We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal Stay”
Review of Eden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangarei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eden House
Ranked #14 of 29 Whangarei B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My wife and I explored New Zealand for our three week honeymoon, and stayed at a dozen places from the Northland to Stewart Island. We both think that Eden House was by far the best stay we had.

There are many places in New Zealand with good facilities, good views, good food, and good service. Richard and Carole not only excel at providing each of these, they take pride in it and do it naturally. We stayed at a few homestays after Eden House and none of them felt quite as close to home.

Another guest joined the house on our 2nd day, just for overnight, and happened to be from New Zealand with some business in the Northland. He lauded that Richard's wonderful breakfasts were the reason he stayed there, and worth the price of the stay itself!

I won't speak more to the views and food, and instead let the pictures do the talking. Richard and Carole we can't thank enough though. A card and some bubbly for our honeymoon, splendid hospitality, and the priceless fondness of a few friends across the Pacific. Thank you both!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HikinAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Hi both,

Wow! What a review. What can we say? Thank you so much. It is this feedback that really gives us a buzz and makes it wonderful for us to be a host. Although I have to admit the pleasure was also ours as it was a delight to have you stay. Your enthusiasm and natural enjoyment at being in New Zealand was so infectious.

We are watching the weather on TV in your part of the world and hope that it's not too cold in Seattle? All that snow seems such a long way off as we're still having great temperatures. In fact, even Carole is sampling the pool which is a comfortable 28C. Our big purge is on the garden which is growing weeds the size of small trees. Lots of pruning.

Hope you had a safe and comfortable trip back to the US and that all your memories will stay with you for a long married life.

By the way, the moonlight photo is fantastic! Would love a copy.

Warmest wishes from us both.

Eden House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at Eden House just after Christmas. It was the first 'homestay' of our trip and we were not sure what to expect but Carole and Richard made us so welcome. The setting on the hill was so beautiful and peaceful and yet so close to some stunning bays. With only one full day for seeing the area, Richard's map and itinerary proved invaluable. We opted to have dinner the second night and Carole produced a sumptuous meal; breakfasts were equally delicious. This was one of the best stops on our three week tour and we wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Hi both,

What a lovely review, thank you so much for your time and effort in giving us the feedback. We hope you had a comfortable and safe journey back to Peterborough? Hope you have not been affected by the storms in UK?

We have given our daughter your contact details so she may get in touch with you regarding living in Cambridge. There was an article in the UK Express about the high commuting fares between London and Cambridge so they may well reconsider their proposal to live in London!

Meanwhile, our weather has gone from strength to strength with temperatures actually reaching the 30s, along with the pool temperature. Gorgeous and we've even had a regular daily dip ourselves, pretending we were on holiday. We hope you have a wonderful 2014, and don't forget the evenings will be drawing out for you and spring will soon be on its way...

Warmest wishes from Eden House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Thank you Richard & Carole for letting us stay in your wonderful house. The position is beautiful and you made us very welcome. Sadly we were there for only one night, but everything was faultless, with good food, good accommodation and good company. Thanks again. Mike & Toni

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJA46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review. We really appreciate you taking the trouble. It was a delight hosting you and we hope your ongoing trip in Northland went well. Christmas is rapidly approaching and Carole is digging into the recipe books for ideas for the Christmas dinner. Where ever you are, have a fabulous Kiwi Christmas and a great 2014. Warmest wishes from us both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Whangarei Heads is a beautiful location and if you are planning to stay here then Eden House is the place you MUST STAY.
The house itself is lovely with the most amazing views. You have the freedom to use the lounge area and a cosy tv room with a great selection of DVD's and books.
The kitchen area means you are able to make a hot or cold drink whenever you want and there's a very good selection of teas etc. available.
Our room, Vista was lovely. Very clean, comfortable and again with a wonderful view. Brilliant shower, which by now is probably 'under the dome'.
The pool looked very inviting and would be a great place to lay out for a tan.
Richard and Carole make perfect hosts and serve up the most delicious breakfast ever!
We also greatly enjoyed our Bhutanese evening and gained a great deal of knowledge from Richard.
It's the lovely little touches that make this a special place to stay. From the chocs by the bed, flowers in the room to the heated towel rail. All make a great stay.
Thank you so much for a wonderful stay and if we manage to get back to NZ then you will be at the top of our list for places to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms look good. Vista has an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHARDLADY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Hi guys,

What a delightful review! We so appreciate you taking the time and effort to write this - thank you. This morning after a night of rain, our view is rising steam from the bush and looks very Jurassic!

And yes, the shower is now under the dome! It is a mini sauna within minutes - lovely.

We've never been successful with our hanging baskets so this year we asked for advice from our local garden centre. Wow! They are the best ever - gorgeous.

The plants in the garden have realised summer is here so it's out with the lawn mower and the battle with weeds commences.

So, have a lovely Christmas and we'll be thinking of you both, especially if it is a white one for you. Oh for nostalgia!

Warmest wishes from us both

R & C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This guest house is fabulous.
Thank you to Carole and Richard for making our stay in Whangerei the best experience we could have.
Their warm welcome was much appreciated.
The views from the bedroom took my breath away! I could see for miles and miles, lush green forest.
I could even see the glimmer of the sea in the faraway horizon . If you like to try a little jungle trek try Carole and Richards back garden it was fantastic.
We took 30 minute or so walk through the trees, whilst a fan tail danced around us. Carole and Richard’s breakfast was one to dream of. How many courses? I just couldn't say
no! They even posted a top I had left behind. Thank you Carole and Richard you live in a beautiful part of the world and it was a joy to share a small chunk of it with you.
Thank you from Fiona (and Ian)

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Hi to you both,

What a wonderful review! Many thanks for taking the time to think of us, it is most appreciated. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and it was equally good for us to have you here and see our lovely area through your eyes. Pleased the top arrived ok and hope you had a safe and comfortable journey back to UK?

Our spring is here and what mixed weather for the country. All around the house the birds are nesting, mainly starlings but also swifts and Tuis. It seems our drive is in their flight path and it's a case of the mop and bucket periodically. But it's nice to have the birdlife.

Up here in Northland we've had gorgeous sunny days whilst down south they've had snow!! We've been watching the storms in Europe on TV and hope that you are ok in your area? It seems the worst has been down south so maybe you guys up north haven't been too affected?

No doubt you will soon be thinking of Christmas. Rumour has it that it might be a white one for you this year! We'll be happy with the sun.

Warmest wishes from us both, and thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We spent only 2 nights at the Eden House B&B and we wished we stayed longer: loving hosts (Richard & Carole), beautiful large room with amazing view, delicious hearty breakfasts...this place is truly Eden!
Last but not least, Richard's lemonade is the best ever!!

If you're planning to stay in Whangarei we strongly recommend Eden House B&B!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iriel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Hi guys,

What a delightful review, many thanks from us both. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and it was a delight hosting you, lots of laughs and smiles. Pleased that you managed to see our lovely bays and Kauri trees in some fine weather. This time of the year can be very changeable. Hope you are all settled back again in Italy, with lots of happy memories of New Zealand.

Warmest wishes from here in Eden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We come to NZ about this time of the year each year. When possible we spend a few days in Whangarei Heads. It is a beautiful area and Eden House is our favourite stay,

The hosting is wonderful, warm and friendly and Richard & Carole go out of their way to make your stay really lovely. The house itself is large and the rooms spacious with their own lounge furniture. This means I can find my own quiet space if I want yet we still enjoy the benefits of special hosting. It beats the anonimity of hotels and motels. The hosts are also knowledgeable about the local area and know where to visit and when.

Carole is a super cook and we always have a meal in. Both the Bhutanese special and the Pacific meal is a real treat. This time we had the Pacific, complete with tales and music!

We prefer the Four Poster (especially in winter) as it is full of character and still has a lovely view. It also had direct access to the garden (and the pool). But then, all the rooms are big and very comfortable.

Recommended musts are 'Smugglers bay' and the walk from Reed Park to Whangarei Falls.

We recommend it fully. Whangarei is a pretty harbour town with lots of restaurants but very quiet in terms of night life - which suits us!

Well recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. The Vista room has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Springwood11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owhiwa, Owner at Eden House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Hi both,

It was great to see you both again and have a catch up on the news. You just managed to miss New Zealand's polar blast which brought heavy snow to the South Island and Central North. Fortunately we just had cold winds. I'm glad you enjoyed the arts experience here and although it's quieter in the winter I'm pleased you got out and found new things to do. Thank you for taking the trouble to give us feedback again and your comments are much appreciated.

Look forward to our next meeting and yes, we may well be visiting Aussie one day soon.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
2.2 mi away
Kauri Villas
Kauri Villas
#1 of 29 in Whangarei
132 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
293 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Motel Six
Motel Six
#17 of 34 in Whangarei
56 reviews
5.7 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
6.4 mi away
Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House

Address: 510 Owhiwa Road | Parua Bay, Whangarei 0192, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Price Range: £48 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning spacious Tuscan style home in a serene rural setting with spectacular views to the distant Pacific. Enjoy large luxury bedrooms, with private bathroom or en-suite. Two lounges, swimming pool, TV/DVD/Video library. 11 Acres of private grounds. Ideal touring centre - beaches, scenic bays, walks, golf and other amenities nearby. Delicious cuisine:- Full Kiwi cooked breakfast plus continental selection. Delightful evening meals available. Enjoy our traditional Kiwi Christmas with a four course dinner and drinks all inclusive plus relaxing ambience. Our motto? Arrive as guests, depart as friends. The ambience of Eden House is only exceeded by the warmth of your welcome! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing