private mails on this but I am that incensed by the responses of the owners that I am escalating this as high as I can go.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Nickbruining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M, General Manager at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Thank you for your comments. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay at Bignell Street Motel unlike the thousands of other customers we accommodate each year.

Just to responds to your comments above: The pictures on our website are of the actual rooms available. We do not have thread bare new carpets or holes in our new sheets. If we did, we would not get the large number of repeat customers we do.

Not all of our customers want to spend large amounts of money on dining out every night. The local hospital provides freshly made, nutritious meals at a subsidized rate. These meals are provided to the Medical Staff including Doctors and therefore need to be of the highest quality. We like to give our customers a choice of where to dine. We do not force our customers to dine there, but they are pleased to be advised of the local options.

Regarding being a pathological liar, you are entitled to your opinion. Why would we threaten our customers? How would we enforce our threats? The result would be the customer would be upset and not return to stay with us again, but we have thousands of repeat customers.

The internet is an open forum and you have the right to voice your opinion, but I also have the right to respond.

By the way, I am please you have safely returned to Oz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Quiet motels and caravan park , well situated no road noise , I was there for 3 nights , first night the place was full so I was offerd a caravan , as I was alone it suited me well , clean , cosy , all amenities including use of the communal bathroom block , next two nights in one of the motel units , again clean comfortable and quiet , shower bathroom and kitchen included,
The manager Peter One is an excellent host and goes out of his way to accommodate ,
Ok it's not the ritz but for the budget minded traveller it's an excellent choice whilst in Wanganui , I was given milk and the advice by Peter to eat at the hostpital cafeteria was excellent ,he's a great ambassador for Whanganui with his knowledge of things to see and do , so to sum up if you arnt looking for perfection and just somewhere to rest your weary head , try Bignell street for sure

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mercedes4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Yes it is cheap - but there is a reason for it. Our bedding had stains on it, not only on the sheets but also the under-blanket. We ended up going to The Warehouse and purchasing our own sheets and pillows to sleep on. Would have moved but already paid! We were also asked for cash when checking in. Ants stacked up in the corner of the toilet, one door between bathroom and kitchen. Bathroom consisted of a shower with a toilet and the basin in the toilet was too small to brush your teeth in, head had to be put on a slant! Do not mind old, but do not like dirty. Pieces of lino covering up holes on back of bench, plastic flowers on table, an iron that my grand-mother used!! Pay extra dollars to get something better, and closer to town.

Room Tip: No good rooms or caravans
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank JustusHutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M, General Manager at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
In response to your comments above:
You are the first person in the world that I know that has purchased their own bedding when staying at a motel or hotel. If you were not happy with the bedding provided, you could have let us know and we would have rectified it immediately. We are constantly purchasing new bedding for the motels as we are aware that our linen is more heavily used and washed more often that the normal household.

We provide low cost, quality accommodation to our customers. Our motel units are not as big as your house but they are comparable in size to all other motel units in NZ. They all comply with the strict government building regulations and are designed to maximize the usable space provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

How did this motel get into the AA accommodation guide? On arrival at the Bignaell St Motel the manager Peter One asked for payment in cash, I am sure that the IRD would be interested in this practice! As I did not have that amount of cash on me he did accept Visa. The frontal exterior appearance of the units is dated but not bad, but take a look out of the window at the rear, not a pretty sight. On arrival in our unit we found it to be very dated and scruffy to start with but it got worse. On inspection of the bed the sheets looked as if they had been slept in, there were "stains" mostly old looking but one which looked to be reasonably fresh and unwashed. The sheets were wrinkled where bodies would have laid so rather than risk them being replaced with more of the same we went out and bought our own new sheets. The TV belonged in a museum but did work - albeit with rather sub satandard reception. The shower closet was a small space which could have done with a good clean, one endeavoured not to touch the walls when showering. The shower rose needed replacing as it was like standing under a tap and the mixer required the finest touch between too hot and cold. Beyond the shower closet was the toilet which actually looked reasonably clean. The hand basin was tiny and proved to be mission impossible for cleaning ones teeth. I n the kitchen the fridge was old and very loud, but to be fair this is not uncommon in older motels, it did keep things cold and it was easy enough to switch it off when sleep was required.There was tea and coffee provided but no milk supplied and also a sign which stated that the kitchen was "free" but to leave it as you found it or leave $5 for te cleaner - really? Surely this sign would encourage patrons to simply rince dishes and replace them in the cupboard. If anyone is stupid enough to stay here after reading the reviews on this website I would advise you to thoroughly wash any dishes and cutlery before you use them! Staying in this motel left one feeling itchy and unclean and a sense of relief was felt upon leaving, I will NOT stay here again and would recommend others needing accommodation in Wanganui to stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nzkeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M, General Manager at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
In order to provide low cost accommodation we take every step possible to keep our costs down. Bank and credit card fees are now a major expense to all businesses. If we are able to eliminate this cost then we can pass on these savings to our customers.

Our cleaners take great pride in the work that they do and ensure that each motel unit is cleaned to the highest standard after each customer has left. They always wash the dishes and replace the bedding among many other tasks.

We are happy to supply milk to our guests but have found that more often than not, it is not used and then wasted. We are working hard to lower our impact on the environment and tipping unused milk down the sink on a regular basis is wasteful. If there was anything that you had needed that was not already in the unit, you could have just asked one of our friendly, helpful staff who are on site 24hrs a day to ensure you have a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

On our arrival we were asked to pay cash (highly unusual) we didn't as we only had card eftpos no milk given on arrival had to get our own. No phone available told to use our own by Peter One. Rooms sub standard. Main rubbish at back of motel over flowing and covered with flies. Friends room - bedding had to be changed as there were ants and sheets were not clean.

Room Tip: Do not recommend this motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laurayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M, General Manager at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
In order to provide low cost accommodation we take every step possible to keep our costs down. Bank and credit card fees are now a major expense to all businesses. If we are able to eliminate this cost then we can pass on these savings to our customers.

We have removed the telephones from the motel units as they were very rarely used. In 2008 108.6% of the NZ population had mobile phones. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_number_of_mobile_phones_in_use) In order to be able to pass on further savings to our customers we decided to remove the landline units.

Our staff are on call 24hrs a day to deal with any queries you may have. If you were not happy with the accommodation and you had told us, we could have put it right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
2.5 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#17 of 26 in Whanganui
55 reviews
3.0 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
1.8 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Whanganui Seaside Holiday Park
5.2 mi away
Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park
0.7 mi away
Gateway Motor Lodge
Gateway Motor Lodge
#16 of 26 in Whanganui
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bignell Street Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bignell Street Motel

Property: Bignell Street Motel
Address: 86 Bignell Street, Whanganui 4501, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bignell Street Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$50 MOTEL. Save $$ On Your Accommodation. Come stay with us! Large new units available with one or two bedrooms. 36 caravan sites set in park-like grounds. Close to city centre. Quiet location. 24-hour camera security. Friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bignell Street Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bignell Street Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing