We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
Nearby Hotels
Lodge Bordeaux(Whangarei)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingswood Manor Motel(Whangarei)(Great Value!)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
Motel Six(Whangarei)(Great Value!)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burgundy Rose Motel(Whangarei)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Continental Motel(Whangarei)(Great Value!)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge(Whangarei)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lupton Lodge(Whangarei)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
32
43
18
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
43
18
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall balconyrooms are largeshower over the bathflames restaurantnice hotelseafood chowderdefinitely stay here againlamb shankan enjoyable stayplace to staygood sizecomfortable bedsky tvfree wifirates
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We took the recommendations from trip advisor and booked this hotel it proved to be an excellent choice. The service is friendly and despite the person who greeted us at the desk also acting as the barman, waiter and room service it was remarkably efficient. We had a room overlooking the pool and harbour views the bed the room was spacious and comfortable. Soundproofing may be an issue if the hotel was very busy.
We had dinner the restaurant it has a very good wine list and the food was excellent if you stay we recommend you dine here as well (we didn't have breakfast).
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwimadeinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

My wife and I stayed here for one night, the hospitality is excellent, thanks Brett. The food great. Is well located near a hotel and shops just around the corner.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockyBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

This one nite stay was one of the best. Excellent service, great staff and even better food if thats possible, even wanted to take the chef home. Bed was so good, one of the best nites sleep in ages and the views from the room was amazing (over looked pool and hills watching sun rise) Highly reccomend to everyone wanting excellent personal service and situated away from the hussle of town.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matangi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

Travelled with three young children for a weekend trip and initially asked for a one or two bedroom unit which they don't have so we stayed in their biggest studio unit with two queen beds and were given a fold out bed to use. The decor is a little bit dated but the room was clean and big enough to accommodate us. I must say that the customer service was brilliant - from check in right through to our departure - both at the reception and housekeeping, nothing was a hassle. As we had children we were given a ground floor unit that led out to the grassed area and swimming pool which was a bonus for us. Will definitely stay there again - great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaisyNorthland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlamesH, Manager at Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2010

Thank you for your review and kind comments. It is always great to receive good feedback about our staff. We do have a great team at Flames Hotel from cleaners through to senior staff and pride ourselves on our warm hospitality.
It was unfortunate that the room you stayed in is the one room that has not yet been refurbished and is due to be upgraded in the next few weeks.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We only stayed one night at Flames due to visiting Zion Wildlife Gardens the next day.

The service and staff were fantastic. There was only one poor guy on the night we arrived doing absolutely everything. It could have been disastrous, but it wasn't as he was running around like a headless chicken, keeping everyone happy!

The food in Vie Restaurant was extremely tasty and very good value for money.

The only down point was the room. When we arrived early evening it was very cold outside and the room was freezing. The only heater was a small one in the back corner of the room which took ages to heat the room up. Much to my husband's amusement I took a hot water bottle with me, and thank goodness I did otherwise I would have been freezing. There were electric blankets on the beds which did help but the heating system could have been a lot better.

Breakfast was fairly basic, but very good and, as it was my husband's 50th birthday during our stay, the staff had put out some balloons and banners for me. They were very helpful and I would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa_Birch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlamesH, Manager at Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2009

Thank you for your feedback Lisa, we are pleased that you and your husband enjoyed your stay at Flames International Hotel.

It was a shame that the weather was not the best, and we have taken note of your comments regarding the heating in the room. We are hoping to install heatpumps/air co units into some of the rooms in the near future.

Yes, you did catch our Bar Manager on a busier than expected shift. Despite this, it was pleasing to note that all customers were served promptly and attentively.

Hope that you both enjoyed your whirlwind adventure to New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews