We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy to Town”

B-Ks Magnolia Motor Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B-Ks Magnolia Motor Lodge
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Motor Lodge is stituated 1 block of main street,so very handy but it is surprisingly quiet. Only heard 1 police siren in the very early hours, but that can be heard in any main town.
Supermarket, Petrol stations and fast food places are very close by. Plus the main downtown area.
Room was clean, 2 recliner chairs,room is not large but adequate,tea, coffee, microwave etc. spa bath with extra towels. Owners were extremely nice and friendly.
This is third BK's motor lodge we have stayed at and they are a franchise, and all have been comfortable so far.
We had a meal at the local club - St Johns on the corner of Glasgow Street, where you can go even if your not a member, and the meals are very reasonable. Mains for adults ranged from $13.50 upto $20.00 approx. It is a club so meals are not fancy but are satisfactory.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for B-Ks Magnolia Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2011

My husband and I were visiting New Zealand, from Canada, on a three-week vacation in January 2011.
We stayed at B-K's Magnolia Motor Lodge for one night and found it to be in a nice quiet area, and within walking distance to the restaurants.
The room was clean and spacious. The owners, Brian and Kathy were very kind and helpful.

We were surprised when we walked downtown for dinner to find that the entire downtown shuts right down and only a handful of restaurants are open. Although, as we travelled further throughout New Zealand, we found this to be quite normal. The restaurant we did go to, recommended by Brian and Kathy, was very good and the food was excellent. The lamb was fantastic. The name of the restaurant escapes me, but it wouldn't be hard to find, because it's one of the few that are open, near the motel.

We would recommend this motel to anyone who will be staying in Wanganui.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OConnorGoldwingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2008

This motel was nicely appointed with a small kitchen area and spa bath in the room.

The room itself was comfortable and quite clean.

However, Wanganui isn't the best for nightlife. When places say "open until late" for dinner, we found at 7:30 p.m. we were struggling to find food. Sadly, McDonnalds was the only option for "late" dining.

This was a nice stop for the night, but if you're looking for activities, drive past Wanganui. We knew this would just be a stop along the way, and it proved us right!

Stayed: May 2008
Thank Jakey450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2008

Clean, comfortable and friendly motel in a quiet location on the outskirts of Wanganui. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merseytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2007

We stayed here on our way from Wellington to Taupo.

We arrived just before 8pm and found the owners to be very friendly and helpful, we have two young children and the laundry was about to shut but they very kindly allowed us to put 2 loads of washing through the motel own washing machines.

We had rooms 1 & 2 which have a connecting internal door. The rooms are very generous in size.

Room 1 has a queen bed and a table and chairs. The kitchen area is well equiped and there was plenty of tea, coffee etc. This room has a wetroom shower room.

Room 2 has a queen bed in a seperate room and a single in the main area. There were two easy chairs with recliners, and again the kitchen area was very well equiped. There was a spa bath in the bathroom.

The rooms were lovely and clean and there were plenty of towels and toiletries for all of us.

Local resturants deliver to the room and there is a charge back facility. The cooked and continental breakfasts that can be ordered from reception were very good value and arrived at the time requested.

We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Herefordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2007

We stayed here on our way back to Wellington on a tour of the North Island......and it was a little oasis!

The rooms were fantastic and had everything in there that you could wish for.....including snacks!

The information that the motel provided was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ARW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2006

Quietly located one block back from the main road through town. It was very clean and well maintained with quiet rooms. The Reception staff were very friendly and helpful and it was excellent value for money. This was the first time we had heard of this small chain but will try to use them again.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank capejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.3 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
247 reviews
1.2 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#9 of 26 in Whanganui
57 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#11 of 26 in Whanganui
128 reviews
0.6 mi away
151 on London
151 on London
#7 of 26 in Whanganui
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B-Ks Magnolia Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B-Ks Magnolia Motor Lodge

Address: 240 St Hill Street, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Whanganui
Price Range: £62 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — B-Ks Magnolia Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Motel in the heart of Wanganui. 16 executive quality ground floor.Units serviced daily: studios sleep 1-3; 1 bedroom sleeps 2-4; access facilities available; interconnecting 2brm family units sleep up to 6. Tea/coffee/toast making facilities (cooking hobs in some), fridge, microwave, recliner lounge chairs, spa bath and/or shower, hair dryer, single/queen/king size beds, phone, wireless internet access, 3-channel Sky Digital TV, electric blankets, heating, air-conditioning in some units, iron/ironing board. Video, cot and highchair available. Room service, cooked/continental breakfast, complimentary laundry, off-street parking.Within 400m of sports facilities, restaurants, bars, fast food outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your B-Ks Magnolia Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b Ks Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing