We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodge Bordeaux

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lodge Bordeaux
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in a One Bedroom Suite. The accommodation was modern, clean and well appointed including some interesting art work. Some nice finishing touches like the mini bar, the well fiited kitchen, spa bath and safe (and the ducks). There was also plenty of wardrobe and storage space plus a small patio area to the front of the unit.

As requested, we were given a room at the rear of the property. Although there was some traffic noise from SH1 during the day it did not impact on our sleep.

Did not particularly like Whangerie but found this a good base to visit places further north such as 90 Mile Beach, Doubtless Bay and Bay of Islands.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5tings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bordeaux361, Owner at Lodge Bordeaux, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to reveiw our motel. Its is great to get positive feed back which we can share with our staff and makes it all worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    23
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
62
2
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Beautiful room, very comfortable bed with very well stocked min bar at reasonable prices. The decor gave a peaceful feel to to room. Although room a little noisy close to road, did not effect our sleep in any way though. Would definitely com here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bordeaux361, Owner at Lodge Bordeaux, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thanks for your positive comments and glad you enjoyed your weekend. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

My husband and I have travelled a fair bit and stayed in a lot of different accommodation and we strongly recommend the Lodge as a must do if visiting whangarei.

It is second to none. The hosts are just gorgeous and the rooms are so welcoming and comfortable.

We will definitely visit again, next trip. Thank you, you made our stay very nice.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bordeaux361, Owner at Lodge Bordeaux, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely positive feedback and really glad you enjoyed the stay. As new owners it is good to know we are on the right track.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stopped in here on our way up to Taipa for New Years. Very nice place and rooms. It had a very unique style which we liked. The spa bath was a real treat with a candle set into the wall. The kitchen facilities in the room were good however we did not really use them on this stay.

The owners were away so a nice friendly couple were minding the hotel. They provided us a great service and made us a yummy breakfast delivered right to our door.

On departure they gave us some travelling advice for a trip up north.

Have already recommended this place to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H0llyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bordeaux361, Owner at Lodge Bordeaux, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
As new owners its great to get the positive feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Exceptional place! Extremely comfortable room, we were in studio with shower. Lovely king bed and everything clean and beautifully presented. Laundry facilities are free. Mini bar very fair prices. Staff helpful and nice to deal with. I even had a swim in pool which was lovely and warm. Nothing to complain about here, well worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bordeaux361, Owner at Lodge Bordeaux, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Lodge Bordeaux. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and are delighted that you were happy with the rooms amenities and especially that you mention the cleanliness. It is a top priority in any accommodation venue, whether two star or five!!! Our cleaning staff take pride in the job they do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3,100 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 592 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

This is as good as a motel can get. The place was well furnished and decorated and everything was top class which was a surprise. Staff were friendly and there was really nothing more you could want from a motel.

Room Tip: Traffic noise may be a problem near the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bordeaux361, Owner at Lodge Bordeaux, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of Lodge Bordeaux. We welcome feedback from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

This studio was wonderfully appointed with a very comfortable kingsize bed, a sitting area, dining area and very nice kitchen which was very well supplied with food and drink which were very reasonably priced. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. The bath had a nice whirlpool spa as well as shower

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tumblingshoals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bordeaux361, Owner at Lodge Bordeaux, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thanks for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found that our rooms were well appointed to meet your needs while away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangarei
1.0 mi away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
1.2 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#24 of 35 in Whangarei
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Pacific Rendezvous
Pacific Rendezvous
#1 of 3 in Tutukaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 35 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
#3 of 35 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Bordeaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Bordeaux

Property: Lodge Bordeaux
Address: 361 Western Hills Drive - State Highway 1, Whangarei, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lodge Bordeaux 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge Bordeaux is Whangarei’s only Qualmark 5 Star motel offering luxury accommodation to the discerning traveller or business executive.Only 2 hours drive from Auckland and a short distance from Whangarei shopping and business district, restaurants, sports and conference facilities. Beautifully landscaped grounds with heated swimming pool.Room décor is sophisticated and elegant.The fabrics and linens are tasteful, the bathrooms are luxurious. Rooms are spacious, many have their own balcony/patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lodge Bordeaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing