We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent camp on river side”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Excellent camp on river side”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

A nice tidy Holiday Park on the banks of the Wanganui River, several km from town. Check in staff not familiar with local area and could not answer some local questions
We travelled with a Car & Caravan

Room Tip: River side sites are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IansTrippings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whanganui R, Owner at Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi, thanks for your review. Your feedback is valuable to us. I'm sorry to hear that our staff were unable to answer some of your questions. We try and train our staff as best as possible so they are able to help our customers - we will certainly endeavour to do better in future.
We hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    57
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
88
64
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Having enjoyed some time in Whanganui we made our way to the campsite which was easy to find.

The kitchen facilities are one of the best around, and if you were travelling with children it looked as of there was plenty for them to do.

Good wide pitches, easy parking, friendly reception on arrival.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SuetheDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whanganui R, Owner at Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thanks for the review. We are glad you enjoyed our park. If you are ever back in New Zealand we hope to see you again for another visit.
Jeannie & Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Island
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Have just been from a 2nights stay with 3 adults and 2 kids in one of their deluxe 2br motels. The motel was very spacious, with all the amenities included. The kids had a great time with their scooters around the park, playing on the trampolines and jumping pillow. Had a look at communal facilities and they were complete and big as well, plenty of tables to dine in if you're camping. My husband and I had a great time playing in their games room pingpong table. The owners are very pleasant and welcoming people. You can feel it as soon as you step in at reception, and that is one crucial factor that we consider if we are to come back in a place. Overall, highly recommended. We'll try the other rooms next time, and on a longer stay.

Room Tip: Would recommend the 2 bedroom deluxe motels if you want more space. The self contained units also l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greengemstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whanganui R, Owner at Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi,
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay here so much. It is always nice to have a happy family visit the park and it's great to see everyone enjoying themselves on all our family facilities. Really looking forward to welcoming you all back on your next visit.
Thanks,
Ben & Jeannie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

What a great Spot, one of the best places to have a Holiday Park. Enjoyed our stay at Whanganui Top 10 Holiday Park. Kids enjoyed the pool Jumping pillow & the Kart rides.

Will be back again sometime this year. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akakroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whanganui R, Owner at Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi, So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. It's great to see the kids enjoying themselves here on all our facilities. We pride ourselves on being a fun place for families to stay. When the kids are happy the family is happy. Just remember that all our fun stuff can be used by adults too. We are looking forward to having you back here for another great holiday some time soon.
Thanks,
Ben & Jeannie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is one of the best holiday parks we ever stayed. We stayed in the Park, on the ester holidays. What actually made us very happy is the way how the owners treated us (Anne and Ben). They were very helpful and cooperative. Ben even open the swimming pool just for me around 9.30 pm (He was actually cleaned and closed the pool when I approached him). The cabin we stayed was clean and tidy and in perfect condition. The location and the site is very beautiful and highly recommend.
Regards
Krishna Kundil

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kkrishna6011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whanganui R, Owner at Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi, Thanks so much for your review. It's wonderful to hear that you had such a good time and it was great to have you and your family here with us at Easter. We aim to please and we are happy when our guests are happy. Our 2 student interns (Anne & Anna) are very helpful and friendly and enjoy making our guests' stay as relaxing as possible. It would have been a shame for you not to have enjoyed the heated pool, so Ben was more than happy to open it for you.
We hope to see you again some time for another fun holiday.
Thanks,
Ben & Jeannie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed here a couple of nights ago having booked in last minute to break up the drive from Auckland to Wellington. What a beautiful site. Right by the river, quiet and private. We stayed in a powered campsite in our campervan. The goat tethered up by the river was the highlight and made our holiday when he butted my husband over because he stopped scratching his neck! Our daughter and son-in-law took advantage of the kayaking. Ben (?) the host was lovely and dropped them 5kms downstream so they could paddle back up to the site for $35 each. Definitely worth it. Worth a stop in, would stay longer next time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jpen2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whanganui R, Owner at Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi. Thanks for the review, as new owners it means an awful lot to us to know that people are enjoying our park. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the beauty of the site by the river.
'Roger' our goat is a friendly little chap, he was obviously enjoying your husband's company so much he didn't want him to go. He does like a good scratch.
Good to hear that your daughter and son-in-law enjoyed the kayaking. Perhaps next time they could try the 8km drop up the river and test those muscles even more.
We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the area.
Thanks,
Ben & Jeannie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emerald Beach, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

At this Top 10, there was space to breathe in the large tent camping area and we appreciated that very much. We also appreciated the very clean and functional facilities, including an excellent kitchen and an adjoining, large indoor room with tables and couches where one could read or otherwise get out of the weather. There was also outdoor seating on the veranda. The location by the river is OK, but the highway just across the river was a constant source of vehicle noise; although earplugs fixed that, I was sorry to have to use them. The new owners were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrahminyKite48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whanganui R, Owner at Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi, Thanks for the positive review of our park. As new owners it means an awful lot to us to know people are enjoying their stay with us.
We pride ourselves on the standard of our communal facilities so we are so glad you appreciated them. I hope you managed to take advantage of our book swap facility in the lounge area. Sorry to hear that the road noise from the other side of the river was a bit loud for you at times (with so much to see and do in Wanganui there are occasions when there are a lot of visitors coming and going), but I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed the spacious camping area and hope that the relaxing atmosphere of the park setting more than made up for the earplugs.
We hope to see you again sometime if you are back this way.
Thanks,
Ben & Jeannie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
2.3 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
2.7 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#16 of 26 in Whanganui
57 reviews
6.5 mi away
Whanganui Seaside Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
42b College House
42b College House
#2 of 12 in Whanganui
88 reviews
2.8 mi away
Braemar House
Braemar House
#2 of 10 in Whanganui
46 reviews
2.9 mi away
Riverview Motel
Riverview Motel
#4 of 26 in Whanganui
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park

Property: Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park
Address: 460 Somme Parade, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a holiday park in the lower north island of New Zealand, look no further. Rated 4*plus by Qualmark and situated on the banks of the Whanganaui River, this park has everything you need for a perfect holiday. Free Wifi for all guests. Accommodation options to suit every budget: Deluxe motels, serviced self-contained units, cabins & large tent and van sites, some right on the riverbank. Superb facilities include an outdoor heated pool with slide, jumping pillow, 2 adventure playgrounds, bouncy castle in the summer, petanque, volleyball, slack line, hammocks, covered or outdoor BBQ areas, Sky TV, and much more. You can hire trikes for the kids to ride around on, you can hire kayaks to explore the river for yourself, or you can relax in the private spa pool looking out over the river. With a friendly team always willing to help you get the most out of your stay in the Wanganui area, this is more than just a stop over, this is a destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing