We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly stay and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bignell Street Motel
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Me and my partner have been traveling around New Zealand for over two months. The manager Peter at Bignell Street Motel has made this the friendliest place we have stayed so far. The service is great, the rooms were clean and tidy and the kitchen was a nice bonus! The prices were great as well, best value for the money. I would recommend this place to everyone. Peter did a great job in recommending things to see and do in town. Very happy to have stayed here and will go back again!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marleyrebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2010

We were travelling around NZ backpacking and had a great time in Wanganui. Peter One was really helpful and went out of his way to make us feel welcome. The room was comfortable and well equipped. Really cheap as well compared to other motels in town.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisrob3784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We had a great stay at Bignell. Peter was very helpful telling us places to eat and was really friendly. Yeah its not the Hilton but was definitely value for our money. The room was warm and the most quiet i have ever stayed in. First time i have been away and slept the whole night without being woken umpteen times by noisy people and cars. I did read the previous review before going and was quite worried but am so glad i chose to ignore it....

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kuytre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

A group went to this motel were warned by local organisation after booking not to go there but had paid in cash so couldnt get their money back. We were warned and hadn't paid so cancelled at least a week before and booked another place. However we transported some of the group to this motel. It was absolutely terrible, the piddly little heaters made a noise and the plastic was melted and it smelt of buring plastic, the lamp was old and ricketty all crooked looked so dangerous like it could fall over and the sheets were all oldfashioned and different colours the pillowcase was different colour too. Not even a sofa or lounge chair in the unit we saw only funny old table and chairs you had to sit on the bed. Freezing units at the occupants didn't want to risk using the electric blankets - looking at the state of the lamps and heater who would want to risk the blankets - bet they have never been checked. The linen was old looked like it should have been in the rag bag. When we cancelled our unit at least a week before we went to Wanganui the manager was as nice as pie, emailed back confirming our cancellation, by low and behold, a few days after arriving home we received an account saying he had taken the payment for the nights accommodation out because we had to still pay it. So our visa was charged with the cost of a nights accommodation - $77.00 which is a huge ripoff anyway when you see the state of the place. Totally disgusting and they have false advertising, on the account we received they had the cheek to have Wanganuis best accommodation, it has really put me off going to Wanganui again the council should clamp down hard on this guy he's a rip off and desperate for money. We got a place for 99.00 which was outdated but at least had a decent heater and clean bedding and towels so for that can't complain. Compared to the Bignell it was a palace so would hate to see what other motels in Wanganui are like, they should rail road this guy as he is giving the place a bad name. He even had the cheek to offer us a ten per cent discount when he sent us the account charging us 77.00 for the night we didn't even stay there.!!!!!!! Don't trust this guy don't go near the place, horrid horrid horrid and so cold.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nzarndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

We had a really good time in wanganui & our stay at Bignell Street Motel was excellent. The room was clean and fresh and the manager was really helpful. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKJohnEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2009

The attitude of the manager Mr Peter One was terrible, it seemed that because the Masters Games were on at the same time he could charge what he wanted for his "luxury accommodation".
In our "luxury unit" our bed sheets consisted of three different colours, not even different shades, all were pretty shabby. The toilets and showers had not had a good clean in awhile. A positive I suppose was that this "luxury unit" came with a free kitchen, which consisted of a bench above some cupboards, microwave and an old bar fridge.

I was concerned that there didn't seem to be any evacuation scheme visable, no fire extinguisher in the kitchen and some of the equipment had not been checked in the last year.

Wanganui is such a great place to visit., we will never choose this place for our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank chrisw68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2009

The manager's attitude was unbelievable and way out of line. Payment for the unit was to be in cash! The camp showers toilets and kitchen were grubby. The general condition of the room was below standard for the amount being charged per night. The advertisement for the motel reads "Happy Friendly and Relaxed" it most certainly was NOT! The whole experience put a damper on my weekend away.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Rotovagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
2.5 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#14 of 26 in Whanganui
62 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wiritoa Lakes Motel
Wiritoa Lakes Motel
#22 of 26 in Whanganui
3 reviews
5.2 mi away
Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Riverview Motel
Riverview Motel
#5 of 26 in Whanganui
147 reviews
1.8 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#2 of 26 in Whanganui
263 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aotea Motor Lodge
Aotea Motor Lodge
#6 of 26 in Whanganui
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bignell Street Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bignell Street Motel

Address: 86 Bignell Street, Whanganui 4501, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range: £41 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bignell Street Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$50 MOTEL. Save $$ On Your Accommodation. Come stay with us! Large new units available with one or two bedrooms. 36 caravan sites set in park-like grounds. Close to city centre. Quiet location. 24-hour camera security. Friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Bignell Street Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bignell Street Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing