We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip”
Review of Kamo Wildlife Sanctuary - CLOSED

Kamo Wildlife Sanctuary
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“Worth the trip”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

It is located quite a drive from the outskirts of Whangarei with not enough signs - but keep going. It is worth getting there. We had no idea what to expect and thought that it would be native birds etc. as the signs were for Zion Wildlife Gardens. It is a big cat experience. Once inside we did the "Enrichment Tour" and were thrilled with the guide, the information and the animals. We then did the feed and pat the cheetahs which was beyond belief. It is not the cheapest attraction around but when you see the effort they put into the animals you see where the money is going.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank julie4115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    36
    11
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waitakere City, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome.”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The 80minute guided tour of Zion Wildlife gardens was incredible. 0ur guide, georgy was amazing and certainly knew her stuff. Incredibly informative about all these big cats, and the extinction mankind is heading them for in the wild. The park is not funded by any Government agency, as Zoos are, yet it is the largest big cat park in Australasia. The cats look healthy and safe, and I highly recommend a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lots of lions to see, unfriendly staff”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We went here during the school holidays with young children. We didnt know that they only admit you under guided tour which means no free viewing like in the zoo. Luckily we didnt have to wait long foe scheduled guided tour, so make sure you arrive near the time or you will have to wait hours before the next one.
The park insists of many fenced areas housing lions, tigers, etc. The guides are rather unfriendly as they push on through the tour. Not much time for photos. Also they are not very patient with parents with young children or prams as they think they slow down the tour. At some points our guide was verging on rudeness for hurrying children along.
Overall the guided tour is over priced for what it is. But if you're curious you can visit. But I think the zoo is much better as you can explore at your pace rather than being pushed around by unfriendly guides.

Helpful?
Thank purebliss_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingdomofZion, Office Admin at Kamo Wildlife Sanctuary, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, we are sad to hear you did not enjoy your tour as much as we would have wanted you too.

Due to the nature of the park you cannot wander around unaccompanied, this is mainly due to the fact you can get a lot closer to the cats compared to most places. We have multiple tours that run daily at 11am, 12.30pm, and 2pm so it is not a long wait for people who have just turned up for a tour.

We are sorry to hear that you felt rushed on your tour. That is certainly not our intention. We accommodate for people of all ages, families and groups at once which can at times be challenging but we are always trying to ensure that everyone has a great experience. We do not in any way believe that parents/ prams slow down our tours. We spend a fair bit of time at each enclosure and there you are welcome to take as many photos as you like however once we do move along participants have to keep together.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologize on behalf of the company for your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Staff were very informative, great safety brief. Cats appear well cared for and in great condition although while not knowing a lot about them, thought their enclosures should be bigger.

Look forward to a return visit as the park develops. Certainly worth a look.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KiwiWanderers02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not sure”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Zion is very clean and the cats are very well looked after for sure. Would have been nice if we could have had time to walk around and see the cats on our own. The shop was very expensive.
I think if we went again we would do the feed tour so it was a little more excititng.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank lorrainechris43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingdomofZion, Office Admin at Kamo Wildlife Sanctuary, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

Due to the nature of the park you cannot wander around unaccompanied, this is mainly due to the fact you can get a lot closer to the cats compared to most places. We offer different tours to suit everyone’s individual needs and the feed tour is an exciting one, hopefully we will see you back here for one of our feed tours in the future. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kamo Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing