We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and good value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stonehaven Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stonehaven Motel
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly and good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed there for two days in March on a holiday trip.

The facility is on average. It is a bid old but in general it is ok. The hotel comes with full set of kitchenette. But it looks like it has not been used so that you could always find bugs inside.

The host are very friendly and gave us suggestion to look around.

The motel is about the walking discuss to the New World super market. It is also just a few minutes drive to the largest town in the bay island area.

The motel offers free wifi.

As other people pointed out the car park is the biggest issue and it is hard to make U turns due to the limited space. If you came late you would have to park it outside.

Room Tip: When you use the kitchenette make sure you wash everything you would use carefully. there are some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks,we appreciate your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    29
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
19
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

As its been said by previous reviews, yes this is an older property. However, it's in really good condition.
Absolutely, fantastic, top notch customer service. The hosts could not have done more, and very accommodating.
The room I had was very clean and tidy (means a lot to me). Good amenities, and the towels were nice and big. Bed was comfortable and just the way I like them. Very good in room wifi too! Quick and easy to hook up to. Location is great and very close to major supermarket and close to centre of town.
Only thing I can make it up to 5 stars for is the car parking. While secure and well of the street, it's a bit cramped due to the size of the property.
Have stayed in much worse that charge much more! This place is a little gem

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thank you for your comments , our aim is to please and we value your custom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

Yes the decor is a little dated and could do with an update but then Again we didn't sit around wanting to stare at the decor either!
The service (Dawn) is with a smile and a very friendly attitude, free wifi, off street parking, we stayed in the 1 bedroom unit, 1 night upstairs and was very roomy and old style welcoming.
Everything is kept to a very, very clean standard and would recommend this place even for extended stay, has oven & stovetop to cook on site.
safe travels!

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank macka28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
thanks for for your comments, our guests are important to us and we are continuing to make improvements were necessary, regards from management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
154 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

This motel would benefit from an update but it is clean and good value for money. One of the bowls was chipped but thats the only criticism I could make. The owner was very friendly and helpful directing us to local attractions . I would stay here again .

Room Tip: Our room was close to the road but there wasnt any great traffic noise .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkBonBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon H, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thank you for your review, your comments are appreciated and help us to make improvements that are benificial to our guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

I was impressed with the shiny pots - even the bottoms and all the shiny silver tapware, etc in the bathroom. The whole unit could not have felt cleaner. Although the decor was not what I would have chosen it was obviously done with thought, e.g. the lumbar roll in a chair.
The TV was the only good flat screen we had come across on this holiday (staying at 5 different places) so it was really appreciated. We wished we had booked for 2 nights as there was more to see and do than we had allowed time for. Oh well, one we hope to return :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon1969_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

very nice service. We had trouble with our TV & it was attended to without any fuss. Nice flat screen TV & Good location close to town ect. Older motel as it seems most are in Whangarei. Clean & tidy.
In winter cold outside because facing west.
No central heating just a 2 bar heater which was adaquate.
The Sky channels consist of sport 1 sport 2 & 1 movie.I found this dissappointing & would know next time to ask how many channels are available before booking.
We were a 3. 1 double & 1 single bed. The unit was a bit cramped for 3.
Fine for a stop over but would not wish to spend more than a couple of nights.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bakerauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Great little stopping place. My room was a little dated but spotlessly clean and well appointed with comfy bed, full kitchen, flat screen tv, and free internet. Cheerful and helpful owner made me feel very welcome. Short walk to local shops & cafes.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
1.6 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#11 of 35 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
0.7 mi away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#24 of 35 in Whangarei
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
#3 of 35 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.7 mi away
Burgundy Rose Motel
Burgundy Rose Motel
#6 of 35 in Whangarei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonehaven Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehaven Motel

Property: Stonehaven Motel
Address: 30 Mill Road | Regent, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonehaven Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Stonehaven Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing