We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldie but a goodie”
Review of Stonehaven Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stonehaven Motel
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Oldie but a goodie”
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

Yes the decor is a little dated and could do with an update but then Again we didn't sit around wanting to stare at the decor either!
The service (Dawn) is with a smile and a very friendly attitude, free wifi, off street parking, we stayed in the 1 bedroom unit, 1 night upstairs and was very roomy and old style welcoming.
Everything is kept to a very, very clean standard and would recommend this place even for extended stay, has oven & stovetop to cook on site.
safe travels!

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank macka28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
thanks for for your comments, our guests are important to us and we are continuing to make improvements were necessary, regards from management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    32
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
19
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
156 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This motel would benefit from an update but it is clean and good value for money. One of the bowls was chipped but thats the only criticism I could make. The owner was very friendly and helpful directing us to local attractions . I would stay here again .

Room Tip: Our room was close to the road but there wasnt any great traffic noise .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkBonBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thank you for your review, your comments are appreciated and help us to make improvements that are benificial to our guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I was impressed with the shiny pots - even the bottoms and all the shiny silver tapware, etc in the bathroom. The whole unit could not have felt cleaner. Although the decor was not what I would have chosen it was obviously done with thought, e.g. the lumbar roll in a chair.
The TV was the only good flat screen we had come across on this holiday (staying at 5 different places) so it was really appreciated. We wished we had booked for 2 nights as there was more to see and do than we had allowed time for. Oh well, one we hope to return :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon1969_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

very nice service. We had trouble with our TV & it was attended to without any fuss. Nice flat screen TV & Good location close to town ect. Older motel as it seems most are in Whangarei. Clean & tidy.
In winter cold outside because facing west.
No central heating just a 2 bar heater which was adaquate.
The Sky channels consist of sport 1 sport 2 & 1 movie.I found this dissappointing & would know next time to ask how many channels are available before booking.
We were a 3. 1 double & 1 single bed. The unit was a bit cramped for 3.
Fine for a stop over but would not wish to spend more than a couple of nights.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bakerauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Great little stopping place. My room was a little dated but spotlessly clean and well appointed with comfy bed, full kitchen, flat screen tv, and free internet. Cheerful and helpful owner made me feel very welcome. Short walk to local shops & cafes.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Me and my girls had an awesome weekend here!!! We loved it more because the people who run the motel were very friendly an accommodating!! We will definately come back here again!! Thank you for your hospitality!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tashmitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Sorry for the late response, your kind remarks are a good motivator to continue to provide quality service to our guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Very friendly older motel with dated amenities and furnishing, but the welcome and personal service more than make up for it

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwin11967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
1.6 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#7 of 34 in Whangarei
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
3.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
#3 of 34 in Whangarei
157 reviews
0.7 mi away
Burgundy Rose Motel
Burgundy Rose Motel
#6 of 34 in Whangarei
129 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
#5 of 34 in Whangarei
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonehaven Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehaven Motel

Property: Stonehaven Motel
Address: 30 Mill Road | Regent, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonehaven Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet residential area away from the main roads. Close to supermarkets, restaurants and a short 15 minute walk to the CBD. We offer free wifi and SKY Guest Select TV 55+ channels. Beautiful bush walks of Mt Parihaka and the Hatea river are just around the corner. Clean, comfortable, well priced and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stonehaven Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing