We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent motel”

B-Ks Magnolia Motor Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B-Ks Magnolia Motor Lodge
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent motel”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stayed 4 nights and would happily recommend this motel as great value. Good sized bathroom, nice rooms and beds. Managers were easygoing and helpful. Was a bit odd that the TV's seemed abit small for the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    21
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
23
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed at BK's on numerous occasions as it is value for money at a high level and it gets better each time we stay thanks to the hospitable people. My only gripe is the small screen TV's in the large rooms :-)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I stayed just one night but would have happily stayed longer.
The service was good and the room was nice with a big bathroom. I had a cooked breakfast which was good value for the money.
This is a very nice motel which is only 5 mins walk from downtown Wanganui. I would recommend it to anyone looking for clean, tidy and reasonably priced accommodation close to town.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oncebitten50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We recently spent two nights at BK's Magnolia Lodge in Wanganui. This proved to be an excellent choice.The deluxe studio room was really spacious, spotlessly clean and very reasonably priced.The continental breakfast provisions delivered to the room on the evening prior were fresh, tasty and plentiful. The managers were friendly, welcoming and helpful in every way. The location of the Motor Lodge meant an easy short walk to the centre for restaurants and shopping, We highly recommend BK's Magnolia Wanganui.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Errol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I would like to say that we stayed at BK Magnolia when there was a storm on. We had a lovely clean unit and the young lady who was looking after the place while the managers were away was superb. She was a lovely person and went out of her way. The breakfasst she made was awesome and we had only planned to stay 1 night but stayed for 2. Our unit was no 15 and the spa was lovely as were the beds etc. It had a heatpump and 2x tvs. It was clean as anything and spacious. Thanks for a great getaway stay. Pity about the weather. To the manager-you have a really nice person looking after your motel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs255368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

I picked this as a good motel at which to stay after reading previous reviews. We were thrilled with the choice. The lady at reception could not have been more welcoming and helpful. The motel unit was more spacious than most and had one bedroom with a queen bed and a single bed in the lounge. Both were very comfortable with good quality bedding. The sitting area had two comfortable arm chairs with a standard type lamp for reading. The table easily seated three for a meal. The bathroom was also bigger than is the norm and well equipped. Everything was scrupulously clean. Parking was right outside the door and there was an outside sitting area as well adjacent to where we parked the car. I will definitely return to this motel when I am staying in Wanganui again in the future. It is very well located close to restaurants but it is on a quiet street.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue63_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aotearoa New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Sue and I stayed here on our way to Taranaki for a business trip. We arrived later in the evening but this was no problem for the lovely lady at the front desk. The rate was excellent value and most of all the friendliness of the host matched the warmth of the room, nice and cosy! We were so impressed we made a point of staying here the night on our return trip. We enjoyed a spa bath unit on our return trip. The spa baths are huge and just awesome after a cool day on the road. Thanks a lot! We will be back definitely :-) Owen and Sue. Blenheim, NZ

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exnavy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.3 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.2 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.4 mi away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#7 of 26 in Whanganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#10 of 26 in Whanganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#9 of 26 in Whanganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aotea Motor Lodge
Aotea Motor Lodge
#5 of 26 in Whanganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B-Ks Magnolia Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B-Ks Magnolia Motor Lodge

Property: B-Ks Magnolia Motor Lodge
Address: 240 St Hill Street, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — B-Ks Magnolia Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Motel in the heart of Wanganui. 16 executive quality ground floor.Units serviced daily: studios sleep 1-3; 1 bedroom sleeps 2-4; access facilities available; interconnecting 2brm family units sleep up to 6. Tea/coffee/toast making facilities (cooking hobs in some), fridge, microwave, recliner lounge chairs, spa bath and/or shower, hair dryer, single/queen/king size beds, phone, wireless internet access, 3-channel Sky Digital TV, electric blankets, heating, air-conditioning in some units, iron/ironing board. Video, cot and highchair available. Room service, cooked/continental breakfast, complimentary laundry, off-street parking.Within 400m of sports facilities, restaurants, bars, fast food outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your B-Ks Magnolia Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b Ks Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing