We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem!”
Review of Eden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangarei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eden House
Ranked #14 of 31 Whangarei B&B and Inns
Inverness, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A real gem!”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Richard and Carole. What a shame that we only spent one night with them, though. We arrived very late, after a long drive. It was so nice to be welcomed into such a lovely and spacious home.

Our room was impeccable, every detail was perfect, and we even found flowers on the pillows and chocolates next to the bed! There was a spacious balcony, and, as we discovered the next morning, the view is incredible. The house is in a very private setting.

Guests have access to a large part of the house, including a kitchen area and two living areas. And there is an inviting swimming pool as well.

Breakfast was incredible. So many good things to choose from!!! I'm lactose intolerant, and Carole went out of her way to make dairy-free muffins. And she even gave us some to take along when we left. Wow, did I ever have fond thoughts of Carole and Richard when I ate those the next day!

We also really enjoyed talking with both Carole and Richard. They have had interesting lives, and they are very warm people. Richard gave us all sorts of advice on what to see on our way to our next destination - he even drew us a map that turned out to be perfect.

We truly enjoyed our stay. Compared to other B&Bs, Eden House is very well-priced, given their exceptional accommodations and breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 379Marie352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Oh, what a lovely surprise to hear from you so quickly. And thank you for being so kind! Yes, it was a shame we didn't have more time with you - ships in the night! We love chatting to our guests, particularly those from overseas. The US has a particular fascination, what with all the TV programmes and we'd like to have heard more about Florida!

Meanwhile our weather is temperamental, like most autumns. Yesterday was gorgeous, warm and cloudless but today is the opposite. Our wonderful view is now a sheet of mist. We are huddling down for the winter. There was a scattering of snow in the central north island! We envy you your approaching hot summer....

So take care and you never know, we may meet again.

Thank you again...

Richard & Carole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, B.C.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We expected it to be good. Not surprisingly, it was great! Wonderful friendly and gracious hosts were Richard and Carole, who have thought of everything. Immaculate accommodation and use of most of their grand home. As the hosts live in a separate self-contained part of the house, there is full use of a complete kitchen for guests, including fridge and freezer, and two comfortable lounges with wi-fi access. Served breakfast selection better than we have ever seen for a B&B, and a most interesting optional Bhutanese dinner. Beautiful setting on several hectares, attractively landscaped, and a bonus - a lush native forest and 20-minute private walk through the ravine behind and below the house (suitable for most, and if able, consider doing as it is otherworldly). Nice pool and spacious surrounding deck with excellent sun exposure, a walkout from the bedrooms. A very quiet private location with easy access and good parking................... Bonny and Dave, Canada

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Hi both,

What a lovely review! It is really appreciated that you take such time to give us this feedback. As I write the sun is just coming up and the sky is an orange delight! The autumn has continued to be warm and a recent few days of rain have filled out tanks again. Thank goodness.

It was lovely having you in Eden and I hope your journey back home was good. You have now got your summer to look forward to, and I've heard that Canada can be spectacular..

My play had it's premier last night down in Oamaru, which is in the South Island. Tine to think about putting pen to paper again! We are on half term break at the college which gives me a bit of a breather. I think today will be a relaxing Sunday.

Once again thank you, take care.

Warmest wishes from us both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We chose Eden House as our base for 2 days while attending a wedding in the area. Having not visited this part of the country before, it proved to be a great spot from which to explore the amazing local beaches and coastline. Richard and Carole's hospitality was outstanding - from the impressive spread laid on each morning for breakfast to assisting with last minute repairs to wedding outfits, nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel right at home. The set up is ideal - with guests having exclusive access to much of the home. We didn't get the chance to use the extensive library and DVD collection on offer in the downstairs lounge but one can imagine this option being great come winter.

Our spacious room with ensuite and deck was perfect with spectacular views across the valley to the ocean.

All in all a fantastic place to spend a day or two, I highly recommend to both locals and international visitors. Already thinking of opportunities to get back there....thanks Richard & Carole.

Michael & Anya

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Hi Guys,

What a super review! It is so good of you to take the trouble and time to give this feedback. And of course it really cheers us up no end! I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay here at Eden, as much as we enjoyed hosting you. Also the excitement of the wedding is infectious isn't it, and it made it a special time for us.

To tell the truth, it's really nice to show-case our locality to Aucklanders as most simply shoot on to the Bay of Islands and give our lovely area a miss. Whangarei Heads conservation area is a little known gem of scenic splendour but, using Michael Caine's phrase.... 'not many people know that'.

And autumn has finally arrived with a vengeance! Gale force winds and rain last night buffeted the house and, I might add, filled our gasping water tanks! No doubt it is heading down your way.

Once again, many thanks and would be delighted to see you both again some time.

Warmest wishes

Eden House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2013

On the start of our New Zealand roundtrip we booked 2 nights at Eden House end feb 2013.
First of all, Carole and Richard are wonderful people !
A warm welcome to start with (we arrived very late and still got a nice diner served !!), they make you feel at home in their lovely house overlooking their own tropical forest (!), you get plenty of info to explore their region (Smuggler's bay is a place we would never have found ourselves, so thanks again Richard) ... real hosts !
Food : the breakfast (cereals and cooked) is better than in any other place we stayed, and the Bhutan diner is absolutely something you should try (I don't want to reveal any details as I don't want to spoil the fun of any future guests, but we had a great laugh, thanks to both of you).
Room: our room (Vista suite) was very spacious, impeccable clean and very comfortable. The view from the bedroom is just stunning, you get a private terrasse and lots of privacy. The pool is just a few steps down. The pictures on their site is really what you get !
Price-Quality you will not find a better place ...
Thanks and hope to be back one day.
Viviane and Daniel

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dor06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Hi both,

Really kind of you to do such a lovely response! And so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed hosting you.

The sun is still shining here though the autumn is beginning to be felt with slightly colder evenings. I hope spring has now arrived in Europe? So pleased that you enjoyed your stay in New Zealand.

The course is going well and we are both now into preparing for the next season.

Take care and you never know, we may see you both again sometime.

Warmest wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We booked three nights on our trip North, we enjoyed it so much we stopped for three more nights en route back to Auckland ! The reception, hosts, quality, value for money, meals, pool and spotless comfortable rooms made it a must to hurry back to. After four weeks in NZ it has yet to be beaten. Richard and Carole made us feel like we were stopping with friends and made us feel so at home. It is a " must stay" for anyone looking for accommodation in the North. Beaches nearby to die for - nobody on them !

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Hi both,

It's so kind of you to do such a lovely review. It was a delight having you here in Eden. A little cooler this week but the pool is still warm. (Just as well as I've got to jump in to change one of the steps!) Hope you had a good journey home? At least you will shortly be entering spring, we often think of all those daffodils and then bluebells that we miss as we don't have such a profusion of them here!

You will recall the celebration on your first night? Well we are off later this year to Brisbane to collect the award.

Take care, thank you again, and maybe we'll meet up again sometime..?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We (my wife and I) spent an amazing Auckland anniversary weekend at the Eden House. For us it was the perfect B&B. Beautiful location within native forest, mindblowing beaches around the corner, lovely accomodation with stunning views. Breakfast with home made muffins was divine. Thank you Carole for baking extra gluten-free muffins for my wife. We can absolutely recommend to book a dinner. It was so delicious, we enjoyed every bite. But the most important thing was the amazing hospitality of Carole and Richard. We will definitely come back.

Thank you so much Carole and Richard!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
What a delightful review. Many thanks for your kind comments, and taking the time to give the feedback. I have to say your company was a pleasure and it was wonderful having you both stay. We've had a couple of rainy days, but that's filled the tanks so we can't complain.

The forest is steaming now as the early morning sun catches it, and it looks positively Jurassic!

I hope you had a good trip back to Auckland and that returning to work was too difficult! I'm glad you were able to relax and enjoy our area. Would love to see you both again. Warmest wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renkum, the Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

After a warm welcome we were surprised by a wonderfull room, courteous deck and stunning views over the wooded mountains and the Pacific in the far distance! Richard and Carroll spoilt us four days with their delicious breakfasts, every day another culinary creation, freshly made with healthy ingredients and love! Also the dinner we enjoyed was great!
The location, with it's swimmingpool and private bush(walk), is a paradise for sun- and naturelovers. Highly recommended these excellent, helpfull, gentle and caring hosts, who make your stay unforgettable! Not to speak about what they did in Bhutan and other outposts in the world. Ask them to tell you about that, it's very inspiring and interesting!
Marja Kass and Klaas Strijbis, Renkum, The Netherlands

Room Tip: If available, choose the upper rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to give such a kind review. It was a delight hosting you and we hope that you returned home safely and enjoyed the whole of your stay here in New Zealand.

The sun has slipped away today and the sea has disappeared into a low mist. But it is still warm and the palms are gently swaying in the light breeze. I hope the return to your winter was too bad?

Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
2.2 mi away
Kauri Villas
Kauri Villas
#1 of 31 in Whangarei
132 reviews
6.4 mi away
Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers
3.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
290 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
141 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#24 of 34 in Whangarei
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House

Property: Eden House
Address: 510 Owhiwa Road | Parua Bay, Whangarei 0192, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning spacious Tuscan style home in a serene rural setting with spectacular views to the distant Pacific. Enjoy large luxury bedrooms, with private bathroom or en-suite. Two lounges, swimming pool, TV/DVD/Video library. 11 Acres of private grounds. Ideal touring centre - beaches, scenic bays, walks, golf and other amenities nearby. Delicious cuisine:- Full Kiwi cooked breakfast plus continental selection. Delightful evening meals available. Enjoy our traditional Kiwi Christmas with a four course dinner and drinks all inclusive plus relaxing ambience. Our motto? Arrive as guests, depart as friends. The ambience of Eden House is only exceeded by the warmth of your welcome! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing