We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amici - recommend you book for dinner”
Review of Amici

Amici
Ranked #35 of 130 Restaurants in Whangarei
Cuisines: Diner, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amici - recommend you book for dinner”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Thought we would try this restaurant out for dinner and I'm so glad we did. Delicious food, excellent service and a relaxed atmosphere. So glad we booked as we went on Friday night and the place was packed! We're keen to go back and try something else on the menu.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Awa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    48
    21
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
169 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Save room for desert”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

It was a Wednesday night and the place was full. This had caught the manager by surprise and she was quick to apologize for a lack of staff. The staff however worked extremely quickly the service was ok.
The food was very tasty with generous portions. The desert was well worth the effort to squeeze it in, after a filling main. It was beautiful.

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallow, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, ok food”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Went here with friends. The atmosphere was quite nice but thought the food was pretty average compared to other Italian restaurants I've eaten at. That said, the deserts were nice and the food reasonably priced. One of the staff accidentally wiped what our table ordered when we were paying (no big deal) and the hostess had a go at her in front of us which was unprofessional I thought. Probably wouldn't bother going here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JB999_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic as always”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My family has been coming here 7 years and we love the food, the ambience and the European feel. The hostess is abrupt but thats part of her charm. The pizza, the pasta and the wine is awesome

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
624 reviews
425 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Hearty Food and Friendly Service”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Had a solid Italian meal here with some friends and no one was disappointed. Very good house wine, pasta and my friend had a steak which he reckoned was very good. Also had live music on a Sat night.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank StuckinBangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amici also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Amici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing