We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Location & Well Equipped Cottage”
other traveller has booked this property
Birchgrove Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Birchgrove Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Birchgrove Cottage
Birchgrove Cottage
Birchgrove Cottage
Birchgrove Cottage
Birchgrove Cottage
Birchgrove Cottage
Birchgrove cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whangarei, Northland Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
TnJuk
UK
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Location & Well Equipped Cottage”
Reviewed 31 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We found our hosts very helpful and they gave us advice about the area. Good base to visit Bay of Islands and we even made it up to the top of The Cape - long day but very worthwhile. It is an ideal base for exploring the Whangarei area which offers lots of things to do and see.
Birchgrove Cottage is a modern facility which is exceptionally well equipped, located by the owners home in in a very large interesting garden, located in a quiet area of Kamo. The kitchen and bathroom had everything we needed and the living space and bedroom were very comfortable.
If we ever decided to make that very long trip to NZ again, we'd certainly stay at Birchgrove and also recommend it to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about it!
Liked least: Second bedroom part of Lounge (didn't bother us as we didn't use this)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Blown away...”
Reviewed 7 December 2013 for a stay in October 2013

This place is amazing and was more than we thought it would be, we travelled with my husband, and teenage daughter it was a family holiday weekend and we were so happy with this place the hosts are very helpful and this cottage has everything that you could need and more... we loved it and the free breakfast included is great, not far from town and not far from Kingdom of Zion as that's where we were gong the beds were comfy and best part for my teenage daughter was WIFI...stay here you wont be disappointed. :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The shower
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllanF369
Hamilton / Cambridge, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“**A great choice a must visit**”
Reviewed 13 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My wife and I required accommodation for just one night in Whangarei, and we must say, we were very pleased with Birchgrove Cottage.
This rather well appointed , nicely located cottage is just North of Whangarei, in the Kamo region.
For those interested in golf, the local course is on the boundary.
Janette runs a well organised operation, totally professional in all matters.
Thank you Janette, you deserve to do well.
All the best from Allan & Margaret from Tamahere, North of Cambridge

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: A very good bed in the master bedroom.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ozgirlinn...
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect for our small family”
Reviewed 26 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We (parents + miss 5 and master 3) stayed for the weekend and we couldn't fault this place - they had thought of everything and it was spotless. The heatpump was on when we arrived on Friday evening so it was warm and inviting. We were very comfortable here with toys for the children, cable TV, internet access and a well-equiped kitchen. The breakfast supplies were delicious and generous. The beds for the children were off an L shaped section of the lounge so we couldn't watch TV after they went to bed but that was a good opportunity to read a book. The location was quiet and not in the middle of the action but for the price we paid, we were happy to drive for activities. There's a big sign out the front if you are arriving after dark. We enjoyed the kiwi house and historic museum at Kiwi North, a drive to Whangarei Heads and we also drove up to Tane Mahuta (just over 1 hour drive) before heading home on Sunday.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susievisa
Brownsburg, IN
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just like home with a fridge full of food!”
Reviewed 20 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

My friend and I stayed here to start off our vacation in New Zealand. I had done a lot of research and this place was the cheapest by far and even included a continental breakfast, which lasted us more than 2 days and we ate a lot:) We rented a car and the drive to town was pretty short. The place was very clean and modern looking. Everything was immaculate and Janette and Phil were very nice and ready to help us plan our stay. We wish we would have stayed longer. Some extra nice ammenities included heated mattress pads, heated towel rack, beach towels, wifi, complete kitchen, washing machine and much more. I would go back here in a heartbeat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness of cottage
Liked least: Short stay
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2012
Thanks for the lovely comments, our aim is for our guests to be comfy and to remember their time in Whangarei, although short in your case you managed to make the most of the time you had, we trust the rest of your trip was as good and you went home with lots of fond memories of your holiday in New Zealand - hope you return to Northland again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narziss
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
950 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Just the best!”
Reviewed 12 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Stayed here during the cycling Tour of Northland and just couldn't say enough good things about it, and it was just the best accommodation we had in the whole of the North.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail and friendliness of the owners
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2012
Thanks David, we enjoyed having you both to stay, hopefully you will be well enought to actually participate as a rider in the cycle race next year. Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln UK
Reviewed 18 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing