We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at Binnowee Bed & Breakfast”

Binnowee Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangarei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Binnowee Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 29 Whangarei B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My husband and I got to stay 2 nights at the Binnowee Bed & Breakfast and we LOVED it. Their yard is beautiful (the bedroom balcony doors lead right out to the private backyard where we enjoyed a game of crib outside), and Mike and Liz are great hosts. The B&B is located in a quiet neighborhood and away from the downtown noise of Whangarei. Mike and Liz recommended some great restaurant selections for us and some tips and hints of what to do and where to go. Liz had made fresh muffins on our first day and a fresh carrot cake on our second day. We spent 3 weeks in New Zealand staying in a mixture of bed and breakfasts and hotels, and Binnowee ranked high on our list for its privacy, quiet solitude, great breakfast and snacks, and good hosts. The bedroom, large bathroom (with tub) and sitting room were immaculate, and the bed was extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meghan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz W, Owner at Binnowee Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Meghan & Trevor
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such lovely comments, which we really appreciate.
We so enjoyed meeting you both and are happy to hear we made your stay at Binnowee so memorable.
We love meeting people from all over the world, but we know that guests like privacy too, which is why our B&B has its own private lounge, along with bedroom and bathroom.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in NZ and had a safe trip home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

Mike & Liz made us most welcome on our two day stay with lots of extra touches you do not get elsewhere like a piece of cake each on arrival and lots of goodies to treat yourself with like Camembert cheese and crackers, sweet biscuits and a wide selection of teas and coffee. Excellent breakfast with everything you could desire. You get a whole suite to yourself lounge, bedroom and superb bathroom with spa bath. Their garden is a joy to walk through and their invitation to a beer, wine and friendly conversation on their patio on the second evening top off the stay

Room Tip: Only one suite but it is magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BASSA-DI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz W, Owner at Binnowee Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

What a fantastic review! Thank you so much for your kind words - we're really pleased you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to seeing you both again if you ever come to Whangarei. Happy gardening and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We confirm everyone's glowing responses, as Liz and Mike provide every little treat and amenity that one could think of. Binnowee is charming inside and out. These hosts can feel proud that we all love their accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Underpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz W, Owner at Binnowee Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you very much for writing a review on TripAdvisor. It was really lovely to meet you and we're delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we provided everything you needed. Our best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We felt so comfortable here, with Liz and Mike attending to our creature comforts and bringing us into their world. The rooms were immaculate and well decorated, with nice touches from personal collections. The gardens were spectacular, quite a surprise in this suburban setting. We stayed four nights and found Binnowee an ideal location for three days of exploring; we appreciated guidance on what to see and what to skip. This stop came early in a long trip, and proved to be a highlight.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nlc58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz W, Owner at Binnowee Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review - it is much appreciated.
It was such a pleasure to meet you and we're happy we made your stay at Binnowee so memorable, and you found it a good base from which to explore Northland. Our best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

What a find! This is the best b&b we've ever stayed in: comfortable, quiet, spacious and well appointed - and Mike and Liz willing to provide anything extra like some soft fruit for breakfast. It's more like an apartment, with a bedroom, separate luxury bathroom with spa bath and shower cubicle, separate loo, and a sitting room with kitchenette hidden behind double doors. Patio doors open on to the lovely garden, with a secluded sitting area.
There are not many places we have stayed run by such delightful and hospitable owners...Liz even did some washing for us. I wish we had been able to stay a week, rather than two nights.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank HampshireBaggin... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz W, Owner at Binnowee Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We really appreciate your positive comments and pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely to meet you and we hope the rest of your holiday in New Zealand went well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Without doubt Binnowee Bed & Breakfast is one of the best places at which I have ever stayed. It has spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean accomodation with everything one could posssibly need from fruit and chocolate to a spa bath and toiletries. Mike and Liz are attentive hosts, friendly and welcoming, yet respective of ones privacy. I only wish I could have stayed longer than two nights, but I'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

The accommodation is as described in other reviews and is spotlessly clean and very luxurious. We were two ladies having an "adventure" without our husbands and it was no problem at all to have the bed-settee made up in the living room so we could have our own bedrooms. Liz and Mike make excellent hosts, providing a friendly welcome but then respecting your privacy. Breakfast is help-yourself from the large array of choices provided in the room (which has a fridge and a kettle) and Liz provides toast/croissants as requested.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Dudleysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
7.7 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
296 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
148 reviews
2.7 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Motel Six
Motel Six
#16 of 34 in Whangarei
57 reviews
4.8 mi away
Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers
3.0 mi away
Burgundy Rose Motel
Burgundy Rose Motel
#6 of 34 in Whangarei
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Binnowee Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Binnowee Bed & Breakfast

Address: 43 Kotare Crescent | Maunu, Whangarei, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Price Range: £68 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious, quality, self-contained three room B&B unit, adjoining our modern home, set in tranquil, park-like gardens with mature native trees - yet only 5 minutes from the city centre, with its many shops restaurants and art galleries.Peaceful and private with your own bright, warm, comfortable lounge with a double sofa bed, large separate bedroom with queen bed and luxury bathroom with both shower and spa bath. All toiletries provided. All rooms open onto your own sunny verandah and patio. Private entrance, off street parking. Free fast internet and Wifi. Delicious continental breakfast included, plus complimentary tea/coffee, fresh fruit, home baking and snacks.Binnowee's convenient location provides an ideal holiday base for a quiet retreat, and the perfect place to stay to see Whangarei or as a base to tour stunning and historical Northland. There's lots of activities to enjoy and interesting places to explore - all close by. A warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing