We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Riverview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverview Motel
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

While on holiday from the UK in March we were lucky to stay a night at the Riverview Motel. We experienced a bright and friendly welcome. A lovely room with a great view of the river and a seperate bedroom. Spacious, spotless and comfortable. There was also a nice walk into town along the riverbank. Thank you. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had the room in front overlooking the river which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlyWiseRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    49
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
69
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Only stayed one night here. We were given milk on arrival, plan of the town, where to shop and where to go to eat, and free wifi! The one bedroom apartment was so spacious, excellent facilities and most of all excellent view of the river! Would definitely recommend a stay here. Very friendly and helpful staff!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank KathrynT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Holidaying with friends, we stayed in 10 New Zealand motels and this was the most spacious but also one of the cheapest. It had comfy leather sofas which reclined and looked as if had been recently refurbished. The manager was very helpful and friendly and came straight away when we had a problem with the oven (user error!). It's very conveniently situated for town, the supermarket and of course the river. We were just sorry we couldn't have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in the family unit downstairs. It was nice and spacious and very clean if somewhat dated in the bathroom. We were able to wash clothes and hang them on the line etc. Comfortable beds, lovely, lovely hosts would definitely stay here again, very good for a family situation. Nice location and a nice stroll along the Wanganui river to walk into town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank killiansonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My wife and I stayed just one night here. We were greeted well with lots of local information including a free drinks promotion from the Stellar Pub (which we used). The room was big with a separate dining/kitchen area. It was very clean with spotless bedding on a very comfortable bed. There was a very neat outside grassed area with games. There was also free WiFi. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Nice to have a ground floor room with access to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saltburn51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile


We stayed for 2 nights in a river view room. The greeting on arrival was very warm and friendly and we were offered assistance with our luggage. The room was huge and very well appointed. It was set up for 4 people and would accommodate 4 people very easily. The kitchen area was well equipped and was the largest kitchen we had seen in all the properties where we have stayed on this trip. It was a short walk into town, and convenient for river walks and even a walk up to the towers on top of the hill opposite!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RosinaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed over Xmas in a 1 bedroom unit which we both found very clean, tidy, spacious and quiet. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was very good. The location of the motel is also a bonus. All the staff were very friendly and helpful so we will definitely be back. Thank you Riverview.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.6 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#14 of 26 in Whanganui
57 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#9 of 26 in Whanganui
56 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#11 of 26 in Whanganui
128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Motel

Property: Riverview Motel
Address: 14 Somme Parade, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverview Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Mark (a local from Whanganui) and Karen (from Ireland). We will be pleased to recommend you our favourite places to eat, the things in Wanganui that you absolutely shouldn't miss and hope you will have a great stay with us! Our motel is the closest one to town; depending if you want to take the 'scenic route' along the river or the more direct 'residential' way you could be in our main street within 5 -10 minutes walk. Restaurants and cafes are all within walking distance, so are the historic riverboats that go up the Whanganui river, the art galleries, the museum etc. Our motel has 15 different units; are you looking for low-cost, for a room with a view, for a family unit or for a unit with a spa bath; we have it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing