We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just like home with a fridge full of food!”
other traveller has booked this property
Birchgrove Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Birchgrove Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Birchgrove Cottage
Birchgrove Cottage
Birchgrove Cottage
Birchgrove Cottage
Birchgrove Cottage
Birchgrove Cottage
Birchgrove cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whangarei, Northland Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Susievisa
Brownsburg, IN
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just like home with a fridge full of food!”
Reviewed 20 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

My friend and I stayed here to start off our vacation in New Zealand. I had done a lot of research and this place was the cheapest by far and even included a continental breakfast, which lasted us more than 2 days and we ate a lot:) We rented a car and the drive to town was pretty short. The place was very clean and modern looking. Everything was immaculate and Janette and Phil were very nice and ready to help us plan our stay. We wish we would have stayed longer. Some extra nice ammenities included heated mattress pads, heated towel rack, beach towels, wifi, complete kitchen, washing machine and much more. I would go back here in a heartbeat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness of cottage
Liked least: Short stay
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2012
Thanks for the lovely comments, our aim is for our guests to be comfy and to remember their time in Whangarei, although short in your case you managed to make the most of the time you had, we trust the rest of your trip was as good and you went home with lots of fond memories of your holiday in New Zealand - hope you return to Northland again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narziss
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
908 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Just the best!”
Reviewed 12 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Stayed here during the cycling Tour of Northland and just couldn't say enough good things about it, and it was just the best accommodation we had in the whole of the North.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail and friendliness of the owners
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2012
Thanks David, we enjoyed having you both to stay, hopefully you will be well enought to actually participate as a rider in the cycle race next year. Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln UK
Reviewed 18 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Louise313
Basye, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage”
Reviewed 27 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Birchgrove Cottage is one of the very nicest places we have ever stayed. The furnishings and new, attractive, comfortable. Janette has thought of everything a guest could want, from a fully equipped kitchen with plentiful breakfast supplies, an outdoor grill on a lovely little patio, to big fluffy towels in the bathroom and a shower to die for. Their property is large and beautifully landscaped, and they even shared produce from their garden with us. You can't go wrong staying here. We are spending a week in the area exploring the gorgeous Tutukaka Coast and the Whangarei Heads area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton NZ
Reviewed 25 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Business colleagues
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Previously South Africa - now Whangarei
Reviewed 4 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Caroline...
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best accommodation in a five week trip”
Reviewed 15 March 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I can only echo what has already been said in previous reviews, this place is all you can hope for. Spotlessly clean, tasteful decor, with an away from it all location in beautifully kept grounds though only approx 10 mins from town. The owners themselves are friendly, attentive and able to provide all you need, without in any way being intrusive. A selection of basics makes a more than ample breakfast and the cottage is equipped with everything you could need and more - washing machine (and space to hang out washing), internet, full kitchen, books etc The small details make it a true home from home. We only booked this at short notice enroute from Bay of Islands to Auckland and as we wanted to dive at Poor Knights, but could quite easily have explored Russel/Pahai from here as well, and could have stayed a lot longer. All in all a good location if you want to explore this region and an excellent home. It rates as one of the best (and best value for money) overnights we spent in over a month touring New Zealand using a mix of B&B, self catering, motel, hotel, and boutique accommodation. Thank you again, and if we are ever lucky enough to be in the region again it will be first on the list.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing