We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a place!”
Review of Pilgrim Planet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pilgrim Planet
Ranked #22 of 30 Whangarei B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Very glad to find this place in Whangarei! We were passing through and only stayed for a night. This was more like a home-stay than a hotel.
Plus : Modern nice deco, friendly host, entertainment area had loads of movie dads, games etc,
Minus : A bit on the quiet side of town. About 5 minutes drive to the nearest restaurants

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DiyanahA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013

Excellent spot with quality facilities. What bliss to find top notch linen upon top notch beds, freely browsing the thoughtfully provided magazines, DVDS, and books, using the amazing kitchen, lounge, intenet and courtyard area whenever it suited knowing we would not disturb our hosts....Pilgrim Planet is highly recommended to all discerning travelers tired of bland, boring hotel rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RayoSunshine_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We spent our first two nights in New Zealand at the Pilgrim Planet. Seemed more like a home stay than a hotel. Mike was super helpful on picking places to visit in the area and for the rest of the country. Loved the antique stove and the hospitality.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rion999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

You have to stay here! Mike and Karen are amazing and super fun to be around. The Pilgrim Planet is so spacious and fun that i felt i was in my own house. Mike and Karen stay downstairs and the entire top floor has a huge kitchen, 2 big living areas, a patio and etc.. we slept in room 1 which Mike said might be noisy but we shut the windows and was not bothered by any noise from the traffic on the road Both Mike and Karen were so helpful if we had any questions or concerns.

One great thing i loved in particularly was the free internet. After traveling around for nearly 2.5 weeks it was so nice to just relax on a couch and space out on facebook or whatever <-- i have found this is a real luxury to traveling in New Zealand where internet is very limited.

We had plans to stay here for 2 nights and then head up north, but then decided to stay 4 nights because it was so close to everything and the thought of trying to find another place to stay wasnt worth the time because by far this was the best place on the entire North Island in my opinion. The Pilgrim Planet is just an hour drive from many fun day trips so no need to worry about packing and repacking to go to some where random when you could just stay here!

One last note, when you stay here you might get lucky and meet some interesting famous people like Karl Mills, some All Black rugby players, the Queens Librarian from the UK, and Jim or Katie from the United states Pilgrim Planet is a potential celebrity hot spot on the North Island.. They have tons of stories about room 1!!!

Room Tip: all the rooms are great and ask Karen to share the "tile story' with you for the bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We were really disappointed with this accomodation, perhaps I should have researched the location first but we didn't expect this motel to be on such a busy road. We paid a premium for what was described as the best room in the place but we should have realised that there might be an issue when the owner said that the traffic wasn't so bad when the windows were shut! be fair the room was spotless but it was one of the most expensive places we stayed in during our trip around NZ and due to 2 sleepless nights it really didn't give us value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank charlieharvey2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pilgrimplanet, Owner at Pilgrim Planet, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2012

I am sorry the reviewer feels they did not receive value for money. If he had spoken to me I would have gladly given them a discount or come to some other arrangement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

This is a great place to stay. There are 4 really lovely rooms, all en suite, which open out on to a very large open plan lounge, kitchen and dining room all for communal use. The lounge is the best equipped we've seen - it has every mod con - big TV, DVD and Sky; big comfy sofas, games, selection of movies to watch. A really up market establishment. It's modern with some stylish and quirky decorative features. Everything one needs for breakfast is in the kitchen which is completely fitted out for independence, with cooker, fridge/freezer, dishwasher. The hosts have tried to think of everything travellers need and pretty much succeeded. There are books to read, free wi-fi and a lovely patio on which to take tea. We loved it. If we were forced to find a minor criticism, light sleepers should probably not book the front bedroom, but even there the owners have provided ear plugs.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeannie2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2009

This place is a little gem. Stunningly decorated, the bedrooms are situated off the guest living room which has all the facilities, the guest kitchen is fully equipped and the decking area is just lovely.

A really relaxed feeling, help yourself to breakfast in the kitchen at your leisure.

10 min walk to the town. The bedrooms are immaculate as is the whole place.

A real gem

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bash69Midlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
1.2 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
162 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#7 of 34 in Whangarei
58 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
#4 of 34 in Whangarei
101 reviews
5 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
309 reviews
0 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilgrim Planet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilgrim Planet

Address: 63 Hatea Drive, Whangarei, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Hotel Class:3 star — Pilgrim Planet 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a B&B guesthouse in central Whangarei offering modern accommodation. Full kitchen available plus we are only a few minutes' walk to Whangarei shops, restaurants and the Town Basin. Easy access to the north for day activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pilgrim Planet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing