We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary weekend in heaven!!”
Review of Eden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangarei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eden House
Ranked #14 of 31 Whangarei B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We (my wife and I) spent an amazing Auckland anniversary weekend at the Eden House. For us it was the perfect B&B. Beautiful location within native forest, mindblowing beaches around the corner, lovely accomodation with stunning views. Breakfast with home made muffins was divine. Thank you Carole for baking extra gluten-free muffins for my wife. We can absolutely recommend to book a dinner. It was so delicious, we enjoyed every bite. But the most important thing was the amazing hospitality of Carole and Richard. We will definitely come back.

Thank you so much Carole and Richard!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

What a delightful review. Many thanks for your kind comments, and taking the time to give the feedback. I have to say your company was a pleasure and it was wonderful having you both stay. We've had a couple of rainy days, but that's filled the tanks so we can't complain.

The forest is steaming now as the early morning sun catches it, and it looks positively Jurassic!

I hope you had a good trip back to Auckland and that returning to work was too difficult! I'm glad you were able to relax and enjoy our area. Would love to see you both again. Warmest wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Eden House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2013

After a warm welcome we were surprised by a wonderfull room, courteous deck and stunning views over the wooded mountains and the Pacific in the far distance! Richard and Carroll spoilt us four days with their delicious breakfasts, every day another culinary creation, freshly made with healthy ingredients and love! Also the dinner we enjoyed was great!
The location, with it's swimmingpool and private bush(walk), is a paradise for sun- and naturelovers. Highly recommended these excellent, helpfull, gentle and caring hosts, who make your stay unforgettable! Not to speak about what they did in Bhutan and other outposts in the world. Ask them to tell you about that, it's very inspiring and interesting!
Marja Kass and Klaas Strijbis, Renkum, The Netherlands

Room Tip: If available, choose the upper rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to give such a kind review. It was a delight hosting you and we hope that you returned home safely and enjoyed the whole of your stay here in New Zealand.

The sun has slipped away today and the sea has disappeared into a low mist. But it is still warm and the palms are gently swaying in the light breeze. I hope the return to your winter was too bad?

Once again thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

My sister & I spent New Year with Carole & Richard and we could not have been given a warmer welcome to the local community. The setting is idyllic and the accommodation first rate. Many thanks and we would recommend anyone to stay here. You will not find better.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Hi,

Thank you so much for the review, it is most appreciated. It was lovely having you at the New Year party and pleased you enjoyed it. It is surprising how much history the area has. Was pleased you were able to see some of the sights that we had on the slide show quiz. After a day of rain we are back to the sunny skies and, the distant pacific is again a lovely blue. We hope that the rest of your stay in New Zealand is wonderful and you are able to take home many happy memories. Good luck with your lines!

Take care and warmest wishes from us both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This beautiful bed and breakfast is off the beaten path and that is exactly what I was seeking. Although just 30 minutes on good road from Whangarei, you are in splendid isolation. From my spacious bedroom, I looked down a forested valley. The view may remind some guests of a "treetops" experience that is available at an African game reserve for many times the cost. It is absolutely quiet. At night, I could see the stars even when reclined on my bed. Oh yes, although Eden House is a bed and breakfast, you must have dinner with the hosts, Carole and Richard. They are great company. The food is delicious and reflects many different cuisines that they experienced during their travels around the world. The next day, I woke up early and saw a solar eclipse from atop Mt. Manaia. But I am not sure whether it was something of an anticlimax compared with my stay at The Eden House!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great. The Eden Suite, where I stayed, has a beautiful view. The rooms on the...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

What a lovely review. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to give such nice feedback about your stay with us. Also pleased that the weather was kind and you managed to see the solar eclipse. Mount Manaia is a great location and you can see why it's called the mystic mountain.

We are into the final two weeks of rehearsals for the show and it is going well. Today we're having a break and sorting out the garden ready for the forthcoming season. The bush trail needs some repairs and we are planting in the palm grove.

So pleased you had a safe and good journey back to Auckland. And look forward to catching up with our shared tales in the future.

Warmest wishes from Eden House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

My wife and I stayed at Eden House for three nights early November 2012 and really enjoyed our stay.

Our hosts, Richard and Carole, were very welcoming as we arrived and proved to be obliging as they helped us with our orientation and directions on how to get to the sights that the area has to offer.

After spending five nights by the water at Russell (further up the coast) it was nice to be in an elevated lush bush setting. Picturesque coast lines and walks are not far away. Whangarei is only about 19 KMs away so ‘town’ conveniences are nearby.

Our ensuited room was delightful and had a very comfortable bed. It also had views to the Pacific and Mt Manaia. Eden House is well appointed with large rooms, a library and TV room in addition to a huge combined lounge/ dining kitchen area. Heaps of DVDS and books on offer.

The breakfast was excellent with a large variety on offer. There’s cereals, toast, yoghurt, home-made walnut loaf, savoury scones, fruit, fruit juices, and of course a great cooked breakfast. With soft music in the background and views out to the Pacific, what more could you want? The breakfast set us up for the day.

Richard and Carole are experienced in what they do; they provide a very comfortable stay, a quiet night’s sleep, a great breakfast, and manage things reaqlly well so you enjoy the right balance between privacy and service.

We highly recommend Eden House!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjmoorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Hi Guys,

Thank you so much for your review, it is really appreciated. It was a delight having you stay here at Eden House. And the weather was so good, after a very poor start to our spring. Today the forecast was for rain and I'm now staring out at blue skies... Though mist is obscuring the coastline.

The birds are nesting in the eves and around the house, and provide for a nice dawn chorus.

We hope you had a great journey back and your drive to Auckland went smoothly. The harbour bridge tends to be quiet on a weekend.

Enjoy your Downton Abbey and hope your DVD plays ok. We are well into series 3 now. This Wednesday we are into technical rehearsals for the show so the curtain up is coming close now.

Thank you again for taking the time and trouble to do the review. Take care and may hear from you again sometime.

Warmest wishes from us both.

Eden House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Came back to Eden House for a quick couple of days during NZ's winter! It's a lovely area and some of the local scenery is wonderful. If you come then don't miss Smugglers Bay. It's a short walk over a hill then down to a beach which both times I've visited has been deserted!

Nearby A H Reed memorial park is lovely with a tree top canopy walk.

Richard and Carole's hospitality is second to none. Carole's cooking is great and if you're in to Mussels then try her NZ green mussels in lemon grass, oh heavenly!

Richard cooks the breakfast and the cooked choice is different each day. Beware if you're on a diet, it's too tempting!

We still can't get over the views. Each day it's different as the weather changes. I love the space of the place and it's so quiet. We never got to use all the facilities and would have loved to dip into the DVD collection as there are some great TV titles.

Returning to Eden was like coming home again. It is about 20 mins outside Whangarei but well worth the effort! Greatly recommended.

Room Tip: The Queen upstairs twin has a fantastic view - through the palm trees. The Four poster has oodles of...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Springwood11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Hi guys,

Many thanks again for taking the time for doing a review. And we're both over the moon you enjoyed your second stay. It was great meeting up again. Pleased you got home ok and enjoyed your visit to New Zealand. It must be good to see your grandchildren again...

At least you had some good weather and were able to visit our lovely area once more. Carole is searching her recipies for that one you suggested, next time we'll try that out.

Best wishes to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

A really nice place,though a bit out of town on hilly winding roads.Though surprisingly you get use to it,except getting in their gateway and you cant see down infront of your car.scary the 1st time.That aside its a very lovely place and Carole and Richard could not be nicer. The bedrooms are very good, our was the Queen room. Shower very hot and powerful, portable heaters for the chilly evenings and mornings in mid May.They have a vast collection of DVD's and books in the cosy TV room.Carole and Richard are very helpful and try to give you as much info to enjoy your stay. .I had to e-mail them when I got home as I could not remember the names of the many places we visited,on our 5 nights stay.They were very prompt at sending the answers. Their ''Garden walk '' is something else,they have a sense of humour when they say 20minutes ( be warned ) Many places to visit,The Museum and Kiwi House is good to actually see Kiwi's, they feed them at 2-00pm each day. Its quite dark inside and no flash photo's allowed. There is a lovely lady at the reception who can gave you a great talk about them.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry-Jang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

Hi Barry and Jang,

Delighted to receive your review. Thank you so much for tking the time and effort. It was lovely to see how you enjoyed your stay. It was mutual.

We have just returned from five days down in Dunedin on the B&B Association conference. The first day we spent 3 hours touring the skies of NZ, only to arrive back at Auckland! Dunedin airport was closed. But all went well after that and we enjoyed our break.

I trust you are enjoying your lovely hot weather whilst we are putting on extra layers!

The rear patio area has now been completed and will be a nice sun trap for relaxing. It was hard work but well worth the effort.

Must pop down the trail to do some maintenance. Big pat on the back to you both for completing the circuit.

Take care and look forward maybe to seeing you both again.

Warmest wishes,

Richard and Carole
Eden House
Whangarei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
6.4 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
142 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kauri Villas
Kauri Villas
#1 of 31 in Whangarei
132 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
6.4 mi away
Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers
5.9 mi away
Motel Six
Motel Six
#16 of 34 in Whangarei
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House

Address: 510 Owhiwa Road | Parua Bay, Whangarei 0192, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Price Range: £49 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning spacious Tuscan style home in a serene rural setting with spectacular views to the distant Pacific. Enjoy large luxury bedrooms, with private bathroom or en-suite. Two lounges, swimming pool, TV/DVD/Video library. 11 Acres of private grounds. Ideal touring centre - beaches, scenic bays, walks, golf and other amenities nearby. Delicious cuisine:- Full Kiwi cooked breakfast plus continental selection. Delightful evening meals available. Enjoy our traditional Kiwi Christmas with a four course dinner and drinks all inclusive plus relaxing ambience. Our motto? Arrive as guests, depart as friends. The ambience of Eden House is only exceeded by the warmth of your welcome! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing