We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best Top Tens” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Parksville, BC
Level Contributor
144 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“One of the Best Top Tens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed in a deluxe motel unit with two bedrooms, and found very good attention to detail - things like a mirror in the second bedroom. The unit was clean and the staff were very helpful. The facility is about 7 KM from the city centre so you need a car (unless you are into long distance biking or walking). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy_Two_Socks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    55
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
83
62
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed here in a camper van and had a pitch overlooking the river, lovely to watch people rowing on the river in the evening. The facilities were good and clean. It is quite a way from the town.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonMrsT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

The staff were excellent - friendly and provided useful information. We had a motel style cabin which was spacious and clean. We both slept really well. It is in a lovely location by the river. Unfortuneately shops/restaurants are not in walking distance. The DVD player was not hooked up to the sound and my husband had to spend some time moving cables about to get it to work - that was frustrating. The trampoline and play ground area was nice and the internet was cheap and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starshaped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Excellent service: the host gave us a map of the city and explained what to do and how to get to each location. Because we were traveling with children, he took the time to tell us about the parks and child-friendly places. That was very nice of him!

Facilities: The kitchen was large, the bathrooms were very clean, and the laundry machines worked well. The outdoor grills and tables looked like a great place to spend some time cooking and socializing with friend, but it was just too cold for us to use. They even rent kayaks for those wishing to explore the river.

Location: It truly is a fantastic location by the river. I only wished the supermarkets were closer. It was about a 10 minute drive to city central when we needed a few last minute items at dinner time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yara001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Had a lovely weekend staying at this lovely holiday park. Great facilities including a pool and the couple that own it were very friendly and helpful suggesting things to do and restaurants etc. This place was very very clean and well cared for. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jetsetter1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tours, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

I spent Three months in the Holiday Park !!!
Amazing place , the best for relaxing , enjoy the wild .
Landscapes are amazing , with very friendly goat , cow , ducks ...
I advise this place for everybody !!
Sorry for my delay Andre and Martie ...
I hope you're well !!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BSillam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

We booked our stay at this fantastic holiday park on advice from travalers we had meet further North while staying at another site.
When we arrived we were greeted by fantastic and freindly staff, "Martie and Andre" that went out of there way to help.
Gave us a list of must dose while we were in the area. One was the Bridge to Nowhere Tour into the isolated region of the river. Fantastic.
We found the holiday park to be very clean and tidy, very cost effective, and a lot of new buildings going up.
KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK GUYS, WE WILL BE BACK ONE DAY.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skb123Ruapehu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
2.3 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
3.3 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 27 in Whanganui
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
2.7 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#19 of 27 in Whanganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Whanganui Seaside Holiday Park
3.1 mi away
42b College House
42b College House
#2 of 10 in Whanganui
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tamara Riverside Lodge
Tamara Riverside Lodge
#5 of 10 in Whanganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park

Property: Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park
Address: 460 Somme Parade, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a holiday park in the lower north island of New Zealand, look no further. Rated 4*plus by Qualmark and situated on the banks of the Whanganaui River, this park has everything you need for a perfect holiday. Free Wifi for all guests. Accommodation options to suit every budget: Deluxe motels, serviced self-contained units, cabins & large tent and van sites, some right on the riverbank. Superb facilities include an outdoor heated pool with slide, jumping pillow, 2 adventure playgrounds, bouncy castle in the summer, petanque, volleyball, slack line, hammocks, covered or outdoor BBQ areas, Sky TV, and much more. You can hire trikes for the kids to ride around on, you can hire kayaks to explore the river for yourself, or you can relax in the private spa pool looking out over the river. With a friendly team always willing to help you get the most out of your stay in the Wanganui area, this is more than just a stop over, this is a destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing