We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Park next to a Beautiful River”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Excellent service: the host gave us a map of the city and explained what to do and how to get to each location. Because we were traveling with children, he took the time to tell us about the parks and child-friendly places. That was very nice of him!

Facilities: The kitchen was large, the bathrooms were very clean, and the laundry machines worked well. The outdoor grills and tables looked like a great place to spend some time cooking and socializing with friend, but it was just too cold for us to use. They even rent kayaks for those wishing to explore the river.

Location: It truly is a fantastic location by the river. I only wished the supermarkets were closer. It was about a 10 minute drive to city central when we needed a few last minute items at dinner time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yara001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

Had a lovely weekend staying at this lovely holiday park. Great facilities including a pool and the couple that own it were very friendly and helpful suggesting things to do and restaurants etc. This place was very very clean and well cared for. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jetsetter1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

I spent Three months in the Holiday Park !!!
Amazing place , the best for relaxing , enjoy the wild .
Landscapes are amazing , with very friendly goat , cow , ducks ...
I advise this place for everybody !!
Sorry for my delay Andre and Martie ...
I hope you're well !!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BSillam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We booked our stay at this fantastic holiday park on advice from travalers we had meet further North while staying at another site.
When we arrived we were greeted by fantastic and freindly staff, "Martie and Andre" that went out of there way to help.
Gave us a list of must dose while we were in the area. One was the Bridge to Nowhere Tour into the isolated region of the river. Fantastic.
We found the holiday park to be very clean and tidy, very cost effective, and a lot of new buildings going up.
KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK GUYS, WE WILL BE BACK ONE DAY.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skb123Ruapehu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

We enjoyed camping at this park, booking a spot was easy, the reception by the SOuth African owner was warm and friendly. The park is clean and tidy and well looked after. The kitchen is well equiped with huge fridge/freezer, microwave, toaster, sinks, bench space and gas stoves. There is a lovely covered space outside with tables and a fire place. The tables are laid out with tiles of all sorts like snakes and ladders - isn't that neat!. The bathrooms were excellent - enough space to put down your stuff while in the shower and the showers were hot and fantastic. There is a baby changing table too.
My little girl played on the jumping pillow and lovely playground from sunrise to sunset. The pool is nicely heated. Everything is so well maintained and looked after and the aviary gives the park a special touch.
Situated next to the river with lots of camping space, well lit at night. Will see us again

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ldubafr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2009

My friend and I stay at several places during our journey.
We were amazed by the additional activities this place provided.
This was one of the only places which had a jumping pillow, a heated swimming pool, spa, kayaking, pedal cars and jet skis. For us this was much more than accommodation only. We had a good time, good showers and in the evening we watched Juventos against Bayern Munich soccer on the big screen TV. How was that for a treat? We also enjoyed the bird aviary and watching some of the birds mating early in the morning. I wish all places were so well geared to create a lovely and real holiday feeling. We were also able to use our computers with wireless internet connection to download all our photos and keep in touch with our family. Skype obviously help a lot too.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveller87001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2009

We stayed here a while ago now, but having just registered on Trip Advisor I'm catching up on my reviews. I have to say that although I usually expect a high standard from Top Ten holiday parks, this standard was not met. The cabin we stayed in was dirty and not at all comfortable. The kitchen was adequate, but not particularly great. The aviary had dead birds in it ... not a great sight for our wee child. It could be a bad combination of the choice of cabin and timing, but we won't be back.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Westie_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganuilover, Owner at Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2009

Dear NZSociologist, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our park. It is unfortunate that you did not discuss your concerns with us at the time because we can not investigate issues like cleanliness 10 months after your stay. Cleanliness is one of the individual criteria that is rated by Qualmark annually to determine our overall star rating. Please also remember that all Top 10 Holiday Parks invite inspection of accommodation on arrival and offer a money back guarantee. We would alternatively perhaps have been in a position to offer better accommodation if we were aware of your unhappiness. From your review it sounds like you stayed in one of our lower priced cabin options, we now have brand new deluxe motel accommodation with outstanding features like double showers & vanities, airconditioning, 32 inch TV & DVD player and also very comfortable furniture.
We can understand that your child was upset about a dead bird and we do apologise; the aviary is checked when the birds are fed, but in this case we did perhaps not see the bird.
We hope that you enjoyed all our other facilities like the heated pool & jumping pillow, pedal cars, adventure playground, etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
2.3 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
2.7 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#15 of 26 in Whanganui
59 reviews
6.5 mi away
Whanganui Seaside Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Riverview Motel
Riverview Motel
#5 of 26 in Whanganui
143 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#2 of 26 in Whanganui
304 reviews
3.2 mi away
Burwood Manor Motel
Burwood Manor Motel
#21 of 26 in Whanganui
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park

Address: 460 Somme Parade, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Whanganui
Price Range: £45 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a holiday park in the lower north island of New Zealand, look no further. Rated 4*plus by Qualmark and situated on the banks of the Whanganaui River, this park has everything you need for a perfect holiday. Free Wifi for all guests. Accommodation options to suit every budget: Deluxe motels, serviced self-contained units, cabins & large tent and van sites, some right on the riverbank. Superb facilities include an outdoor heated pool with slide, jumping pillow, 2 adventure playgrounds, bouncy castle in the summer, petanque, volleyball, slack line, hammocks, covered or outdoor BBQ areas, Sky TV, and much more. You can hire trikes for the kids to ride around on, you can hire kayaks to explore the river for yourself, or you can relax in the private spa pool looking out over the river. With a friendly team always willing to help you get the most out of your stay in the Wanganui area, this is more than just a stop over, this is a destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing