We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate breakfast”

Kingsgate Restaurant
Ranked #66 of 90 Restaurants in Whanganui
Restaurant details
Durham
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Adequate breakfast”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Went here for breakfast while staying at the motor lodge across the road. Comfortable self service breakfast. Just what we needed in order to facilitate an early start.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Northerntraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    4
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dunsborough, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Superlative”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Very surprised '& very impressed. Quality of ingredients outstanding, put together simply & excellently. Had scallops & prawns for starters & lamb rack. Both wonderful. Good selection of wines & excellent service

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CEK284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Hutt
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hotel Restaurant”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Not a restaurant to drag you in - however good menu and regular specials eg Lamb Shanks at $12 were excellent according to those of my friends that had them. I went for a steak eggs and chips at $29 - what can you say about eggs & chips ? but the rare to medium steak was perfectly cooked.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Meals took quite a while to come, especially considering the restaurant was nowhere near capacity, but they were beautifully presented and delicious. I had the fillet of beef, it was cooked perfectly, generous amount of béarnaise sauce, the fries were crispy and the salad (although basic) was fresh. Also, the portions were huge! A special mention must go to the team out front of house, fantastic service, staff were well informed, friendly and attentive without being intrusive. Would dine here again for sure.

Helpful?
1 Thank sixsilverstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland and New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“My heart sank when I saw a squiggle of ubiquitous brown sauce”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The food at the Kingsgate restaurant is very well cooked. In fact, beautifully cooked with great care. So why this ubiquitous brown sauce poured from a bottle which is found all over the world? It had nothing to do with the chicken on my plate nor with the lamb on my partner's. The plaques on the wall show how well thought of the food is here - and rightly so, but have the catering schools and food inspectors no experience of making an individual sauce from the pan juices either?
I started with delicious and well cooked tiger prawns and scallops in a gingery cream sauce. Just about top marks for that but I could have done with a little bread or salad just to cut through the extreme richness and I really didn't need that squiggle of 'brown sauce' across the plate.
The main course chicken was again wonderfully cooked and tasty. It was already rich, wrapped in parma ham with camembert stuffing but that brown, salty, sticky sauce on both our plates made it a bit too rich.

The restaurant is attractive with tables well separated but there was a conflict with the attached cafe from which there was a lot of echoing noise of people talking. Their pop music conflicted with the musak being played in the restaurant. Poor Ella Fitzgerald or who ever it was singing to us.
The staff were very good. We arrived late (we did let them know) and later, on request stopped spraying strong smelling cleaning fluids to clean the glass-topped tables around us. Along with unidentifiable brown sauces these spray cleaners are another bete noir of mine. The strong smell (in this case lemon) from some cleaning fluids destroys the sense of smell - which is so closely tuned to the sense of taste. So why use them when people are eating? - it destroys the flavour of the food the chef has so carefully prepared.

So, to summarise, the service was good, the food was good and I would recommend others to his restaurant with no hesitation but by trying to accommodate many different types of business the management seem to have a few things just a bit wrong.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alhcookboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kingsgate Restaurant also viewed

Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Kingsgate Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing