We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice riverside campsite, facilities slightly dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Nice riverside campsite, facilities slightly dated”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed here for one night during our tour of NZ. The owners are South African and very friendly. The campsite has a lovely riverside location and in nice weather would be ideal. However, it was dreadful weather while we were there. As a result we used there games room, which had table tennis and pool, so it enabled us to while away some time. The showers are quite a bit dated and could really do with a refurb.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelNutBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganuilover, Owner at Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear TravelNut, thank you for your review of our park, it is unfortunate that the weather was bad during your stay because we've just had our best summer in many, many years! :-) We take note of your comment regarding our facilities, maybe you stayed when the showers additional to our main facilities block were in use because we were very busy. Our main facilities were completely renovated in 2004, with tiled floors, new partitioning, toilets, etc, etc. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    57
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
88
64
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2013

This was our first experience of staying in a Top 10 Holiday Park. It was a Grab One deal for 2 nights plus kayaking on the Whanganui River. We loved it! The staff were helpful and friendly. The manager had a rather dry sense of humour which took a bit of getting used to, but he was a good guy and ran a very good camp. He took time to tell us about the attractions in Wanganui and was happy to drive us up river with the kayaks. The cabin was clean and the location beside the river so tranquil. We usually stay in motels or hotels, so this was a new experience for us, but we would definitely go back again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for the family units that open out onto a deck beside the river. I looked at the bigger cabins bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganuilover, Owner at Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Joy M, thank you for your review of our park, we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay at our TOP 10 Holiday Park and that you found the GrabOne deal good value for money! We hope that you will stay at TOP 10 holiday parks again in future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australind, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Talk about the worst service. Everything about the place was dated and old. The only nice thing about it was the river passing by, and that wasn't their doing. And wanganui was a beautiful city, loads of parks for the kids, and a beautiful main street. Just DONT stay at this park, find another

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganuilover, Owner at Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear Hilda L, our TOP 10 holiday park’s 4star plus rating is awarded by Qualmark, NZ’s official rating agency – their qualified assessors inspect our facilities and service independently and in depth - it will be impossible for any business to achieve such a high rating if “Everything about the place was dated and old” as per your complaint. We have operated our business for more than 10 years and have done a major renovation/upgrade project every year. It is very awarding to get compliments from many happy guests every morning, but unfortunately nobody see or hear those in a public domain like tripadvisor. Most guests notice our efforts to provide beautiful grounds, mowed lawns, picnic tables and benches and a lovely big deck to enjoy the river, also the trees and bushes that are pruned to not spoil the amazing view. Wanganui is indeed a very attractive little city thanks to Whanganui District Council and many other businesses - we’re happy to give all of them the credit that they deserve since it is nothing of our doing!!

We notice that your comment is extremely similar to Langie92, maybe you are his partner/family member having a second go at our holiday park? We are sure that most readers will notice the very vague nature of this complaint and the general excellent trend of comments by other guests. Over the years we have learned to listen patiently to all guests and not to get upset or rude about unfair slanderous comments, nobody but ourselves know what tremendous effort we put into our business and trying to be everything for everybody can also be a recipe for disaster. Negative comments motivate us to work even harder and have more happy guests! Maybe you’ll be successful in convincing other people not to stay at our TOP 10 holiday park, but our challenge to them is to “come see for yourself and allow us to surprise you”!!

We notice that this is the only comment that you placed on tripadvisor, maybe spending some time to compliment the places that you appreciated and enjoyed will help you feel better.

We sincerely hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in NZ and that you can place whatever upset you so much about our holiday park behind you and treasure the good memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bisley
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Lovely to have a bit of luxury away from the campervan for a night. Very spacious accommodation, clean, modern and comfortable.
Only one small problem was getting the BBQ's to work - maybe it was us not being used to this type of unit.
Lovely location out of town.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganuilover, Owner at Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear Angela,
thank you for your review of our TOP 10 Holiday Park, it is always nice to hear from happy guests!! have a lovely day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We had a campervan site right by the riverside. It. Was peaceful, relaxing, spotlessly clean.

It was great being able to walk into town. This is a nice town to walk round. Old fashioned market selling homegrown/made wares. There is a lovely walk up the hill to Victoria Lake. From the site right round is about 20kms but easy walking

It was a little chilly in the morning but then beautiful warm sunshine.


Beautifully maintained site in great location

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brierfielders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganuilover, Owner at Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
We are really glad that you enjoyed your riverside site, Wanganui's excellent weather and the nice walk around town! Thenk you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed in a beautyful 2 bedroom cabin. Cooking equipment etc was fantastic. The kids loved the pool, jumping pillow, pet animals and ducks on site. The only problem was that the wifi signal was not very strong where we were, so skype was hard to use in the cabin. This could probably have been solved if we had taken our device closer to the transmitter. We would definately stay there again and reccommend to others.

Room Tip: Get the deluxe cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greta808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganuilover, Owner at Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our holiday park, we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2013

It is a beautiful location, we had a site directly at the river. It was a little bit cold in the morning but nice view.
We heard nothing from the traffic although the street was close to the campground.
The facilities were clean . All in all a good place to stay.
We would stay again.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Wolfgang B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganuilover, Owner at Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of our peaceful and quiet park, we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
2.3 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
2.7 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#15 of 26 in Whanganui
57 reviews
6.5 mi away
Whanganui Seaside Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
42b College House
42b College House
#2 of 12 in Whanganui
89 reviews
2.8 mi away
Braemar House
Braemar House
#2 of 10 in Whanganui
46 reviews
2.9 mi away
Riverview Motel
Riverview Motel
#4 of 26 in Whanganui
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park

Property: Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park
Address: 460 Somme Parade, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a holiday park in the lower north island of New Zealand, look no further. Rated 4*plus by Qualmark and situated on the banks of the Whanganaui River, this park has everything you need for a perfect holiday. Free Wifi for all guests. Accommodation options to suit every budget: Deluxe motels, serviced self-contained units, cabins & large tent and van sites, some right on the riverbank. Superb facilities include an outdoor heated pool with slide, jumping pillow, 2 adventure playgrounds, bouncy castle in the summer, petanque, volleyball, slack line, hammocks, covered or outdoor BBQ areas, Sky TV, and much more. You can hire trikes for the kids to ride around on, you can hire kayaks to explore the river for yourself, or you can relax in the private spa pool looking out over the river. With a friendly team always willing to help you get the most out of your stay in the Wanganui area, this is more than just a stop over, this is a destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing