We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“**A great choice a must visit**”
other traveller has booked this property
Birchgrove Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Birchgrove Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Birchgrove Cottage
Birchgrove Cottage
Birchgrove Cottage
Birchgrove Cottage
Birchgrove Cottage
Birchgrove Cottage
Birchgrove cottage
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whangarei, Northland Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
AllanF369
Hamilton / Cambridge, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“**A great choice a must visit**”
Reviewed 13 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My wife and I required accommodation for just one night in Whangarei, and we must say, we were very pleased with Birchgrove Cottage.
This rather well appointed , nicely located cottage is just North of Whangarei, in the Kamo region.
For those interested in golf, the local course is on the boundary.
Janette runs a well organised operation, totally professional in all matters.
Thank you Janette, you deserve to do well.
All the best from Allan & Margaret from Tamahere, North of Cambridge

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: A very good bed in the master bedroom.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ozgirlinn...
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect for our small family”
Reviewed 26 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We (parents + miss 5 and master 3) stayed for the weekend and we couldn't fault this place - they had thought of everything and it was spotless. The heatpump was on when we arrived on Friday evening so it was warm and inviting. We were very comfortable here with toys for the children, cable TV, internet access and a well-equiped kitchen. The breakfast supplies were delicious and generous. The beds for the children were off an L shaped section of the lounge so we couldn't watch TV after they went to bed but that was a good opportunity to read a book. The location was quiet and not in the middle of the action but for the price we paid, we were happy to drive for activities. There's a big sign out the front if you are arriving after dark. We enjoyed the kiwi house and historic museum at Kiwi North, a drive to Whangarei Heads and we also drove up to Tane Mahuta (just over 1 hour drive) before heading home on Sunday.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susievisa
Brownsburg, IN
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just like home with a fridge full of food!”
Reviewed 20 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

My friend and I stayed here to start off our vacation in New Zealand. I had done a lot of research and this place was the cheapest by far and even included a continental breakfast, which lasted us more than 2 days and we ate a lot:) We rented a car and the drive to town was pretty short. The place was very clean and modern looking. Everything was immaculate and Janette and Phil were very nice and ready to help us plan our stay. We wish we would have stayed longer. Some extra nice ammenities included heated mattress pads, heated towel rack, beach towels, wifi, complete kitchen, washing machine and much more. I would go back here in a heartbeat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness of cottage
Liked least: Short stay
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2012
Thanks for the lovely comments, our aim is for our guests to be comfy and to remember their time in Whangarei, although short in your case you managed to make the most of the time you had, we trust the rest of your trip was as good and you went home with lots of fond memories of your holiday in New Zealand - hope you return to Northland again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narziss
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
872 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Just the best!”
Reviewed 12 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Stayed here during the cycling Tour of Northland and just couldn't say enough good things about it, and it was just the best accommodation we had in the whole of the North.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail and friendliness of the owners
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2012
Thanks David, we enjoyed having you both to stay, hopefully you will be well enought to actually participate as a rider in the cycle race next year. Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln UK
Reviewed 18 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Louise313
Basye, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage”
Reviewed 27 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Birchgrove Cottage is one of the very nicest places we have ever stayed. The furnishings and new, attractive, comfortable. Janette has thought of everything a guest could want, from a fully equipped kitchen with plentiful breakfast supplies, an outdoor grill on a lovely little patio, to big fluffy towels in the bathroom and a shower to die for. Their property is large and beautifully landscaped, and they even shared produce from their garden with us. You can't go wrong staying here. We are spending a week in the area exploring the gorgeous Tutukaka Coast and the Whangarei Heads area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton NZ
Reviewed 25 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Business colleagues
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$104
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing