We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel Villa Del Rio
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Great service from hosts and being just off State highway 1, and on the main road out of Whangarei heading for the west coast, makes it an ideal base for visiting the area, close to the CBD,
Just a 10 minute walk to Whangarei Hospital which was the reason we stayed, we had a spacious 1 bedroom unit would certainly stay again and recommend to others

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twotwotango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

Great friendly service with hosts who made sure we were comfortable. The rooms were very clean and tidy . The pool area and sauna were a nice treat and great for warming up on a cold evening. Comfy and quiet nights sleep. Will definitely stay again .

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
Thank Tristin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Great place to stay if you need to be visiting friends/family at the hospital the closest motel to hospital 2mins up the road. I stayed for business and the units are very tidy, comfortable and warm. Beds are firm and linen is very nice. Definitely be staying again on my many trips North as now know what to expect. Hosts are friendly and helpful showing me the quicker route into town (which isn't that far away) Very knowledge about the city and surrounding area. There is even a house on site for a family or groups which is handy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Havenchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Booked here over the phone and had no problems at all.

Very clean but in dire need of maintenance and up dating. A mixture of eighties decor, mix match repair.

Lovely people, very helpful, pity about the out dated and run down environment.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lellley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We booked over the phone, after an initial confusion with the booking, our rooms where sorted very quickly and with no fuss, the rooms are clean and tidy. The plunger coffee is a nice touch. The hosts are really helpful and Friendly. The beds are very firm good for some but if you like a soft bed this might not suit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leigh203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Fantastic, friendly service! We had to urgently travel to Whangarei to visit a family member in hospital late at night. We arrived at 2am and they still woke up to give us the key. Thanks very much :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on business as most motels were booked out with motersport racing that week.
Nice simple rooms. very friendly and considerate hosts.
will stay here again as queiter than some other motels.

Room Tip: both upstairs and downstairs rooms availible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
2.7 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#7 of 34 in Whangarei
55 reviews
1.5 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
3.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
#5 of 34 in Whangarei
95 reviews
6.6 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
295 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
#4 of 34 in Whangarei
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Villa Del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Villa Del Rio

Address: 118 Maunu Road | Whangarei, Whangarei 0110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range: £54 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel Villa Del Rio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being minutes away from Whangarei City as well as being the closest motel to Whangarei Hospital, Barge Park, Kiwi House and the museum, Motel Villa del Rio is the accommodation of choice for many who visit the area. We cater for individuals, families, groups, workers and corporate. Take advantage of our free onsite facilities to shake off the stress of the day with our affordable refurbished accommodation. Your hosts Dean and Judy welcome you to Whangarei. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Motel Villa Del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing