We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taking it easy”
Review of Brantome Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangarei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brantome Villa
Ranked #10 of 29 Whangarei B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Unfortunately we only had 1 night as it was a lovely setting, the rooms were excellent (loved the bed!) - they were so comfortable, clean and spacious. Both Valerie and Roger were great hosts, they certainly made you feel very welome. Food and wine excellent - thanks V & R. I would have no hesitation in recommending Brantome Villa - if it wasn't the vegetation, you would think you are in France!

Room Tip: They are all good. All rooms are separate from lounge area and all have fabulous bathrooms with ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrisbaniteKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brantomevilla, Owner at Brantome Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2012

Dear BrisbaniteKiwis,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely comments on TripAdvisor, we do appreciate it so much. Yes, what a shame it was only 1 night, check-out our specials maybe next time stay longer...
We are sure you would enjoy staying in any-one of the three suite's; all having their own bedroom, lounge & own entrance, the Lakeview Suite's are ideal for two couples as they have an interlocking internal door, then they can all use the one front door, otherwise the Lakeview Garden Suite & the Lakeview Suite do have their own separate entrance.
We look forward to seeing you again one day, Warmest regards Valerie & Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed at Brantome for two wonderful nights. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and fully equipped (including excellent bathroom facilities). The setting is beautiful, and it's very peaceful to sit on the deck looking down to the lake with a glass of wine. To top it all off, Roger and Valerie were excellent hosts, and catered for all of our needs. We will return!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brantomevilla, Owner at Brantome Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Dear S H,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor, my apologies for my delay in responding. It was very kind of you to take the time to write such a lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Brantome Villa.
Sitting on the deck with a glass of wine watching the sun go down is certainly the best place to be in the evening!
We look forward to seeing you again oneday, (do check out our specials page on our website before you book) have a wonderful Christmas and New Year.
Warm regards
Valerie & Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Business or pleasure, what a beautiful place to stay. Outstanding company, extraordinarily first class absolutely impeccable service. Attention to detail in every aspect of this beyond first class B&B. I'll certainly stay their again given any opertunity. Miss this place and you have just missed an absolute jewel in the Northland area of the North Island of New Zealand.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desmosedici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brantomevilla, Owner at Brantome Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Dear Desmosedici,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a response on TripAdvisor, and thank you for your very kind words, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Brantome Villa.

Roger & I hope that we will see you again oneday.

Warmest regards

Valerie & Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stayed at Brantome Villa in March for 5 nights as part of my work trip.Overall I thoroughly enjoyed it my stay. The hosts were lovely, rooms were clean and food was beautiful. The location was great, it felt secluded and relaxing and I was only 10 minutes away from the city centre. The only negative was the walls do seem paper thin, one night there was guests in the room next to me and i could hear everything. Next time I visit Brantome Villa I hope its for leisure not work so I can explore what other things Whangarei has to offer. Thanks Valarie and Rodger for such an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brantomevilla, Owner at Brantome Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Dear Lisa J,

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on tripadvisor, We are sorry to hear you were disturbed by noise, we have turned both King rooms into a luxury suite, to avoid this in future. Roger & I are very glad to hear that your overall stay at Brantome Villa was positive and you felt like you were on holiday instead of work. We look forward to seeing you again whether you are on buisness or pleasure.

Warmest regards

Valerie & Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Our "5 star luxury Super King room" bore little resemblance to our expectations based on the Brantome Villa web site. It seemed more like a regular hotel/motel room. On the positive side: everything was sparkling clean, the room rate included bountiful, delicious breakfasts served elegantly in the communal dining area adjacent to the kitchen. Wine, beer and cocktails were included, when requested. There was strong and unlimited wi-fi internet access and a modern bath with fluffy towels and soft bathrobes. We booked the Weekend Getaway package which added a bottle of champagne and a generous deli platter to the 2 nights booked in the Super King Room. The platter was served by the dining room window overlooking the lake and was more than adequate for our dinner! All meals were elegantly presented on lovely china with tailored linens. On the downside: There were no public lounge areas aside from the outdoor deck and grounds around the lake...which during stormy weather (as we experienced) could not be enjoyed. That left us one hard desk chair to sit on in our room (the dining room/kitchen area is locked when not in use with the owners present). I ended up bringing in a plastic garden chair so we both had someplace to sit aside from the bed. The room decor was not as pictured...no headboard, luxury throw or designer pillows and there is different wall art. The view from our room was of the the parking area and walkway beside a bit of greenery. The walls were without soundproofing so we were aware when the newlyweds arrived after their late night reception. The "cream tea" mentioned in another TA review is a separate endeavor. Certain afternoons are booked by large parties who occupy the main public areas. This is not part of the B&B guest services. We returned one afternoon to find the place filled with a noisy group including some rambunctious children. We booked the special dinner at $50 per person. We chose the fish entree and it did include cocktails and wine, however the dinner itself was plain baked mystery whitefish (the owner didn't know what kind when we inquired) with french fries (previously frozen?), a simple green salad and an apple crumble...far from a gourmet meal, although it was prettily served. At breakfast the eggs were cooked perfectly to order, but the morning muffins looked like the ones they sold at Countdown supermarkets. The hosts are extraordinarily friendly. We were never without conversation when eating a meal there...which defeated any "romantic, relaxing" intentions. We stayed at several lovely B&Bs, inns and cottages while vacationing on the North Island that met or exceeded our expectations and at almost half the price of our stay at Brantome.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hulalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brantomevilla, Owner at Brantome Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write, we appreciate guests who let us know when things aren’t quite as they expected; we then can have the opportunity to put thing right and clarify what we think has happened.

We are sorry to hear that your 2 night stay at Brantome Villa fell short of your expectations. We understand it may have been inconvenient for you not to have a lounge to sit in if weather was inclement, to this end we are undergoing a room change so that the room you stayed in for 2 nights will (from the end of May) have its own lounge. A suite was available at your time of booking; unfortunately, as requested we were unable to give you a free upgrade on arrival due to booking restraints.

In our defence, we were rated by Qualmark as 5 Star, we are not self-rated as are many other B&B’s; the Qualmark assessor even stayed in the room you were in. Having a Qualmark Rating means we are re-assessed yearly; we have to abide by and adhere to many rules and guidelines including a First Aid and Food Hygiene Certificate, have yearly checks done on electrical appliances’ display Fire Evacuation Procedures not to mention the correct insurance cover. We are also GST Registered which means 15% of whatever we charge goes back to the NZ government.
You will find many other B&B’s are neither Qualmark Rated nor GST registered.

Firstly, we must point out that you did not book a ‘Weekend Getaway Package’. On 19 Jan 12, you booked 2 night’s B&B accommodation in our King Room with super-king bed; via our ‘AA’ online booking system through our website.
Then on 21 Jan 12, you emailed to ask if we would email a dinner menu and would we also include the Bubbles & Platter as offered in our Weekend Getaway package! We graciously agreed to include them. However, we advised you that all packages should be booked direct with us; but on this occasion we would oblige.

You booked a 2 course dinner from our menu for your 2nd evening at $50 per person; your choice was fish, with fries and green salad and apple crumble, a bottle of NZ wine is included. (I think you will find most; if not all restaurants use frozen chips/fries and yes I shop locally at Countdown), the fish was teriyaki as I advised on being asked, what I didn’t know was what it looked like when it was alive - not being a fishermen! I also don’t claim to be a gourmet Chef/cook, I like to cook health home-cooked style food (some have called ‘comfort food’) with fresh locally sourced ingredients, your fish, local and yes baked with a Lemon-Pepper topping, French fries (yes frozen) oven cooked, which I find have less fat, mixed green salad with tomatoes, sliced peppers, cucumber and French dressing with homemade apple crumble for dessert.
As with the conversation during meals, we assume when you talk to us you require us to answer. If you had wanted a romantic dinner we think we should have been advised, we would have put the screen up & lit candles so we and the kitchen would not disturb you and we could not be seen.


The walls do have sound proofing between them, however, we are aware that honeymooners or anyone returning late may disturb some people, but possibly this would happen anywhere one would stay, unless you were sole occupants.

Depending on the season, the winter bedding does change when summer arrives; we don’t think people would want to sleep with a thick fury bed cover on in mid-summer. However, all bed-linen and covers are of the highest quality. With wall art etc. If one dose not change or update things; they become old, worn out and boring, so over the years we like to renew things, to keep them fresh and up to-date, the website is on the list for new photo’s once the new lounge is completed.

The property is surrounded by one and a half acres of park-like garden situated in a rural setting, there is always garden or countryside to look at from wherever you are in the accommodation along with under cover decks to sit on.
Luckily you were able to appreciate the fine sunny weather on your first afternoon/evening and able to enjoy complimentary afternoon tea on the deck without interruption. Unfortunately, we don’t have control of the weather; guests don’t usually spend much of their time in their rooms as there is so much to explore in Whangarei and Northland.

On your 2nd (last) afternoon we did have a previous booking for an afternoon tea from a family group who had attended a local funeral to bury their mother, there were 2 children, it was their mother; we could hardy say no, but rambunctious; they were not.
On occasions we do serve afternoon teas, by appointment and only between 11 am & 3pm, with usually only groups of 2–4 people so as not to interrupt our guest’s peace & quiet, unfortunately this one over-ran by 30 minutes but felt in the circumstance we could not ask them to hurry up and leave.

Value, you say that most other accommodation you stayed in during your North Island trip was at almost, half the price. However, it must be pointed out that over the 2 evenings you stayed here you enjoyed: - Two bottles of white wine a bottle of red, 2 bottles of beer along with 3 Gin & Tonics and one Scotch, all of which were doubles not to mention the Bubbles that came with the Platter and the bottle of wine that came with dinner, so taking into consideration the amount of alcohol you had ‘complementary’ I think this would be a tall order!

We are glad to hear that you found everything to be sparkling clean and you enjoyed the delicious breakfasts; everyone who stays is welcome to enjoy a cream tea, you only have to ask.
We trust you had a safe and uneventful journey back to America.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This was the first of our twenty bed and breakfast stays during our seven weeks in New Zealand and it really set the high standard of accommodation and support we had hoped for. Roger and Valerie were wonderful hosts and made us feel very welcome, comfortable and relaxed, from their introduction to their farewell. The rooms were spacious and extremely well-appointed and the view towards the lake was a joy.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrettonGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brantomevilla, Owner at Brantome Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Dear GrettonGal,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor, we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Brantome Villa. Roger & I hope you also enjoyed the rest of your holiday around New Zealand. Hoping one day you will be back to this green land.

Warmest regards

Valerie & Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We booked at Brantome at the last minute and had not idea what we were in for. Brantome Villa was definitely the most gorgeous and value for money B&B we stayed in during our NZ trip. The setting is so peaceful, and we felt like we had the place to ourselves even though there were 2 other couples staying there.
We were welcomed with a beautiful pot of tea and mince pies while we chatted to our hoss Valerie and Roger. They are such thoughtful and kind people, nothing is too much to ask them. We drove into town for diner both nights (about 10mins), and we thoroughly enjoyed our boutique breakfast cooked by Valerie. The table setting was perfect, with great attention to detail.
The bathroom was gorgeous (no bath in the queen room), our room was large and we could come and go out of the main house as we pleased.
I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone, you won't get luxury or service like this anywhere else in Whangarei.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beakom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brantomevilla, Owner at Brantome Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Dear bbow87,

We would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on tripadvisor, thank you so much, you kind words mean so much, Roger & I are so glad you had a lovely stay. We hope that one day we will see you in New Zealand again.

Warmest regards

Valerie & Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
6 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
150 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
297 reviews
5.7 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Motel Six
Motel Six
#16 of 34 in Whangarei
58 reviews
4.8 mi away
Burgundy Rose Motel
Burgundy Rose Motel
#6 of 34 in Whangarei
130 reviews
9.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brantome Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brantome Villa

Address: 454 Crane Road, Whangarei 0185NZ, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Price Range: £79 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Brantome Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two very comfortable Suites, each consisting of: a bedroom; with super-king beds, option in King Lakeview Suite to have another bedroom with Queen bed & shower room, this is ideal for 2 couples traveling or couples who like their own space. Both suites have their own private lounge. Complimentary Full Breakfast & Wi-Fi. The King Lakeview Suite overlooks the garden & lake. The King Garden Suite overlooks a peaceful garden. The property is set in an one & a half acres of park-like gardens, bordering a lake. There is seating around the garden for you to enjoy the peace & quiet, listen to the ducks & tui's amongst other birds, quietly watch rabbits & Pukekos going about their day Here at Brantome Villa we pride ourselves on giving you a 5 star service. If your looking for luxury accommodation in the Whangarei area this is it! Roger & I look forward to meeting you very soon. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing