We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but clean” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Braemar House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Braemar House
Ranked #3 of 9 Whanganui B&B and Inns
Dunstable
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Basic but clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

YHA room pretty basic, however as this was only an overnight stop, the hotel met our expectations. Shower was very good (although shared). Owner was friendly. I thought it a bit expensive for what you got.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank am231058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    14
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
25
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kawasaki, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

I used YHA of dormitory room just 1night. But, it's really clean there. Kitchen, bathroom, room are cleanliness. This time travel to NZ is third time for me, but almost backpacker's kitchen was so dirty. I recommed to stay here, who likes clean and comfy.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We booked this hostel which is also a B&B/guesthouse through the YHA website and it said reception was open until 10pm. We arrived at this hostel at 9:10pm and there were very few lights. We wandered around a little while before calling the number on our booking at 9:18pm after knocking a few times. The owner answered and was a little short on the phone before eventually answering the door. He asked where we were coming from and we answered Rotorua thinking he was being friendly. Even though it was none of his business, we did answer him and said we came from Rotorua having arrived in Auckland the day before. However, he then said "Rotorua is only 4 hours away, what took you so long?". Then he proceeded to give out to us about arriving "close to midnight" and "waking all the guests". I tried to explain that it said that reception was open until 10pm on our YHA booking mail but he said the YHA was wrong. He should have understood that we only had the YHA booking mail to refer to but he didn't want to hear it and refused to read the mail I had. He then said this was "unacceptable behaviour" and that he never had "this trouble with Irish guests before". He complained that we "woke all the guests" even though we met a couple in the communal area and then more came in later. I was getting a little annoyed at this stage and said that I did not appreciate this "welcome" which set him off again. This was a few days ago and I am still very angry at this treatment from the owner. Even if we were a little late (which we were not according to our booking), this was no way to greet paying guests.

The cabin we staying in was clean but a little cold. No complaints about the bathroom, kitchen or communal area but the "welcome" we received really soured the whole experience and for that reason, I would definitely NOT recommend YHA Braemar House.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seerob, Owner at Braemar House, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
These people arrived late (just before 10pm) on a weeknight and they said they came from Rotorua which is only 3-1/2 hours away and when they arrived I asked them to be very quiet because people were asleep and we had a large tour party in, who had all retired at 9.30pm because they wanted to get away early for the mountain. The two started to get loud and noisy and waived a piece of paper around saying they could arrive at 10 pm as that what was said on their printout. I pointed out this was an error because the YHA website was and is still being updated/redesigned and there were errors being rectified about arrival times. Additionally our reception hours were clearly displayed at front door reception. Apart from Auckland and Wgton all hostels reception are closed well before 10pm.These people were rugby supporters and became very aggressive when challenged for their lateness and these two know that.
We run an efficient, friendly, clean and popular establishment with a lot of return business and we have had no problem with any other guests arriving late like that before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Stayed at the hostel facilities behind the B&B. Our room was really sweet, and because it was off peak season, we were the only ones there for most of the time. If it ever gets busy though, I'm sure the whole one-bathroom thing could be quite annoying.

The kitchen and lounge facilities were really homey, and the staff at the B&B were very helpful and friendly. Really nice place!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

A beautiful building both inside and out, the detail to the furnishing was a delight to see, comfy beds, great showers, incredibly clean, amazing breakfast and a wonderful homely feel that so many places miss.
The gardens of the house were filled with lovely features and were a perfect place to relax after a day exploring the surrounds.
Everyone at the hostel made us feel at home and very welcome, great value for money.
We will definitely be returning next year, highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieTravel206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totland Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

We had a small room with a shared balcony on the ground floor. Noise is therefore dependent on the consideration of the neighbours.
No en-suite rooms so bathroom availability is about good timing and speed of reactions.
The pre 1800 house has backpacker accommodation at the rear and whilst seperate from the house some noise crossover does occur.
A basic cooked breakfast was offered.
Bottom of our recommendation list on the 19 other B&B we used in NZ.
Would not stop in Wanganui again would push onto New Plymouth or Wellington.
Recommended with qualifications.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterRainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

Travelled to Wanganui for a break after a hectic business trip to Wellington and thoroughly enjoyed the charm of Braemar House Bed and Breakfast. Our host Clive should be justifiably proud - cleanliness, decor, gardens, country breakfast, tea and coffee on tap, linen , towels etc all first class and felt very comfy and homely. We enjoyed our chats on life, politics, business, history and more.
Despite advice from fellow travellers suggesting to us there were better places than Wanganui to spend a weekend, we loved the relaxed feel of the town and would recommend a Wanganui NZ West Coast stay at Breamar House to anyone

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peachie000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.7 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.2 mi away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#19 of 27 in Whanganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.6 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 27 in Whanganui
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tamara Riverside Lodge
Tamara Riverside Lodge
#5 of 10 in Whanganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#2 of 27 in Whanganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.3 mi away
42b College House
42b College House
#2 of 10 in Whanganui
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braemar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braemar House

Property: Braemar House
Address: 2 Plymouth Street, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Whanganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Braemar House 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic, restored homestead nestled alongside the Whanganui River, comprising a tasty B&B in the front of the homestead, whilst a comfortable YHA occupies the rear of the property. Bicycles are available for hire should you want to explore our beautiful surrounds and KiwiGoa to take you to/from the bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Braemar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing