We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's like coming home...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This was our third visit and we will be coming again. This time we stayed in a deluxe motel. We think this is better value than a city motel...you have tons of space both inside and out and we love watching the river boats steam past. The decor in this motel unit is a little dated which is disappointing given it's brand new - we know they have been practical with the build but it lacked the modern clean look of today - it was very orange/brown. That aside - the furnishings are modern and comfortable and spacious. The bathroom is incredible. We didn't use the shared facilities this time but can see they are continuing to be well maintained and there is always work happening in the park.

Room Tip: Deluxe motels for tons of space; basic motels for motel facilities on a smaller budget; we haven&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

Lovely park in a gorgeous setting by the river with really good clean facilities. We thought $50 a night for a powered site for two people was expensive especially when we only used the showers and toilets.

Room Tip: A site by the river is great but costs an extra $5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kikiflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed in a deluxe motel unit with two bedrooms, and found very good attention to detail - things like a mirror in the second bedroom. The unit was clean and the staff were very helpful. The facility is about 7 KM from the city centre so you need a car (unless you are into long distance biking or walking). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmy_Two_Socks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed here in a camper van and had a pitch overlooking the river, lovely to watch people rowing on the river in the evening. The facilities were good and clean. It is quite a way from the town.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevonMrsT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The staff were excellent - friendly and provided useful information. We had a motel style cabin which was spacious and clean. We both slept really well. It is in a lovely location by the river. Unfortuneately shops/restaurants are not in walking distance. The DVD player was not hooked up to the sound and my husband had to spend some time moving cables about to get it to work - that was frustrating. The trampoline and play ground area was nice and the internet was cheap and efficient.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Starshaped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Excellent service: the host gave us a map of the city and explained what to do and how to get to each location. Because we were traveling with children, he took the time to tell us about the parks and child-friendly places. That was very nice of him!

Facilities: The kitchen was large, the bathrooms were very clean, and the laundry machines worked well. The outdoor grills and tables looked like a great place to spend some time cooking and socializing with friend, but it was just too cold for us to use. They even rent kayaks for those wishing to explore the river.

Location: It truly is a fantastic location by the river. I only wished the supermarkets were closer. It was about a 10 minute drive to city central when we needed a few last minute items at dinner time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yara001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Had a lovely weekend staying at this lovely holiday park. Great facilities including a pool and the couple that own it were very friendly and helpful suggesting things to do and restaurants etc. This place was very very clean and well cared for. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jetsetter1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
3.4 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
258 reviews
6.5 mi away
Whanganui Seaside Holiday Park
4.1 mi away
Fiesta Court Motel
Fiesta Court Motel
#3 of 26 in Whanganui
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Burwood Manor Motel
Burwood Manor Motel
#20 of 26 in Whanganui
13 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#2 of 26 in Whanganui
308 reviews
2.9 mi away
Riverview Motel
Riverview Motel
#4 of 26 in Whanganui
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park

Address: 460 Somme Parade, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Whanganui
Price Range: £43 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a holiday park in the lower north island of New Zealand, look no further. Rated 4*plus by Qualmark and situated on the banks of the Whanganaui River, this park has everything you need for a perfect holiday. Free Wifi for all guests. Accommodation options to suit every budget: Deluxe motels, serviced self-contained units, cabins & large tent and van sites, some right on the riverbank. Superb facilities include an outdoor heated pool with slide, jumping pillow, 2 adventure playgrounds, bouncy castle in the summer, petanque, volleyball, slack line, hammocks, covered or outdoor BBQ areas, Sky TV, and much more. You can hire trikes for the kids to ride around on, you can hire kayaks to explore the river for yourself, or you can relax in the private spa pool looking out over the river. With a friendly team always willing to help you get the most out of your stay in the Wanganui area, this is more than just a stop over, this is a destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing