We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a shocking experience”
Review of Katteaz Family Restaurant - CLOSED

Katteaz Family Restaurant
Restaurant details
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“What a shocking experience”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I took my family out for dinner here as my daughter said it was a new family resturant and we should try it .firstly greeted after standing for 10 minutes at 6.00pm with only two other people sitting at table then was asked if we had booked because they had a large number of people coming in to sit in one room ."No" we said,then she said oh ! I will see if we have a table .Yes ,we were given one and guess what ?the large group never arrived while we were there and the restaurant wasn't full at any stage. The waitress was running around like someone out of Faulty Towers telling everyone I am sorry we are busy so food will be a while .She had no patience with our grand children or others in the place and this was advertised as a family restaurant .The food was terrible .Old type hash house menu served with bought stir fry veges. Would never return as forget the service the food was uneatable for us in this day and age and the Cook obviously lacks cooking skills.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank susiepnewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    0
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and polite service!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Great to be greeted with a smile and polite staff. Just called in for dessert and a coffee and it was awesome! Can't wait to come back for dinner some time.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Pork Belly”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Seven of us dined here last night and we all said we would be back and recommend this new restaurant. Staff were very attentive and pleasant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamela939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whanganui
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best chicken fettuccine ever”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Just had a great meal at Katteaz. The place was packed so luckily we booked. Every table seemed to be enjoying their meal as much as we were.Staff were friendly and accommodating. Will definitely go back again. Highly recommend

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manawatu-Wanganui Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Back to hotel for desert”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

The waitress was rude to not just my own child but others at another table, slow service the restaurant wasnt half full & the waitress told another group they would b waiting an hour for food because she was waiting for a table of 14 to arrive. No colouring in pencils or paper for the kids and this is a family restaurant?? The food was medocre meat ok veges overdone and tasted like prepacked stirfry. Service and food so poor we went back to the quality inn for desert.

Helpful?
1 Thank bridget7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Katteaz Family Restaurant also viewed

Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing