We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic, Clean, Quiet”
Review of Motel Sierra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel Sierra
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Halifax
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Basic, Clean, Quiet”
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This motel is basic, clean, and quiet. We paid $100 NZD for the night and thought that this was a bit high, given that we've stayed in similar places in equally touristy areas for about $20 less. So you may want to shop around a bit before committing.

We stayed in the Queen room, which came as well with a single bed. The room is reasonable size but lacks somewhat for places to hang clothes/jackets and place objects. There is a very small closet at the far side of the kitchen - not the most obvious place for a closet and not terribly convenient. We ended up spreading our belongings out on the single bed that was in the room as there was no other reasonable space to place things, short of unpacking entirely (not worth the effort unless we were staying more than a couple nights).

The kitchen area is functional for short stays. There was a small bar-size fridge, a hot plate, microwave, kettle, and basic dishware. There were not too many things within walking distance and so going to a restaurant, to pick up groceries, etc all required a short car-ride. That said, Whangerei is a small city and so having to drive to meet your needs is not entirely unexpected.

The furnishings in the room were older, again not unexpected of a motel in this price range. The dining chairs in the room appeared a bit worse-for-the-wear with small stains and a bit of dust collecting in the fabric, but overall the room was clean and in good repair.

The bathroom had a toilet in a separate space that could be closed off from the main bath by a sliding pocket door. The main bath had a tub with shower and a sink in a large vanity. The large vanity allowed plenty of counter space in the bathroom to place personal items.

The motel has a large whirlpool hot-tub that guests are allowed to use for free after signing up at the main office. They provided a nice basket with fresh towels and a key to access the separate area across from the outdoor pool where the hot-tub is located. We thought this was a very nice feature and appreciate its use very much.

On the whole, we enjoyed our stay. The motel was not terribly remarkable but if you can get it for $100 or less, it is reasonable place to stay. It's not fancy and there is nothing terribly remarkable aside from the hot-tub. But for a motel in this price range, it is what you'd expect: Older, not necessarily within walking distance to all amenities, older furnishings, but clean, quiet, and well maintained. Worth putting on your short-list.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntentToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    10
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
6
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

At NZ$60-70, this basic motel provided everything we needed, and kept us warm on a VERY chilly night. The staff were friendly and welcoming and although it's obviously an old motel, they had given it a fresh coat of paint and new curtains. All good.

Room Tip: I think the rooms at the back cost $10 more, and the walls were thin, however we didn't hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2funtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Motel Sierra, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Many thanks for your report.

Even the Winterless North needs heating at this time of the year.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Our mission was 5 days in the north working hard, out at dawn and back well into the night. This motel was quite adequate and at the price ($127/night for 2 people in a 2 room unit) was good value. No time to use the pool unfortunaltely. Nice helpful owners. The motel is a little dated and with a few little improvements could be a little ripper at the price. Maybe a new TV. Better vacumming. Don't ask guest to do the dishes. Put sign about towels in the bathroom where it can be seen. Take away ash trays at the door. Thought they were for the cat food! Free Wifi would be good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwiglobetroter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

This is a dated but clean Motel, on north side of Whangarei. Two bedroom unit was well priced, and clean. Spacious grounds for kids to run around, nice pool, BBQ, trampoline etc. Traffic noise was minimal and it was a peaceful two nights we spent there. After experiencing three other (noisy) Motels in Whangarei, we found the Sierra to be the best of the bunch. Highly recommended for a family group, we were very happy to stay here and will recommend to others

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliot749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Very clean older style motel with good facilities that was comfortable and reasonably priced.
Helpful and welcoming at reception with very friendly felines also, who are not at all intrusive but certainly welcome attention if you would like to give it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myristica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
0.6 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#8 of 34 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.3 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
1.0 mi away
Cypress Court Motel
Cypress Court Motel
#11 of 34 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Burgundy Rose Motel
Burgundy Rose Motel
#6 of 34 in Whangarei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stonehaven Motel
Stonehaven Motel
#10 of 34 in Whangarei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Whangarei
Bella Vista Motel Whangarei
#9 of 34 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Sierra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Sierra

Property: Motel Sierra
Address: 26 Western Hills Drive, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel Sierra 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable 3+ star self contained/serviced accommodation. Lots of room for parking large vehicles and rooms are a reasonable size. RV parks & dump station for stay over guests. Conference room facilities available. 3 minutes walk to restaurant, corner dairy/shop, Chinese takeaway & fish & chips & ATM machine. 10 minutes by car to virtually anywhere in Whangarei. 45 minutes to Bay of Islands. Base your self with us and see the North ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Motel Sierra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing