We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont expect much” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Whangarei
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dont expect much”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

According to their site all rooms have tvs. This one didnt. Also the radio didnt work as it had no ariel. Be careful as there is a night club below which goes on till 2am. Not the best and definately not cheap at $120 a night

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chookiechook1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    7
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
2
11
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

One thing to keep in mind is that this is a Grand Hotel. So dont expect the latest mod cons in your room or hotel & you wont be let down. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here & will be back again. Yes the decor is tired, but the high ceilings, grand entrance & stairs added more character to the place,the staff & locals were helpfull & friendly to us. And the location couldn't get much better, everything is in walking distance. As a group we got a excellent price for our stay. You can access your room without entering any bars if you dont want to. Your room key opens the main door so you dont have a lock out time. Overall Value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KLALEX01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
National Park Village, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

You can tell this hotel was once a grand affair. You can indeed imagine Queen Elizabeth having once stayed & walking up the grand staircase to her room.

The staircase along with the accommodation quarters I saw are worn and tired. The staircase carpet is thread bare in places & the velvet red curtains in my room have discoloured over time.

The thing about this hotel is it's value for money. The bed linen & towels were fresh and new and the room was very clean and well appointed for the $55 paid. All rooms come with an em suite and mine was a good size that included a bath.

A downside to the location was the bar downstairs. I got looked up and down by the locals as wandered in looking for where to check in at 8pm. This was indeed the right location. Check in service was fast and very friendly. Credit cards are not accepted. From my room I could hear karaoke till about 11pm. By electing to stay at a drinking establishment hotel you have to expect noise.

All in all, the cost of the room $55, was fantastic value for money and I would recommend this hotel to budget travellers.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adriftnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

I agree with a few of the other reviews...was not a good experience from the moment of arrival.
Was a mis-understanding re booking this place (someone else made the booking for me thinking this was my place of choice; it wasn't however mis-communication was what got us there) and the moment I had to walk into the public bar I should have used my instinct and turned around and walked out.
Having to check in next to some intoxicated person mid-afternoon on a Sunday is not the way to start a good experience.
Also had to pay a $20 key bond which I was surprised about!
The room was ok; very tired. Old television that was very hard to see (wasn't tuned in correctly or if it was bad reception.
An upgrade at this hotel is definitely required.
Yes there is some history of the Queen staying however I would suggest no work has been done since her visit.
We had to leave before reception was open and were not able to get the key bond back so I emailed them asking for a refund. Response was quick initially and I advised bank account.
Over a week went by so I had to email asking when this wold be actioned. This was refunded; with no communication in response to my email.

You make the decision if you want to stay here...I won't be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steviegnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whangarei hotels

Porirua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

OK...so it's cheap, I get that $55 for a single room for the night, but even for that, it should be clean and it isn't. I dare not look at the mattress which feels rather spongy and am a little terrified of pulling the bed covers back. The bathroom has chipped tiles on the floor and it generally feels grubby. Don't come expecting the latest inroom entertainment either. The sign above the switch says it is for the fridge and to leave it on, but thankfully it is off as the door is hanging off and I am sure that is preventing CFCs from pouring in to the atmosphere. I haven't seen a cathode ray TV for years...until today. If you're on a tight budget or if the alternative is the street, I guess it is OK...otherwise I would suggest a little more research for your relaxing nights stay in what otherwise is a well placed and compact coastal town.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

We had to go into the public bar to register. The room was basically comfortable but it smelled unpleasantly. We had to leave the door and the window open to get fresh air and cool the room down. The bathroom facilities were reasonable. We wanted to stay there because of its history but one night was enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012 via mobile

The Grand is part of Whangarei history... The Queen herself stayed there in 1953. In fact one of the lads in the golf trip team stayed in her very room, and we all had drinks on her balcony. How many people in the world get to say that? 1953 was probably the last time it was renovated also, but for the money you are paying it is not bad value at all. Not the best if you don't enjoy being lulled to sleep by the sounds of Karaoke from the bar immediately below you. All in all this is decent budget accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BulaHoneymooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
0.5 mi away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
0.8 mi away
Central Court Motel
Central Court Motel
#19 of 35 in Whangarei
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#11 of 35 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
1.5 mi away
Burgundy Rose Motel
Burgundy Rose Motel
#6 of 35 in Whangarei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Blanca Motel
Casa Blanca Motel
#23 of 35 in Whangarei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: 2 Bank St.,, Whangarei, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing