We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay out of town.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay out of town.”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Stayed here on an overnight trip from the far north. Robin the manager checked us in. Check in was very quick. The bedroom was well equipped and clean. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff here. We had a meal in the restruant which was amazing. Tim the head chef is exceptional. The calamari and steak were cooked to perfection. Ahmed, who was on bar staff and waiting was a really friendly guy. We also got a late checkout at no extra cost. Hotel rates not much more than a backpackers for a double room. Overall a five star experience at this hotel. Would definently stay here again.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    42
    15
    8
    1
See reviews for
15
38
4
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I feel bad writing this review because the staff at Flames International are just so friendly. I stayed here last week with my work, only for 1 night and as I arrived and left in the dark, I can't say anything about the views are are reportedly very nice. This hotel is out of town so not the most convenient. It is also smelly. I am not the most smell sensitive person, but on coming through the front door, it was apparent that all was not good. It was a difficult smell to describe - it wasn't obviously damp, more like a nursing home smell combined with stale cleaning fluids. However the reception was very welcoming. My room was large but oh so tired. Maybe not all the rooms are the same as mine looked nothing like the photos on the their website. It had 1980s wicker work furniture with terracotta/blue cushions and the bed was just a bit too soft. Internet is all a bit of a hassle as you have to create an account with Telecom and pre-load it before you can do any work. Having said all of this, the bathroom was nice. The communal areas were a bit cold but the barman (who has the most fabulous hair) was really, really friendly and there was a good selection of New Zealand wines and other drinks. Breakfast was adequate although I was in a bit of a rush so didn't try anything cooked. I didn't pay myself to stay at Flames as it was a work do so I can't say whether it was good value or not. It could be a great place but at the moment it just looks so tired that maybe it needs a rest...

Room Tip: Try and get the most recently refurbished ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nesbitevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

booked for two nights,stayed for three ,very quite rooms ,good beds , we had 8 guests for two evening meals , all loved the food , service was excellent & relaxed, we were treated like family ,will come back for sure

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and were really surprised how clean and tidy the room and hotel are. Staff were great friendly and very helpful. We were listening to guest talking about the restaurant on our first night about how good the food was and we were blown away with the quality of the food. Well done guys keep up the good work and we will be back as there is more on the menu we want to try.
Last time we stayed in Whangarei was down the road at a large international hotel and this place far exceeded them.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We chose this hotel because it was out of town and also advertised a restaurant, we had been travelling all day. We had a booking for an "Executive Room". Arrived on a Sunday and the restaurant was closed.... because the chef also needs a day off!! Checked with the staff at the Lava Bar on site and were told it would be open and serving pizza until 8.00pm. Went down for a drink and pizza at 7.00pm and it was closed. The only choice was takeaways. The room was lovely and big with a small balcony which looked out on gorgeous grounds and the pool. The TV was very, very small and a no-longer made model, the choice of channels was very poor.
We would stay there again but would suggest the availability of meals in restaurant and also the bar outside is make clear on booking and also would not be satisfied with the channels and the age of the television.
The hotel was very empty the night we were there, we did not see another guest and it was an uneasy feeling because our room was a long way from the reception area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We got back from Flames today after a 3 night stay.It's the first time we've stayed OUT of the Central City, but it's only a short drive from the City into Onerahi. I agree with the review from "Meandmex" - this hotel ticked all the boxes for me.The rooms was spacious, and had everything we needed. I think ALL the rooms face the Harbour, and as they face West we had beautiful sunsets. The Pool was great and very welcome as the weather was glorious. We ate in the Restaurant, very good menu and food was excellent. To top it all off the staff were really friendly and helpful. We arrived early - and knew we were, but were happy to wait. Our room wasn't quite ready and the duty Manager kindly offered us a tea or coffee whilst we were waiting! We didn't accept but thought this was amazing service.Will certainly go back to Flames.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms face the Harbour, but might pay to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morecambegirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

Hotel is in receivership but is still functioning. The restaurant is dated but food was fantastic. Room has an old tv and few channels. Lovely peaceful location. Probably one of the best for this town.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doyletv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
3.1 mi away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
5.3 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#7 of 34 in Whangarei
54 reviews
3.5 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#24 of 34 in Whangarei
34 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
140 reviews
3.6 mi away
Motel Villa Del Rio
Motel Villa Del Rio
#3 of 34 in Whangarei
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei

Property: Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
Address: 8 Waverley Street | Onerahi, Whangarei 0110, New Zealand (Formerly Flames International Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, Comfort Hotel Flames offers you the ultimate environment to relax and enjoy the surroundings. The hotel complex is situated on the hills of Onerahi and overlooks the beautiful inner Whangarei harbour. All rooms are generously proportioned and equipped with fridges, tea and coffee making facilities, tiled en-suite bathroom (shower and bath), balcony, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. A restaurant on site with Kiwi, Asian and other dishes from around the globe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing