We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, comfortable unit.”
Review of Riverview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverview Motel
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was a last minute booking due to a family emergency. The manager was very helpful. We were impressed with the unit. It was in a great location, was well equipped, spacious and very comfortable with lazy boy seating for four. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue63_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed for our first night of our NI trip. Ideal location, very friendly welcome, spotlessly clean, spacious and well equipped room - we had a spa room. Never been to Wanganui before, what an attractive town. Hope to be back to see more of it, and will definitely stay at Riverview.

Room Tip: The spa room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarleyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

While on holiday from the UK in March we were lucky to stay a night at the Riverview Motel. We experienced a bright and friendly welcome. A lovely room with a great view of the river and a seperate bedroom. Spacious, spotless and comfortable. There was also a nice walk into town along the riverbank. Thank you. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had the room in front overlooking the river which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FlyWiseRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Only stayed one night here. We were given milk on arrival, plan of the town, where to shop and where to go to eat, and free wifi! The one bedroom apartment was so spacious, excellent facilities and most of all excellent view of the river! Would definitely recommend a stay here. Very friendly and helpful staff!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank KathrynT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Holidaying with friends, we stayed in 10 New Zealand motels and this was the most spacious but also one of the cheapest. It had comfy leather sofas which reclined and looked as if had been recently refurbished. The manager was very helpful and friendly and came straight away when we had a problem with the oven (user error!). It's very conveniently situated for town, the supermarket and of course the river. We were just sorry we couldn't have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in the family unit downstairs. It was nice and spacious and very clean if somewhat dated in the bathroom. We were able to wash clothes and hang them on the line etc. Comfortable beds, lovely, lovely hosts would definitely stay here again, very good for a family situation. Nice location and a nice stroll along the Wanganui river to walk into town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank killiansonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My wife and I stayed just one night here. We were greeted well with lots of local information including a free drinks promotion from the Stellar Pub (which we used). The room was big with a separate dining/kitchen area. It was very clean with spotless bedding on a very comfortable bed. There was a very neat outside grassed area with games. There was also free WiFi. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Nice to have a ground floor room with access to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saltburn51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.5 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#15 of 26 in Whanganui
59 reviews
0.6 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
257 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#11 of 26 in Whanganui
133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#9 of 26 in Whanganui
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Motel

Address: 14 Somme Parade, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range: £46 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverview Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Mark (a local from Whanganui) and Karen (from Ireland). We will be pleased to recommend you our favourite places to eat, the things in Wanganui that you absolutely shouldn't miss and hope you will have a great stay with us! Our motel is the closest one to town; depending if you want to take the 'scenic route' along the river or the more direct 'residential' way you could be in our main street within 5 -10 minutes walk. Restaurants and cafes are all within walking distance, so are the historic riverboats that go up the Whanganui river, the art galleries, the museum etc. Our motel has 15 different units; are you looking for low-cost, for a room with a view, for a family unit or for a unit with a spa bath; we have it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riverview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing