We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of TopSail

TopSail
Ranked #5 of 128 Restaurants in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, New Zealand, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
162 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

What a delight! The meals served are beautifully decorated and taste fantastic, what a marvelous cook.

The owners are fabulous, care about their customers with a passion seldomly seen today. Strongly recommendable...

Helpful?
Thank Petsko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    25
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The ultimate in dining!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Being a smaller restaurant and located right on the waterfront, makes this a wonderful, relaxing dining experience. The food is devine and the staff are very friendly and very efficient. It is on the higher end regarding prices on the menu, but is well worth paying a little extra for a very enjoyable evening out. If you haven't tried it, you must make the effort. It is a very popular restaurant, so you will have to make a booking first.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallow, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Go on, treat yourself”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I've finally got round to reviewing this place as we've eaten here 3 times already. My advice is to come here in summer so you get to see the sunset while overlooking the harbour - we've eaten here in winter and it was dark so the atmosphere wasn't quite as nice.

The food is excellent and as we are home brewers were delighted to see some craft beers on offer, as well as an excellent wine list. The service is excellent also. The food is a bit pricey so come here for a special treat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JB999_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful food and great service.”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

It's so awesome to find a small city with two such excellent restaurants as Topsail and A Deco. Both of them have exquisite food. Our entrees and mains at Topsail were gorgeous but we did not have room to try dessert. The beer and wine list was really good too, I took the matching advice of the restaurant for my dinner and was well pleased.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Restaurant”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Debbie & Ian thank you for an amazing night. Beautiful food and wine with an atmosphere to match. The prefect place to celebrate a special occasion! The recommendation from Grant & Raewyn from The Guesthouse at Taiharuru Farms was well deserved. Looking forward to our return visit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimfromNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TopSail also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to TopSail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing