We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a great spa bath” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riverview Motel
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Whanganui
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Had a great spa bath”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

I really enjoyed staying here. Beautiful room and comfortable bed. It was great value for a room with spa bath. No river view from the room, but we enjoyed strolling along the river. Everything was satisfying. One of the best motel stay in my life. I would like to stay again. Thank you for very helpful service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amakisushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    46
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
65
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

Great place with a rustic yet modern feel. Loved the exposed rafters in the roof and the reclining leather couches were comfy. The kitchen was clean and well laid out and the apartment itself was spacious giving a family plenty of room without the feeling of being on top of each other.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Took a team of girls and stayed at the Riverview Motel Great service and very helpful when booking a team.Rooms very clean and really nice.Thanks for making our stay pleasurable.
We will defiantly stay again .
Thank you.

Room Tip: Some rooms are more modern enquire when making booking.Very nice place to stay and very welcoming
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mars14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Stayed at Riverview for one night after picking up one negative comment on Trip Advisor but wished we had stayed for two. Lovely big room with separate very well equipped kitchen and spotlessly clean. Nice bedroom with very comfortable sofa to relax on and watch TV. Could not have asked for more but stayed second night at Fiesta Motel which although OK, was not , in our opinion, as good value as Riverview. Really nice location for riverside walks and access to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank POTTERZONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

I chose this accommodation on the basis of TripAdviser reviews, and after staying there I wondered if there were actually two Riverviews, and I'd stumbled into the wrong one! First the good bits - it was very clean, inexpensive, handy to the shops, we really did have a "river view", and the owners were very friendly and helpful. The bad .... the unit was like a depressing flashback to the 60's, with worn laminex surfaces, no sound insulation so the traffic noise made sleep difficult, and an unventilated gas-fired hot water system in the kitchen that filled the place with fumes. Will probably never go back to Wanganui, but if I did I'd really try to find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karorigrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
318 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

One of the best motels we have ever stayed in.
The reception was very friendly and mad eus feel very welcome.
Room (14) was very spacious and clean and smelled very fresh.
Nice chairs to relax in, large bed and spa bath to sooth the travel away.
Received discount to restaurant and corporate rates at motel so was extremely good value.
Parkin at the door and well kept grounds and gardens made a pleasant stay.
Would highly recommend any one visiting Wanganui - stay here!!
Sorry it was only for one night but could be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

I had two nights at this relaxing motel - I wish it could have been longer. The wifi is brilliant, the kitchen clean and the bed very comfortable. I arrived here after 34 hours in transit from the UK, so the fact that I suffered no jet lag is testament to the good night's sleep I had. The people who run it - Mark and Karen - are really nice and know loads about the area. And they have a very nice cat!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.9 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.6 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 27 in Whanganui
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#8 of 27 in Whanganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#11 of 27 in Whanganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#19 of 27 in Whanganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#2 of 27 in Whanganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Motel

Property: Riverview Motel
Address: 14 Somme Parade, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverview Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riverview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing